We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Half a century of great hotel services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Half a century of great hotel services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

I've been staying at Little America on visits to Salt Lake City since 1974, and have been here for a week at a time at least once each year. I generally stay in Lodge 5 but stayed in the tower once since it was completed in the late 70s. This is a wonderful property, with rooms that are very tastefully appointed, warm and comfortable, with tight windows to block out any exterior noise. The rooms are large, equipped with a good sized television, with a large bathroom that is well lit and equipped with a refrigerator. Parking is free and there's a full 24 hour grocery store only a few blocks away. The entire downtown is within walking distance. The restaurant on site has ups and downs...some years it is wonderful, other years passable. The food is always filling and reasonably priced, however. I recommend the lodges given the convenience of stepping outside to your car and to the swimming pool, but in the middle of winter, you might prefer the tower. I certainly prefer this property to the Grand America, which looks like it was set up by a manic interior decorator with access to an oversized expense account.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinComanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    575
    183
    86
    56
See reviews for
306
499
95
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed on the 10th floor of the tower. The room was very nice!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

The tower rooms are always a good choice. Stayed many times and always comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desertsand01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

Returned to my room to find an elderly couple inside, looking pretty confused. The hotel gave them keys to my room, even though I was of course not checked out, or even leaving that day.

Management response was weak, blaming it on housekeeping. Lucky for me the people in my room were not weirdos, or needing a new laptop since mine was there on the desk.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atimiscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angelas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

The service, the staff, the food, the location.... It is all amazing!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiezausaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Short review: This lodging and its people wowed us, (and it is not often that a hotel does that). The folks here are very gracious, the food in the "coffee shop" amazingly good, the room spotless and the bed so comfortable that I had to buy one of the pillows ($40). The wi-fi worked great in our non-tower room.

Longer: We have often stayed at the Radisson, which we like, and had a terrible experience at Xmas time at the Marriott Residence Inn (definitely has gone down hill), so we decided to try a new place in Salt Lake. The Little America had new lower rates and our Courtyard (motel-like) room seemed affordable so we tried it out for two nights. Incredible.

The room (all are non-smoking, a firm king with 5 great pillows) is spacious, spotless, very well kept up, great tv, and fine, free wi-fi. Thick, generous towels. My wife loved the pillows so much that we bought one. Details in the room are not simply plucked from a Motel Supply catalogue. Everything functioned well (except the alarm clock/radio, whose radio alarm came on at 8:12 p.m. and I couldn't find how to disable it). Parking is free, location of the hotel right downtown but feels like a calm oasis.

While I had a coffee maker delivered to the room, I chose to go to the Coffee bar (different from the Coffee Shop Restaurant) in the lobby area with its very good coffee ($2) and free refills. We also ate at the Coffee Shop restaurant. Jenifer had the Roast Turkey dinner. I had the liver and bacon. Both dinners included a large, fresh, not-from-a-bag salad, great rolls, a truly baked potato (not steamed in a foil wrapper) good portions, and fresh carrots with zucchini. Plus ice cream. For about $14 each.

It was our interactions with the staff, however, that really made our stay special. Every person was gracious, friendly, obviously well trained, cared about working there, and made us feel special. (Thank You Staff!)

Would recommend the Little America to anyone. Location, price, comfort and, especially the staff. This will be our new home away from home in Salt Lake. Do not hesitate about staying here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onegraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon. After paying for the event we were pretty strapped for cash so we chose the Little America over the Grand America. Having since stayed at both properties I prefer the Little America. The Grand felt old fashioned.

This is a very nice hotel and they treated us very well. I highly recommend. Enjoy your stay.

Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing