We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Teton Village, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Hotel Monaco in SLC continues to impress. I've stayed there multiple times and have yet to have a bad experience. The location is perfect, the rooms are funky and fun, the staff is amazing and the experience is unbeatable. Not one thing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darynw, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
WOW! Thanks Melissa! Your note really made me smile. We are so happy to have had the honor of you staying with us multiple times. We can't wait to see you again soon. If you need something to make your next stay special, let us know!

Daryn White
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    305
    78
    46
    30
See reviews for
161
374
63
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tapps, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Excellent staff. Great location. Amazing restaurant. Thoughtful afternoon hosted wine and munchies...Parking fees are 20 dollars. Noise can sometimes be an issue. This is an older building that has been very nicely refitted as an upscale hotel. If you want something a "little bit more fun" in DT SLC you will love this place.

Room Tip: There is no pool, spa or hot tub...If you are a skier and looking for a good apres ski soak...look e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was such a fun stay. I travel a lot for work and pleasure and this was just special. We own a tour company and see many hotels. The staff here is simply spot on. Every detail. Kind. Fast. Thoughtful. They sent a bottle of wine to our room for no reason. Just to be nice. The room had a lovely view. Great hair products. Fun wet bar items. Katie at the front desk a total gem. Told us where to ski. Spot on. When we returned free wine, apps and chair massages in the lobby. No joke. Just cleaver. When we checked out Katie handed me more wine. Just because I told her we were headed to non drinking Utah on a Sunday. Great robes and socks in the room. Sounds funny but another nice touch. Great location too. Lots in walking distance. Great restaurant. Best food in a long time. Fun after hours bar. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms higher have great views. Get the mountain view
See more room tips
Green Features: Again spot on. Lots of friendly reminders it was environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateluvssun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a weekend trip to SLC. I frequent SLC often and am happy to say I have now found my consistent hotel.

The staff was excellent, the updates were wonderful and the little whimsical touches made it all the more fun for a girls weekend!

It is within walking distance to fantastic shopping, dining and hot spots. Right across the street from the Capitol Theater (home of Ballet West!).

The recommendations from the staff for bars after dinner were just exactly what we were looking for. Chic and fun.

The complimentary coffee and tea in the morning was very nice to grab and go as we headed up to Park City the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stay here every year and love this hotel. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because this time around , several of my requests had to be requested more than once. I had forgotten my flat iron, and asked for one before we left to ski in the morning and when we got back in the afternoon, I had to request it again. , Ice machines , I did not realize before are not on every floor, we were on the 10th floor, I had to go down to 9th floor. Granted it's just a floor below, but when you are in jammies you do not want to be seen in public. Took a chance anyway and wandered out in my Capri Jammie's. The staff as always were superb! They really enjoy their work and always make your stay more enjoyable

Room Tip: We always book a corner suite and it's usually on 9th floor, close to ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sttflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
197 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

One of the nicer hotels in Salt Lake City and located right in the heart of the city. Close to good restaurants, the Salt Palace (Events), and other SLC areas. Nicely restored classic in-city hotel with comfortably and stylishly furnished rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougcpW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Monaco. From the moment we pulled up with our car the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was open late and the food was delicious. The beds were comfy, though perhaps on the small side. We only stayed for one night but we left well rested.

Room Tip: The beds in the twin Queen room we stayed in were a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivesideddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing