We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Fun half day birding trip in SLC

My husband and I were planning a trip to the Salt Lake City area with friends. We are new to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
bluebonnetb2
,
Dallas TX
Birding with Tim Avery and Pitta Nature Tours is an incredibly satisfying adventure!

Absolutely incredible experience! This was my second trip out to Utah to bird with Tim. My first... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
robertgB6881ZE
Read all 82 reviews
  
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
82
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
82
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pitta birding trip target species his knowledge contacted tim ruby mountains local birds great company different species finding birds burrowing owl life list personable guide bird species southern utah private tour salt lake area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 82 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2019

We spent a wonderful 17 hours with Tim birding desert, mountains and the great salt lake before evening outings to try for black swift and flammulated owls. Tim is an amazing birder (and phenomenal at birding by ear) and extremely knowledgeable about birding in Utah. He submits all the ebird lists and then shares them - no mean feat for a busy day of birding. Tim is very personable and fun to spend time with. We thoroughly enjoyed our outing and we highly recommend his birding trips. We plan to return for another trip with him in another season.

Jame and RJ

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank janefseward
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

Tim was a great and enthusiastic guide. Saw several Flammulated Owls. We had both inexperienced and very experienced birders on our tour and we all were super impressed!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 123,456,121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

My husband and I went on Tim Avery's "Most Wanted" birding tour, covering several target species in Utah, Nevada and Idaho, for 6 days/5 nights. Tim was passionate about the birds, enthusiastic about getting everyone on every bird, professional with planning and guiding, and extremely knowledgeable about the birds. We got all of our target birds, 15 Life birds for me, and he also attended to my personal target of at least 50 birds in each of the 3 states. We saw 150 species on our trip! ...including excellent views of 6 Himalayan Snowcocks on top of the Ruby Mountains, amazing up-close looks at Flammulated Owls at night (his specialty!!!), a forest full of Cassia Crossbills, a family of Gray Partridge, and so many other beautiful birds! Other highlights included a perched Golden Eagle on the top of the telephone pole next to our vehicle that sat for a long while, before lifting off and doing circles over our head and across the field; all four anticipated hummingbird species, including excellent looks and photo ops of the Calliope; and both sunset and sunrise views of thousands of Red-necked and Wilson's Phalaropes on the Great Salt Lake; plus many more exciting experiences enjoying lovely birds. Tim attended to our group's every request, allowing time to enjoy and savor each species, positioning us for bird photos in "perfect light", and making sure everyone saw every bird. We stayed at clean and comfortable hotels, ate great food, he accommodated dietary restrictions whenever possible (going out of his way to make sure we had appropriate food choices, ie: gluten-free), and managed the seating arrangements in the van so that we all had time in the front and the back of the van. Tim Avery offers an excellent tour, I highly recommend him as a guide!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank n8rgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

I went on the Flammulated Owling tour and it was so fun! We saw several types of hummingbirds, swallows and so many other birds. Once it was dark, the main attraction showed themselves, our Flammies. Such little owls with such big eyes. You need to add this bird to your bird list. Tim was a very likeable and knowledgeable guide. Quick to spot and name birds and gets you lined up for photos if you want to take them. Just make sure you use a good dose of bug spray all over before you go!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank vm99lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

I highly recommend going on a birding tour with Tim, even if you're already an experienced birder. Tim's bird knowledge is endlessly interesting. There's no better way to see flammys.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank birdertyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews