We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suprisingly excellent..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Suprisingly excellent..”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

First time at this hotel and the experience was an excellent one.. friendly staff. very good service.
The location is two blocks away from Temple square (great for shopping) and four blocks away from the Gateway shopping center. The room was equipped with all relevant appliances for a very nice business stay. I highy recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBenAnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    316
    80
    47
    30
See reviews for
166
388
63
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

If it's your first trip to Salt Lake City as a tourist I'd strongly recommend booking a different hotel as the Hotel Monaco is not set up for the tourist. Having mentioned to the hotel that it was our first visit to the city, we weren't given a map or any information to help us make the most of our visit.

The hotel offers free bike rentals on a first come first serve basis. On our 4 night stay, we asked at reception for bikes everyday at around 8am but they only ever had one bike on show in the reception area and said all the bikes had gone. We asked for information on the tram system and the receptionist gave us the wrong details on which tram to catch to a specific area.

We booked a deluxe king size room which was tiny and located in what can only be described as above an alley way approximately 30 feet across from an office block.

The only positive experience was the restaurant in the hotel which had great staff and good food.

It was our first time in a Kimpton hotel and it will be our last.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RKS_DJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Monaco was excellent.The hotel is within walking distance of several great restaurants. It has a small hotel feel to it and we felt taken care of. But it is very nice. Kimpton always does a nice job. For those that travel with a dog, this has to be the nicest hotel in the US that accepts animals. It just doesn't accept dogs but had a variety of notions and activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HGoldenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love Kimpton Hotels, so this choice was a no-brainer when I planned a last-minute trip to Salt Lake.

I arrived before typical check-in time and was given my room. I didn't love the room, was willing to pay extra for a better spot. They didn't flinch, upgraded my room, no charge. Kimpton is awesome. Love it. Amazing room, early check-in, complimentary upgrade. Aways had good luck with them.

My bed was so cozy that I took a nap...easy after an 8 hour drive. I went and showered with the classy C.O. Bigelow amenities, then came to find the complimentary wine hour, and left to enjoy my night. Fun times. I can only say that I had a cozy sleep, awesome breakfast in the restaurant with great service and I would totally return to this hotel. Issues were fixed in a heartbeat but they were so minor that I can't even worry. Experience overall was fantastic. :)

Thank you, Hotel Monaco. I like Utah a whole lot. You helped!

Room Tip: ask for a better view, my first room was a low floor and facing another building (boring!) but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shayna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teton Village, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

After checking in relatively late (9pm ish), we were shocked to hear a knock on the door....it ended up being room service with a bottle of wine, two bottles of water, and an appetizer cheese plate. We were super confused on who it was from, and the room service attendant said he'd check the ticket and call me to let me know who it was from. It turned out that we had been the random recipients of a "Kimpton Moment".....it was completely unexpected and the PERFECT surprise!
We also were able to enjoy the 5 minute chair massages downstairs in the lobby one evening, which was another added bonus.
While I do love staying at Kimpton hotels, this was an exceptionally great experience. We couldn't have been happier with our stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I were traveling with our daughter, her two children, and her two dogs. We had a suite and a connecting two double room at the end of one of the upper floors. It was quite spacious. We arrived late, but one of the children was hungry and we were able to get room service even at the faily late hour. The next morning we had room service bring breakfast up and we ate around the dining table in our suite. It was very nice and faster thatn going to a restrurant. Altogether, this was an excellent experience. Parking is valet from a small driveway area off of the front door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Loved the Hotel Monaco in Salt Lake. Went there for a conference and this is really the only place to go. Similar rates as the other hotels, but totally boutique and the hotel restaurant is one of the best in the city. Excellent service, hip decor, and free wine in the early evening in the lounge where you can hang out and get to know some of the other people staying there. I met someone on a book tour and geologisits studying climate change. A great and relaxing place to stay, but there is more. The Theater is right across the street! When I heard about it, I walked over and bought ticket for that night's play, which had really good acting and great sets. Just a few blocks from the convention center, so it is no sweat to walk there, even in ladies shoes (I am female by the way). A hot tip is to get the goldfish. Not to eat dummy! This hotel, if you ask, will bring a gold fish to your room in a bowl to keep you company. You know, OK it's a fish, but surprisingly it makes coming back to your room a lot more homey and less lonesome. The staff was super courteous and they even had unbrellas for guests who stupidly (like me) did not think to bring one and then experience one of the rare rainly Salt Lake days. Beds were very comfortable and, like I said, the decor is modern and hip. I would say this is the best place to stay in Salt Lake. Oh, one other thing, it is in walking distance to the fabulous Salt Lake public library which has a great gift shop (I bought all of my Xmas presents there - no kidding). They have a lot of off the wall stuff and very reasonably (or cheap) priced. Also nearby is the Healing Mountain Massage School where I got an hour and a half masage for 60 bucks. Does not get better than that. Hotel Monaco is a great place to stay in Salt Lake and the only place I now stay when I go there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing