We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 27, 2013

From the time I arrived at Hotel Monaco I was treated great. The Valet were nice and always offered directions and help every time I left and arrived at the hotel. They were also very prompt when I needed my vehicle. The staff are very helpful, and polite. They made me feel comfortable and at home. When I first arrived at the hotel, the front desk asked if I would need help with my bags, and if they could help with anything. The rooms although a little small were clean, and well stocked. Room service was great and prompt. The maid service was awesome. I'd come back to the hotel to a clean room everyday with fresh towels, and linen. They'd even organized my toiletries for me. They offer a wine and hot cider party from 5-6pm everyday. I loved that the hotel was centrally located and I could walk to most places. I can't wait to stay here again. Oh, and I can't forget that they do put a $100 hold on your card for incidentals for everyday that you're with them, plus an extra $150 on top of it. Thats not something that I was used to, and was glad that I had funds tucked away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Over Christmas break we took our pet cat Jacques with us. Had never travelled with our pet before so were nervous about him being in a new place. Well the Monaco was the perfect place for our stay! The staff were gracious and helpful, our room had pet bowls and litter, and our cat felt comfortable. The maintenance staff were thorough and patient, and our cat was eventually roaming the halls (on a leash) and greeting other pet patrons. It was a blast! The location was nicely central and the tram was 2 minutes away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed here on two separate visits and love it!!! It is small enough to give personal service, yet it also has services that one would find in larger hotels (fitness room; in room spa). Bike rental is awesome and room service is great!! Would be nice if the fitness room was a little larger, but it works. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Coffee in the lobby in the morning and wine in the evening (along with chair massages)...perfect!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilaluppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Comfortable and charming albeit small rooms, good location, excellent food, decent fitness facility. However, this is not recommended for people who have to actually get up and go to work. Breakfast doesn't even start until 7:00 (8:00 on Saturdays).

Also, it is important to ask for a room away from the two main streets. Both are heavily trafficked while one has a trolley (a surprisingly convenient, comfortable and fast mode of transportation, which was the last thing one would expect in Utah) running 20 hours a day.

Room Tip: Facing away from both major streets is critical to ensure quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OOBonomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Monaco. The staff were always available and seemed genuinely happy to have us as guests. The manager's wine and hot cider party in their lobby, daily at 5pm - 6pm was perfect as we were winding down, from a day of shopping, in front of their beautiful fireplace. In the lobby, the following morning, we discover Mighty Leaf Tea, coffee and amazing hot chocolate.
Breakfast in their restaurant was fabulous. It reminded us of the breakfasts we had in Paris...delicious!
There are great shops within a few blocks of the hotel. The Temple Square was very close as well. We loved Salt Lake City and will visit Hotel Monaco again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuckerCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We loved this hotel. We were there for a romantic weekend stay, and had a great time. It's in a great downtown location and the staff is helpful.
The room was great and clean.
Shower was a bit small, and the tv remote didn't work too well, oh well.
If I were to book it again, I may really consider doing the room above the standard king size bed.
Bombara restaurant located in the hotel is definitely worth trying, it's amazing. Best restaurant in SLC (in my opinion).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graygraystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Great location for a business travel stay. Centrally located to downtown venues and clean well-appointed rooms. Great restaurant on premises and staff was attentive. Fitness room is basic and no apparent shuttle service (you need a rental car to access much of the area offerings beyond immediate downtown area).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,535 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,881 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $162 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing