We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Successful remodel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Successful remodel”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been anxiously awaiting the completion of Little America's lobby and coffee shop upgrade. When we visited December 18, it had been unveiled. The changes are improvements that keep within the spirit of Little America. We frequently visit here and love the ambience, so I was relieved that no damage was done to the tone of the place with the improvements. Well done, Little America! I will look forward to the next phase of changes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idaholuckyducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    596
    188
    88
    59
See reviews for
312
519
99
648
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toadlena new mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is nice but if you stay in a Garden Room at the back you will find that the rooms are cold and don't heat up very well. Got so cold had to call the front desk for extra blankets at 2AM and got no break in the price for staying there...excellent hotel otherwise but the Garden rooms on the west end are older and the heating systems don't heat the room well, the floor is cold and drafty...otherwise the service, food and hotel staff are exceptional.

Room Tip: if you get a Garden Room you will need to bring an electric blanket and slippers because the floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustywire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the room you booked did not have proper heating. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. In most cases, our staff would have offered to move you to another room if convenient. I am sorry that this was not offered to you. Please know that we are constantly looking for and finding ways to improve our property and our rooms.
If you have any further comments about your stay, you are welcome to email me directly.
Sincerely,
Ed Box
General Manager
Little America Hotel, Salt Lake
edbox@littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, WY
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I've stayed at Little America many times. It has always been a great choice. The weekend rate for a courtside room with an AARP discount is reasonable. The beds are deliciously comfortable. The coffee shop is good...you can have a drink in a bar across the street in Grand America...the fitness center is great...there's an outdoor pool and a pool that's partially outdoors and partially enclosed...the downtown location is perfect, walking distance to many destinations, and across the street from a light rail stop too. The folks at the front desk are always friendly and responsive. The Little America Breakfast served by room service is a healthy way to start the day. Check-out is easy. There's plenty of parking. Yes, you can save money by staying elsewhere such as Motel 6, and I have done that many times, but I prefer to spend the extra money when my wife and I hit SLC for the comfort and amenities of Little America.

Room Tip: Courtside rooms are less expensive with the most convenient parking right by the room...Tower and Ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yodelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Just got home from a ski vacation in Utah. We stayed at this great hotel as we have for many years so that we could ski at different resorts. It is an upscale property and so comfortable and clean. The food in the restaurants is fantastic and the staff through out the hotel is helpful and friendly. The rooms in the tower, which we prefer, are very large and elegant. The rooms in the side buildings are smaller but very nice as well if you want a less expensive option. There are a lot of really good hotels in Salt Lake City and this one is tops.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cash22cmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is more like a complex - a main building and a bunch of surrounding low-rise buildings. My room was in one of the low-rises near the back, and it was certainly comfortable. Nice bed, good bathrooms, and a small patio. It's not dead-center, but it's certainly convenient to walk to pretty much everything you'd want to see in the city. If you're not used to Utah drinking rules you might get thrown for a loop in their bar, but it's laid out well at least. Head to The Bayou up the street if you're in need of real beer.

If you get a decent Priceline rate, this place is absolutely worth it. SLC is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear BigTim78,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our guestrooms to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you once again upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Rooms were very comfortable. Nicely updated bathrooms and showers. The resturant has the best breakfast buffet that I've ever had. The Guest Services staff is very freindly and had great information on the city and local resturants. Will most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear shilga,

Thank you for taking the time to write you review, we appreciate your valued feedback! It is great to hear you find out rooms to your liking and enjoy our breakfast buffet as well as the attentiveness of our staff! We are looking forward to welcoming you to the hotel upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.

Regards -

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed at Little America several times and it is always a very comfortable place to stay. The rooms are not sleek and modern, but they are very comfortable and very clean. The coffee shop has been recently remodeled and is a through back to diners of old, and the food is excellent. The Trax line runs in front of the hotel, which makes getting around very convenient. I highly recommend Little America.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlerockjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
906 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#22 of 75 in Salt Lake City
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing