We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dark and noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Very dark and noisy”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I like to write positive reviews but I cannot this time. We have stayed one night in SLC only. We decided to book the Monaco hotel for it´s good reviews and the location, which was close to the Main Street and Temple Square. The staff was OK but a little stiff. The room we were given was the darkest room I have ever stayed at. 12th floor but still very dark with only one window. But it was not the major source of disappointment. The disappointment consisted of the constant noise from the air condition located outside! We switched the room aircondition instantly, this is what we always do but we could not do anything about the outside source of noise. Our room was not even located towards the street where the noise would be expectable. It was located to the backyard of the hotel...So I could not sleep for more than 2 hours here, the same my partner. I would never go back to this place even if the hotel was so good located, clean and nicely refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    327
    82
    48
    30
See reviews for
179
400
65
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

When we first got there we were put in the wrong type of room. We called the front desk & they were willing to relocate us. A bellman showed up to give us keys, but had no bell cart and we had to ask for him to get one. After we checked out, we realized we had left a garment bag of clothing for a wedding we were attending. The first time we called, we were transferred to a voicemail. The second time we called, we were told nobody was available to help us, that housekeeping deals with lost and found exclusively and nobody else could check. When we asked for a manager, the gentleman said he was the front desk manager and didn't offer to transfer us to anyone else. We got a call back that said the housekeeping logs said nothing & they didn't have our bag- too bad we knew that wasn't true!! We called again and another person said it wasn't there. It wasn't until we sent an email and a bad review complaining that someone called back and magically found our bag. Too bad we already had to buy new outfits for the wedding. Ridiculous. It took multiple days, phone calls, and emails for someone to actually try and locate our bag. Horrible service !!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PDXDogTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great Hotel, excellent social hour 5-6 each day and a nice restaurant. The Hotel Monaco is in a good location in downtown SLC and the property is well mainatined. The room are clean, comfortable and very well kept.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuebloCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, clean hotel. The rooms are a bit small, and the restaurant was closed on Labor day, which I thought was odd. They will put a goldfish in your room upon request, very cool. And they have a wine social hour from 5:00-6:00pm every evening with complimentary wine and 15 minute massages. Great Hotel, if you want something affordable yet comfortable. I would stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I was offered an upgrade for $15 a day and did not do it, but if you have the opportunity for this i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geniaprimis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel contains a fine restaurant, comfortable lobby and friendly staff. The room was comfortable and well-appointed. The staff upgraded me upon arrival. The location is perfect, near the Temple Square and other attractions. A light rail system runs throughout downtown. Quick and easy transport from the airport to civic center.
I usually seek fine dining facilities in cities I visit. No need to search beyond the front door. The Bambara restaurant and The Vault Bar" are exceptional. The chef was trained at the Culinary Institute of America. He designed the menu and each item is exquisite. The wine list is comprehensive. The tastes are great. If I return to SLC, I will stay here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park city UT
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It had been years since I stayed at the hotel Monaco in SLC. It is right in the heart of downtown and with all the changes to the main street area and the addition of huge numbers of shops and restaurants, there is now a great deal to do in close proximity to this property. The hotel itself is spotless, parking is easy and the staff is generally helpful (although service standards in Utah do continue to lag). The room was very comfortable and the bed was no exception. While our room had no view at all (other than an AC unit on the roof of the adjacent building), it really didn’t matter to us. While not “hip” when judged against hotels in major destinations like NYC or San Francisco (in other words this is not the Gramercy Park Hotel or the Standard), it is just fine for SLC and certainly hipper than most places in town. You’ll have a similar experience as one would have at other Hotel Monacos across the country and in that regard this property does continue to bring a higher standard of style to the SLC hotel scene than its other bland competitors nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Monaco just Friday night and found it amazing. The decor is lovely, its clean and the service was very friendly. We ate at the Bar Friday night and had an awesome cheeseburger and then in the restaurant for breakfast. David, our server, was extremely helpful and nice. Also, there were so many adorable dogs staying there. The beds were comfortable and all of the amenities were excellent. I will definitely stay here any time I'm in SLC.

Room Tip: We just had the basic double and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing