We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as stellar as the reviews say”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not as stellar as the reviews say”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We arrived here after a week stay in the national parks and were expecting to find peace and quiet before heading back to the daily grind. After reading the many positive reviews, we were looking forward to a good night's rest from this Hampton Inn. The check in was smooth and the staff was kind and very professional, but the first clue as to this being a different Hampton experience was when we weren't offered the complimentary bottle of water, as is complimentary in other Hampton Inns in very dry Salt Lake City - instead, here you can purchase a bottle from the vending machine for two bucks.

The room was clean enough but pretty dated and stuffy, unlike the refurbished lobby. The room's rug definitely needs to be replaced and brought into the 21st century. The furniture was pretty drear and dated as well. The window treatments didn't provide any protection from the light when you are trying to sleep in (ie. no black out curtains). You could hear everything in the adjoining rooms, including every time your neighbors turned on the shower. The traffic outside woke me up everyday around 6AM, especially since the hotel is situated on a very busy area of Salt Lake City. Don't know if the noise is any better in other areas of the hotel. Our room, on the corner of the 5th floor, had a great view of the city, but the window's exterior was dirty and grimy and needed a major wash. The bed was very plush and comfortable and the television had every channel imaginable. The mini-fridge was not standard and can be requested if they are available. They have an indoor pool and hot tub located near the elevators which we never used.

This hotel looks like its very popular with bus tours as one was here during our stay. This makes for an interesting breakfast experience as you have a horde of sleepy people trying to put their breakfast together. The breakfast selections were fine (though the oatmeal and potatoes were undercooked one day) and the coffee was great. The breakfast staff was very helpful but understandably overwhelmed.

Another obvious problem was the location of the hotel, especially, if you want to walk around the neighborhood. The afternoon we arrived here we wanted to grab dinner nearby and soon realized that the surrounding area is full of vagrants. There is a state liquor store around the corner that seems to attract this type of crowd so be aware. We didn't have any problems with them but this underscored that the hotel is not situated in the best neighborhood (something we didn't read in any of the other reviews). If you are interested in driving in and out then this isn't a problem. There are many great restaurants nearby and lots of great walks near temple square.

This hotel seems better suited to tourist groups and families in buses or in cars that don't want to explore the city by foot. I do not recommend this hotel for couples or light sleepers. I was looking for a Hampton Inn experience and unfortunately never found it here.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodiemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Foodiemia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

Kind Regards,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Phone 801-741-1110
Email joseph.bessette@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    304
    79
    23
    8
See reviews for
261
233
45
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel is a A+++ in my book. I've stayed twice now and both times were wonderful. The location is good for downtown SLC, breakfast is outstanding with many options no matter what dietary needs you may have. The pool is a little chilly for an indoor one, but none the less it was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and updated with the newest decor , staff very helpful and pleasant, I highly recommend this Hampton Inn. Easy access on and off the interstate, with plenty of, restaurants and shopping areas close by.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tammy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice quiet place to stay, walking distance to restaurants and center square. Easy on off from experssway. 24 hour pool and work out room a plus for early risers. Not recommended for single women to walk alone, could be a little uneasy at late nite, but we were not bothered.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel was very very clean and everyone was very nice. Tyler at the front desk even called our room that evening to make sure we were comfortable. My son really enjoyed the indoor pool and it was nice to have sliding doors to create and outdoor feel. Would highly recommend this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Ground floor was great because it is right by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel provides the regular amenities of Hampton Inn: good service [especially at front desk and at breakfast], adequate rooms, WiFi in room and lobby, fitness ctr, indoor pool, business ctr with 2 computers and free full breakfast. There is free parking. Great cookies with coffee at night. It is located fairly close to Temple Square, City Creek Center, restaurants, etc. and a number of other hotels, but it is best to drive. It is also a little too close to Pioneer Park that is diagonally across from it. TV report while we were there discussed drug dealers and crime being present there. Don’t walk near the park. Less than 15 minutes to and from airport. Would be nice to have a small safe in room. Rating would be 5 except for problem with Pioneer Park.

Green Features: They should have a recycle bin for newspapers in room
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BocaGators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just wanted to say we had a wonderful stay for three nights at this hotel. It was very nice, clean, close to the airport, lots to offer. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant and went out of their way make our stay comfortable. A special shout out to John and Beverly, they were awesome! The hot breakfast every day was great. Didn't get to swim in the pool or hot tub but it looked very inviting. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy29440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,796 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Address: 425 S 300 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center and the Energy Solutions Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to most major attractions.Whether you come to Salt Lake City for business or pleasure, it makes sense to stay in a hotel with the same standard of comfort as the town it serves. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City-Downtown was designed to help you take advantage of the area with style, and to predict and satisfy your every business need...or vacation dream! Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. You can count on our Salt Lake City hotel to offer the relaxing atmosphere and accommodations you deserve. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. Need to get some work done while you're with us? We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. Prop your laptop on our handy lap desk and type away while you watch TV. Or simply listen to your favorite kind of music by pressing one of the preset buttons on your room's alarm clock. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet: Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™ The Hampton Bed Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing