We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 Of The Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“1 Of The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2010

WOW…What a hotel. Best stay I ever had. Certainly better then some upscale east coast hotels I have stayed at. The lobby was grand and opulent and dressed our nicely for Christmas. I choose to pay the extra and stay in the tower. The room was very large and allowed plenty of room to entertain. Food in the restaurants was a bit pricy but good. Housekeeping did a fantastic job keeping the room clean and supervisors following up. The turndown service is a nice touch with them also bringing ice and chocolate too. There was a large tub in the bathroom that could have been even better if there had been a jacuzzi tub. The elevators (3) were all very fast covering the 15 floors in about 20 seconds. There was a lot in in-hotel shopping which I cannot speak about. The business center was very expensive at $1.00 a minute for computer/printer access considering at most hotels this is a free service. Don’t forget your phone charger because the hotel changes $10.00 an hour to use theirs. We did have free H/S internet in our room and choose to go wired instead of wireless for security reasons. Valet parking was very inexpensive with very short wait times and a very attentive valet staff.
This is one place my wife will never forget and talk about forever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoR-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    570
    182
    86
    55
See reviews for
300
494
94
614
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

This was my first stay at Little America, and I was looking forward to it on the recommendation of friends. The front desk staff member checking me in was pretentious and stuffy. Not at all friendly or helpful. The bathtub in our room was completely plugged, not draining for hours. Maintenance did come to fix it, but it shouldn't have been in that condition. No coffee maker in the room - just a note to call the front desk to have one brought to the room. Two hours later the coffee maker still hadn't arrived, and we had to call again. Beds are not comfortable at all - they haven't been upgraded to pillow-top type mattresses and are similar to sleeping on a bed of rocks. Not a good experience and I will not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

I traveled to SLC for a family wedding. Hotel is quite nice with a great location and beautiful lobby which was being decorated for the Christmas season while I was there. The staff is kind and friendly. Food in the main restaurant was very good as was the service. Smaller restaurant was fine for breakfast. Indoor/outdoor pool area was also very nice.

The reason I rated with mixed feeling was that I was unable to correct problems I encountered. The first night I returned to the hotel around midnight. I found the room extremely hot. I put the thermostat on cool and turned the fan to high. Unfortunately, it did no good the eventually turned off the heating system and opened the window the 3 inches it would open. My husband and I were both unable to sleep. Also, that same night I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth and when I reached for a glass to rinse, I realized there was a hair sitting on the bottom of my unused glass. It was quite disgusting!

The next morning I took the glass to the front desk as evidence and to explain why I was disappointed in the room heating system. I asked if housekeeping could supply me with disposable glasses and was told it would be no problem. I was given a small $20 credit for our inconvenience. When I returned to my room at 10 pm that evening I discovered new glasses were delivered but they were not the disposables I requested. I have never been a fan of glassware in hotels since the majority of times they are only wiped out and not sterilized. Someone had come to our room to fix the heating system and said that was taken care of but again that evening, the room was much too hot for out liking and we again turned off the system and opened the window.

I guess there is no way to have your room cooled or heated to your personal preference.
While the front desk was very sorry for the inconvenience nothing was really corrected during my stay even though I went to the front desk twice to explain my concerns.

The room was much larger than most conventional hotel room.s For that reason I did like the room. If someone had followed up to make sure my problem was corrected it would have probably been a very good stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

The lobby is gorgeous and the food in the restaurant for breakfast was excellent. A great perk is that you can walk right across the street to the Grande America Hotel, the five star hotel in SLC, and have a drink in their lobby or eat in their restaurants and charge it to your room at Little America.

The garden rooms are less expensive than those in the tower, but very nice. The bathrooms are very clean but do have the good ole pink tile from the 50's. The other parts of the room khowever, were totally up to date with nice furnishings and linens.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

We travel to SLC often. We always stay at Little America when ever we stay overnight. . The rooms are large and comfortable. The food is excellent. Breakfast is a favorite in both the Dining Room and the Coffee Shop. The Sunday Brunch is famous in SLC.Some of the rooms can be dated but they are always updating rooms. The pool is nice, you are able to swim under a wall and be outside. We are never disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Dale, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

i really enjoyed staying at this hotel this past year. it is a really amazing place. i thought it was a very clean hotel, with great service, a classy place. i will be staying there again in the near future! i would recommend Little America to all my Friends and Family!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jamielynnallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
273 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Little American is SLC has to be one of the best hotels in town. The service is always top notch and the roons are very clean. Overall, the facilties are extremly elegant and the fitness room and pool area are vey nice and well kept. The TV in the room could use updating and the heater knob was broken, but we were able to find a comfortable temp without a problem. The views from this hotel are outstanding and it is very close to the transit system.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing