We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Management went over and above!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morgan UT
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Management went over and above!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

After a recent review on this hotel, the Manager went over and above to correct an error. He was in constant communication with me, and send a nice apology letter with a gift card to make up for the error, as well as a free room! The room was awesome both visits!! The hotel was so clean and nice, and the staff was awesome!! Thanks so much for making a great experience happen, Joe is great!! Would highly recommend this hotel!!

Room Tip: The room with the jacuzzi tubs are wonderful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    274
    65
    21
    6
See reviews for
226
200
43
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I chose this hotel because it had an indoor pool and because there were positive reviews about the complimentary breakfast. So I will add my voice to that- the breakfast was so good! So many choices, everything fresh. We all loved it- 2 adults and children ages 5 and 2. The pool was great- we were the only ones there when we went swimming.
We had a problem with the location of our room due to some very loud and intoxicated neighbors. It was only 3 pm when we checked in! The staff was very willing to let us change floors to an equivalent room, which made for a much more pleasant night for us.
The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel does it right. Service, room, amenities......they didn't miss anything. The continental breakfast in the morning is great, right down to the gentleman with the little mints. All in all, very well done!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaneS1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stay here a lot for business and its my favorite in Salt Lake. Downtown is close by and the hotel staff is great. I had a small problem with my room..made one call to the front desk and they were all over it. We had a very early flight and were very surpised to find the breakfast area open for us before 6 AM. That was a great treat! Book early...they book up fast.

Room Tip: I have been on every floor and I would ask for something toward the back of the hotel ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Having never stayed at a Hampton Inn before I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. It was a last minute decision as my husband was in the hosptial and the roads were too snowy to drive home on. The room was good size, the beds were comfortable, everything was clean, and the staff was very helpful. There were many choices at breakfast from hot foods to cereal to pastries and freshly made waffles. We stayed on a Friday night and again on a Saturday night. The cut up fruit on Friday morning was from a can, but on Saturday morning they had fresh cut fruit. There were also fresh pastries from a local bakery if you were to the breakfast room early enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforfunusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Close to downtown, easy to reach from SLC airport, friendly staff and great facility. I had orthopedic surgery and was a little spooked about business trip. Between AA and this hotel, it went very well!

Room Tip: Just ask for any out of the ordinary services or items. They were very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JM75205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnt Hills, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We often stay at Hampton Inns when traveling with our teenage son, since they usually provide 2 queen beds. However, this one did not. Also, neither microwave nor mini fridge. Everything else was OK, but not exceptional. The breakfast was average, with fresh waffles, but old stale eggs...seemed like they were made the night before. Free wireless was somewhat slow. Free parking was very accessible. The location is good, with Wendy's, MacDonalds, Dennys, a state liquor store, a sushi bar, a Thai takeout, and a Mexican restaurant all within a block. The pool was nice, and the hot tub greatly appreciated after a day of skiing. With at least 4 other hotels within a block, it might be wise to do a comparison of price and amenities.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, away from the elevators (which is where the ice machine is). Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superchemist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Superchemist1,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I appreciate your comments on our in-room amenities. We are always looking for ways that we can improve. I will make sure and share your feedback on the eggs with our breakfast staff. We have refrigerators available to deliver to rooms free of charge and are planning to add them to all of our rooms during our next renovation. We hope the next time you're in the area you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Address: 425 S 300 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center and the Energy Solutions Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to most major attractions.Whether you come to Salt Lake City for business or pleasure, it makes sense to stay in a hotel with the same standard of comfort as the town it serves. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City-Downtown was designed to help you take advantage of the area with style, and to predict and satisfy your every business need...or vacation dream! Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. You can count on our Salt Lake City hotel to offer the relaxing atmosphere and accommodations you deserve. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. Need to get some work done while you're with us? We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. Prop your laptop on our handy lap desk and type away while you watch TV. Or simply listen to your favorite kind of music by pressing one of the preset buttons on your room's alarm clock. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet: Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™ The Hampton Bed Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing