We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I spent two nights at this boutique-like hotel very close to everything in Salt Lake City. Admittedly I was here for a meeting but as an experience, this hotel exceeded my expectation. The room was large, friendly, comfortable with midern amenities. The temperature control was perfect (good for a visitor from a hot summer in Australia arriving to sub-freezing maximium temperatures) aand everything worked. The checkin staff were friendly and accommodating.

Joining (for free) the Kimpton loyalty program (in Touch) provided terrific benefits: free high-speed wifi and $10 minibar items to take without charge (no alcohol in the minibar). At 5pm there was the unexpected surprise of free wine tasting (yes, this is in Utah) and massages.

One dinner at the on-site restaurant Bambara cinfirmed that the reviews of this place as a great steak restaurant were not misplaced.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transplanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    318
    82
    47
    30
See reviews for
172
392
63
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Hotel Monaco many times, and I've never been disappointed. The service is outstanding. Every member of the staff is polished, helpful, and courteous. The bathrooms are spacious, and the room decor is modern. There is a hosted wine hour in the lobby every evening, sometimes featuring live music. It's a festive, sophisticated atmosphere. The hotel's restaurant, Bambara, is a little overpriced, but the food is delicious. This hotel is my favorite place to stay in Salt Lake City. It is consistently excellent, and conveniently located downtown.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Casquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was just fine it frankly feels more like a converted Hilton than a true boutique - the rooms are standard 'box hotel' style with some furniture upgrades.
Breakfast was fine, and the dining room was nice.
Good central Salt Lake location.

If you really like true 'boutique' this will disappoint.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Beacon94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Mountain, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I were greeted by a very friendly valet service ($17.00 added to your hotel bill) which was quick and courteous. Check in was a snap, and our entrance to the room was well briefed by our concierge Doug.

The hotel has a great character and ambiance. Some eclectic qualities that go well with the historical backdrop.

We didn't eat at the Bambara, we did however walk 2 blocks to Takashi Sushi which was exquisite.

The accommodations were great. Bed was a bit warm but comfy.

If I were to make a suggestion, Monaco needs to offer free muffins or something for those who do not want to spend $18 on an omelet with orange juice.

Overall, it was a great getaway. Rooms are well insulated too. No neighbors were bothered by our night sounds.

I

Room Tip: The deluxe is good for one night, but if you stay multiple nights, opt for the larger spaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomNicholas83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed in Hotel Monaco during a business trip for 3 days and I had a terrible experience. When I arrived to the hotel, I stayed in the lobby to catch up with my work emails. As I was out of battery, I needed to plug my charger to the outlet nearby.

A couple of seconds later the “gentleman” sitting next to me told me that the cable could trip someone passing by. I was sitting near the wall and it was not a busy passing way. Therefore, I told the “gentleman” accordingly that no-one is passing and I could warn them if people do so. The “gentleman” immediately accused me for being an [--]. When I invited him to talk in a gentle way and requested him to talk with the hotel officers if he thinks it is a problem, he stood up in front of my seat and started to threaten me saying if there were not other people he would do something else to me. I had my worst hospitality experience and I did not feel secure in this hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MF K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is a very trendy, upscale hotel in downtown SLC that exceeds expectations in service and comfort. Nicely appointed, staff is always very willing to help and hotel decor is fun and trendy. This is a solid 4 star hotel with an excellent restaurant named Bambara. Definitely recommend eating at this restaurant during your stay. Some of the best hotel cuisine I have had in sometime. Overall, this hotel is very upscale while also being a great value. I would absolutely stay here again the next time I am in SLC!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restefania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the time we walked in the door the staff was friendly, inviting, helpful and attentive. We were going to a concert in the area and I decided to turn the rest of the weekend into a surprise for my daughters 30th birthday. I mentioned this when I made the reservation, to my surprise they upgraded our room when we got there so it would join the room next door for our guests arriving the next day. The setup was perfect, great furnishings and the best part was 3 bathrooms for six women! There were notes left for the birthday girl, a bottle of wine and an adopted fish. We had a complimentary wine hour in the evening and coffee and hot chocolate in the mornings. They also recommended Mario at VIP Transportation for our driving needs and that was awesome as well. I would highly recommend this hotel, Ricky and the staff were wonderful.

Room Tip: We were in a corner suite and the view from every window was amazing. The trees on the city streets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhotelmonaco, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I remember the story about our team finding out how they could enhance your stay. I know we almost let the cat out of the bag when we were talking to you about the details of what we were going to do and I am happy it worked out for everyone.

Our Majestic Suite does connect with a room with 2 queen beds and is the best accomodations for a family or a fun girls getaway or in your case both. :-)

Thank you so much for your feedback.

Warmest Regards,

MaryLynn Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Salt Lake City Marriott City Center
Salt Lake City Marriott City Cen...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing