We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel in downtown Salt Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 7, 2014

One of the nicer hotels in Salt Lake City and located right in the heart of the city. Close to good restaurants, the Salt Palace (Events), and other SLC areas. Nicely restored classic in-city hotel with comfortably and stylishly furnished rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougcpW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Monaco. From the moment we pulled up with our car the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was open late and the food was delicious. The beds were comfy, though perhaps on the small side. We only stayed for one night but we left well rested.

Room Tip: The beds in the twin Queen room we stayed in were a little small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivesideddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a room last minute to celebrate our anniversary. We booked a Queen room that came with a bottle of wine. When we arrived they had bumped us up to a king of room, and we made it just in time for complimentary happy hour. The snacks were yummy too! The amenities were original and nice, and the staff was helpful and friendly. My only complaint was that when we came back to the room late that night, we realized there isn't a television service. Any movie had to be paid for which I found a little weird. We could have just been to intoxicated from all the free booze to figure it out. It wasn't a big drawback though, and we will definitely be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nomnom307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family and dog stayed 1 Friday night over Christmas break. The packages online were great, however we booked a government discount. Valet was $19 per night. The Bellman was very helpful and knowledgable and he walked the bags up with us, immediately after check in. The suite was exquisite and had a bedroom separated by archway and curtain. It was plenty of privacy to separate our family of 4. There was a dog bed already there with a couple of treats. The bell man gave our dog a treat as well. There was only 2 glasses and 2 towels for a room booked for 4. It took over 30 minutes start to finish to get our sofa bed made up because the housekeeping was overworked. I almost missed the complimentary happy hour as a result. But hey... There's a complimentary happy hour! After our evening out we requested more towels, and again, it took 30 minutes for towels to arrive. It was the same lady; she appeared to be the only house keeper working that day. Twice we called ahead for our car, giving over 15 minutes notice, yet to have them run out to get our car once we showed up outside. Overall it was a classy experience for the self-sufficient dog family, but for anyone who needed valet or housekeeping it was a bit of a drag. I would definitely stay here again, but they clearly must hire more housekeepers and get the valet call-ahead-system to work better.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is probably my favorite hotel in all the world. I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels and bed and breakfasts all over America and Europe. Hotel Monaco Salt Lake is my number ONE! I love the decor, the service, and the little extra amenities. The Bambara restaurant on the first floor ties with Log Haven for my favorite restaurant in Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

close by to most of down town features, very clean rooms and the staff was wonderful! My daughter loved the pet gold fish and my wife and I loved the room service. a couple staff members that really stood out was a young lady at the front desk named Katie. she went above and beyond with any and all of our needs, another would be a young man named Justin, he had a "go get em" attitude and I felt they both really had a lot of pride in there job which you just don't see among todays younger generation. would and will go back for sure.

Room Tip: none are bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The hotel delivers what you expect from a Kimpton hotel - something unique that is clean and comfortable. The location is great (near City Creek mall) and there is a good bar / restaurant in the building. I stayed in a Monte Carlo suite, which was large and comfortable, but with no views. There were 2 t.v.s, a king size bed, and a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The service was very good as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $162 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing