We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the midst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bega, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A jewel in the midst”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for one night and I have to say the hotel is well appointed and the staff very friendly. We got an upgrade and as an overseas visitor had a problem ringing the local airline and the front desk was very helpful and went out of their way to help. On a walk outside most things seemed abandoned or closed early but I could not say more about this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    327
    82
    48
    30
See reviews for
179
399
65
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had stayed at a Kimpton Hotel in NYC and enjoyed it so much we thought we would try the Monaco. It was great from start to finish. From the moment we stopped in front, to the moment we drove away, the service was top notch. Check in was smooth and simple and very personal. The clerk made sure to explain all amenities available to us, and gave directions to internal and external points of interest.

The hotel building itself is a nicely restored historic bank building, that has managed to retain the style of the original building, while infusing a touch of new elegance to the setting. Quite posh.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and contain all you need to have a great stay. The wine receptions in the lobby are fun and also a pleasant way to start your evening conveniently and without fuss.

Centrally located, the hotel is close to many of the downtown attractions and provide a good home base for a little foot-borne exploration.

We loved this "boutique" approach to our stay in Salt Lake City and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotLostFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I spent the first and last night of our summer vacation here after flying in and out of Salt Lake City on our way to Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. This place is almost too good to be true. Coming from New York City, the prices are extremely reasonable (at least during the summer season). Physically, the hotel is immaculate and the entire place smells clean. Their gimmick is "guilty pleasures" so there is free candy, citrus water and iced tea in the lobby in addition to hula hoops, and bikes. They even have a free wine and appetizer hour in the lobby from 4-5 PM. The hotel staff is so friendly and accommodating it almost feels like an alternate universe; from comping our parking to giving us detailed directions to local restaurants. The icing on the cake was receiving a tray of deserts just for returning on the last night of our vacation. have nothing bad to say about this place except I wish I lived closer to it. If all hotels ran like this, the world would be a better place.

Please note: this is a pet friendly hotel and while we did not being our furry friend on vacation with us, the dogs/owners in the lobby seemed happy and well taken care of. Additionally, we did not eat any meals in the hotel itself but the Monaco boasts its restaurant as the best rated in SLC.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank easpitze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I like to write positive reviews but I cannot this time. We have stayed one night in SLC only. We decided to book the Monaco hotel for it´s good reviews and the location, which was close to the Main Street and Temple Square. The staff was OK but a little stiff. The room we were given was the darkest room I have ever stayed at. 12th floor but still very dark with only one window. But it was not the major source of disappointment. The disappointment consisted of the constant noise from the air condition located outside! We switched the room aircondition instantly, this is what we always do but we could not do anything about the outside source of noise. Our room was not even located towards the street where the noise would be expectable. It was located to the backyard of the hotel...So I could not sleep for more than 2 hours here, the same my partner. I would never go back to this place even if the hotel was so good located, clean and nicely refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

When we first got there we were put in the wrong type of room. We called the front desk & they were willing to relocate us. A bellman showed up to give us keys, but had no bell cart and we had to ask for him to get one. After we checked out, we realized we had left a garment bag of clothing for a wedding we were attending. The first time we called, we were transferred to a voicemail. The second time we called, we were told nobody was available to help us, that housekeeping deals with lost and found exclusively and nobody else could check. When we asked for a manager, the gentleman said he was the front desk manager and didn't offer to transfer us to anyone else. We got a call back that said the housekeeping logs said nothing & they didn't have our bag- too bad we knew that wasn't true!! We called again and another person said it wasn't there. It wasn't until we sent an email and a bad review complaining that someone called back and magically found our bag. Too bad we already had to buy new outfits for the wedding. Ridiculous. It took multiple days, phone calls, and emails for someone to actually try and locate our bag. Horrible service !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PDXDogTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great Hotel, excellent social hour 5-6 each day and a nice restaurant. The Hotel Monaco is in a good location in downtown SLC and the property is well mainatined. The room are clean, comfortable and very well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuebloCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, clean hotel. The rooms are a bit small, and the restaurant was closed on Labor day, which I thought was odd. They will put a goldfish in your room upon request, very cool. And they have a wine social hour from 5:00-6:00pm every evening with complimentary wine and 15 minute massages. Great Hotel, if you want something affordable yet comfortable. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I was offered an upgrade for $15 a day and did not do it, but if you have the opportunity for this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geniaprimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,497 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing