We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stop with dogs on our hint water road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great stop with dogs on our hint water road trip”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

On our way from San Francisco to New York by car, with 2 adults, one kid and two labrador retrievers, we stopeed at Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City and we couldn't be happier. The dogs were greeted at the front desk with treats and they loved that there were dog beds and bowls in the room. Two super comfy queen beds and a free ten dollars to use in the mini bar made us happy campers (er, happy not to be camping tonight after a 12 hour drive). Friendly staff, decent breakfast, great views from the 11th floor corner room and all at a very decent price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrinkWaterNotSugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    318
    82
    47
    30
See reviews for
172
392
63
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last month and I can't say enough about how great the hotel and the people are. Enjoyed the wine reception each night in the lobby, and the location is great. The wonderful staff was icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Picture this: a bottle of your favorite red wine accompanying you in the trunk on your 11 hour journey from LA to Salt Lake, motivating you to keep driving... You arrive at the hotel, open your trunk and said bottle of wine comes hurtling out of the trunk and crashes to the ground shattering. Can you imagine our sadness? The hotel staff certainly did, the bellman rushed over took our bags and sent someone to clean up our mess. They promptly checked us in and brought our bags up, and guess what they had along with our bags: a new bottle of wine no charge. Amazing service was the standard throughout our stay, making a nice hotel an absolutely amazing one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topher1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
145 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few years ago, and felt it was time for a new review.

Check in was fast efficient and took less than 10 minutes. We stayed in a 1 bedrroom majestic suite which on the 14th floor. What a fantastic room! The room is in the corner of the building with a seperate living / dining area from the bedroom. 2 full bathrooms were great as we had family stop by.

My main criteria in judging a hotel room is by the bed and shower. Both were exceptional. I was a bit skeptical on the shower as this hotel is in an old bank builiding. But the water pressure was great. We had a minor issue with heat in the shower in the bedroom, but reported it in the morning and upon our return it had been fixed and worked well for the rest of our stay. The bed is uber comfy and sheets are of a decent thread count.

Usually the most unpredictable element of a hotel is the service one receives from the staff. The staff at this hotel are great, they go out of their way to greet you and ask how things are. This goes from housekeeping to the valets.

If you plan on staying at this hotel, I would recommed becoming a member of Kimpton hotels frequent stay program, as one of the key benefits will be free wifi access. Please also be aware if you stay here that the only parking is valet at $ 19.00 a night. Luckily you have free in and out privileges.

This will definitely be my hotel of choice on my next visit to SLC!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbk5276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan UT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is so unique, it is such a beautiful place!! The rooms are decorated so trendy and are super clean and well maintained!! The lobby is also beautiful, and between 5 and 6 each night, they have a wine reception, which is a very nice touch!! The hotel itself is incredible, and the service is the best I have ever had at a hotel, hands down!! From the front desk staff to the valet personnel to the room service staff, they all go over and above to make you feel special and pampered!! Ricky, the assistant manager, went way out of his way to make my last stay and experience the very best I have had at any hotel!! The location is across from Capitol Theatre, and within a short walk from the City Creek. I have stayed here several times, and have always been impressed with the hotel as well as the quality of service. This is by far the best hotel to stay at when in Salt Lake!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is beautifully decorated and certainly different from the rest. Service is spectacular but easy to fly under the radar if you feel like it. In other words they are not overbearing at all. Everyone from the valet to the front desk is very friendly and will go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable.

SLC is pretty small and quiet but also beautiful and this hotel is in the center of it all. A nice surprise was it is located directly across from the theater if you like shows. I caught an impromptu show of jersey boys during my stay.

The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the room got stuffy at night as it seems the ac doesn't run continuously at night. Bed wasn't the most comfortable either but not bad my any means.

I would definitely stay here again should i ever need to return to SLC!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelforbiz2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

staff was very friendly. I needed a tissue and couldn't find any so the valet ran around for about 2 minutes till he found me one. rooms were clean but a little small. only real "complaint" i have is that the beds weren't as comfortable as some cheaper hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staceyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing