We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The longer I stayed the more I liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The longer I stayed the more I liked it”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel has character and personality - I thought it was OK at first, but liked it more each day I stayed. I would definitely stay again. Some of the nice features - always had the door opened by the valets, the lobby has a great feel and there is coffee in the AM and wine/massage/candy in the PM, restaurant has great food with windows looking out on the street, the rooms are clean and comfortable (but, small), and has a good location downtown near shopping, restaurants, and other downtown attractions. Like the architecture (an old bank) and the fact is pet-friendly. The only downsides were the size of the room and it is a bit expensive. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: I was right next to the elevator and never heard it...but, was on the backside of the hotel and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michigantraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    328
    82
    48
    30
See reviews for
179
401
65
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very clean, very comfortable, extremely friendly staff. No free breakfast – but there’s coffee & tea in the lobby. No free wi-fi (too bad). Valet parking only, at $17 per night, but they are very fast & friendly about bringing your car around. The restaurant is expensive, but very good food/drinks, very swift & friendly service. We stayed there one night on arrival in Utah & another night just before leaving, as we were on a trip to see the canyons. On our arrival night, the toilet worked fine but the next morning it didn’t want to flush. As were checking out anyway, we didn’t ask them to fix it – they may have come right away – they seem like that kind of place. We did report it to the desk as we were checking out. That is the only slight negative I have on this hotel. Also the elevator doors seem to close very quickly, giving you not much time to get your luggage in if you have a lot of stuff. Have someone enter & hold the door open! Oh, and given our experience with air conditioning at a hotel in Bryce Canyon City, I have to say Hotel Monaco appears to have central air – rather than an in-room unit – which is GREAT! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScarlettMarigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Taking a business trip during my beach vacation wasn't on my agenda. However, staying at the Monaco Kimpton made my business trip seem like part of my vacation. From the front desk greeting me by my first name, to the fabulously comfy room, to the wine tasting each evening, and the tasty treats in the lobby, I felt like a pampered pooch! Oh yeah, the hotel is pet friendly, wish I realized I could "borrow a goldfish"!!! The entire staff was focused on my enjoyment and comfort. It's obvious they actually care about your stay there and make every effort to ensure you will return again. During room service my server asked if I was enjoying my complimentary bottle of wine. I casually mentioned that I really prefer white wine. He immediately returned with a bottle of my favorite. Loved the wonderfully decorated hotel..definitely not boring! I highly recommend this hotel if you like great customer service, lots of extras, and find run of the mill cookie cutter hotels boring! Great downtown location convenient to highways, Temple Square, local transportation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SugarHillSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Monaco while I was in SLC for a conference. My friends were staying at another hotel, but my group was booked into the Monaco. What luck! Loved the quirky contrasting patterns and vibrant colors of the decor; room was spacious and elegant. And the leapard pattern robe--if I had had room in my suitcase I might have bought it to bring it home! I so enjoyed my stay here that I am prepared to forgive them for never sending up the hot water / kettle I requested. The hotel was packed and I guess it got lost in the hubbub. What if next year my group goes to another hotel??? I will be gutted. But I suspect they enjoyed the hotel as much as I did. The only thing that could have improved my stay was free wi-fi, which really should just be gratis if you stay in the hotel. But, anyway, big thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprohask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference. Most everyone elsebstayed at the gargantuan monstrosity host hotel down the street. The Monaco with its striped wallpaper, chintz chairs and comfy beds was much more comforting and welcoming. A study in tasteful elegance. We even ordered a goldfish for a pet-just because we could!

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was my second stay in as many trips to Salt Lake City. One gets a feel of slightly quirky-comfy-elegance here, which is disarming and welcoming. The lobby is warm and inviting, with little treats here and there - a glass bowl filled with Tootsie Roll Pops wearing a sign that says, “go ahead, no one is looking”, another bowl with a live goldfish at the check-in counter. In fact, I understand that you can have the company of a goldfish in your room during your stay (I did not take advantage of this amenity).

The rooms are comfortable too, with big tufted headboards over comfy bedding, animal print terry robes, and a fun assortment of mini bar goodies including grippy-bottomed cushy socks.

I returned hungry to the hotel one night after the restaurant had closed. The bar was still open but no food was being served, I was able to take an adult bevie to my room and dial up room service. They were out of what I wanted, but the nice person on the phone quickly thought up an alternative option (which was not on the menu...shhh!).

In the morning I enjoyed a very delicious breakfast (asparagus/mushroom/cheese omelette) in the onsite restaurant, Bambara. The decor is reminiscent of dining in Italy with white linens, and an open kitchen surrounded by a white marble counter. The service was excellent, and they have the most yummy breakfast jams!

One thing to note, they don’t really have self-parking - you’d have to find a spot in one of the pay-to-park garages - so I valet parked at $17 (which I believe was less than the 24hr cost of the nearest parking garage), and the nice valets were very pleasant about retrieving and parking my car several times during my stay.

All in all, this is a very nice boutiquey place to stay in downtown Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demi-Sec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel was great all around and in a great location. The hotel is very clean and kept up nicely. The king bed hotel room was pretty large with lots of open space and was well lit. The room was in very good condition with nice air conditioning. The internet was very good and fast and the TV was a nice LCD flat panel. The king bed was comfortable and the curtains closed completely to keep any light from peeking through the window. The bathroom was small but had nice water pressure and the shower was great. Definitely a great place to stay. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinJLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
Hilton Salt Lake City Center
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Address: 15 W 200 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing