We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #12 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Just completed a stay here and I thought I got my money's worth. The location was great. The hotel staff was very helpful. The room was large a bit dated but overall nice. Room service. was prompt and good. The internet was a good There is work going on at the hotel so the lobby is not great but overall enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmdworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    558
    177
    83
    53
See reviews for
292
486
91
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had five night's at The Little America and loved every minute of it, excellent service from all staff we encountered, from the very polite reception staff and porter, to all who served us in the restaurant. We had a Courtyard King Suite which was both spacious and immaculate, lovely sitting area to relax after a long day walking around the beautiful city, we had many of our meals in the restaurant and all were most enjoyable, prices a very reasonable. As others have commented in reviews, yes there is some construction work going on at the moment with renovation to the garden café, therefore there is a lot of noise in the other restaurant at breakfast and lunch, it didn't bother us, but if you're bothered by noise ask for a room on the other side of the hotel and you won't hear a thing. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Eleanor W-

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you as our guest upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.

- Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent two nights here and loved it. Even though they were under construction we were not inconvenienced in anyway. Love the indoor/outdoor pool and the ability to swim till 11 pm. Very clean and staffed well. Staff was helpful and courteous. We will look for this chain as we travel.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a tower room suite and really enjoyed the luxury and added convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxylibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear foxylibrarian,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Little America Hotel. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and had time to spend time at our pool. We are pleased we have gained your confidence in us and hope to have you as our guest once again.

Hotel Staff -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I just got back from a visit to Salt Lake City and there are a few good and bad things that I must say about this hotel.
First the good: The hotel is nicely placed right in the middle of downtown Salt Lake City and a nearby free trolley makes it really easy to get around since the blocks are extremely long. Unless you have a physical impairment, you should really walk because after eating at some of the fine restaurants dotting the area, you will want to walk off some of that food in some of the fine weather Utah has at this time of year.
Getting back to the hotel, make sure you get a room facing the large office buildings. The view to the left of the mountains is awesome. Make sure you look for the letter "U" in the mountains for Utah.
The staff is very accommodating and does their absolute best to overcome the minor shortcomings of the hotel, which are my bad things.
The bad/minor things: The hotel is a little dated and musty as evident from the smell coming from the room once the door was opened. Not sure what it was but a little airing out cleared the problem.
The furnishings were a little old and showed signs of heavy usage. The base of the throw pillows on the couch in the middle of the room were extremely dark and look as though they were not changed in ages. Not a big problem as I didn't spend much time in the room and I live out of my suitcases.
Finally, the view I mentioned came with a trade off as there was some heavy construction going on on that side of the building. Not a problem if you don't plan on staying in the room.
If you go to Salt Lake City, there are three things you must see if you are not adventurous and four if you are.
1. Park City which has some of the best outlet shopping in the world. Personally, I thought the view driving through the canyon on the way there was a treat in itself.
2. The Salt Temple which is one of the most beautiful buildings you will ever lay eyes on. Salt Lake City would not exist if this building was not erected, and thus should be treated as a must see on any trip to SLC.
3. The Mormon Tabernacle Choir. They frequently allow and welcome the public to see their rehearsals and they sound so good it will make you want to confess your sins right there on the spot. Simply put, they sound angelic.
4. If you are adventurous, you must take a guided tour into any number of canyons that are in the area. Simply nature at its most beautiful, especially the sunsets which are awesome.
Overall, if you can overlook the minor problems of the hotel, the upside is tremendous.
I do recommend and would return to this hotel is I ever returned to Salt Lake City.
P.S. The nightly mint chocolates left by the turndown service are a really nice touch.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor facing the high rise buildings. The view of the mountains in the backg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

On a corporate rate, so it's normal they would place me in the end of the motor lodge "garden area" earth...However, any housekeeping worth their salt would make sure there was a coffee pot and NO MOSQUITOS. First thing I did was kill several, straight off. There's nothing worse than getting in after a long flight than that annoying buzzing, or worse-killing them and wondering if you're going have to take that midnight dive under the covers.

Dated...no elevator. I don't have a problem carrying my bag. Do they put disabled persons on the ground floor? How do disabled people get all the way down here? Just saying. I would not book here if it was not for work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagdad-by-the-bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

As a frequent business traveler and commentator on Tripadvisor, I can tell you that I have seen it all, both good and bad. Below is a dispassionate view of my recent stay this week at the Little America hotel.

The good:
* Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient
* The location near downtown Salt Lake City is terrific
* The complementary WiFi provided by the hotel was excellent and reliable
* Parking was quite easy
* Nice deep bathtub
* Friendly staff
* Excellent selection of traveler amenities in the hotel shop

The bad:
* Bug bites. Got about 15-20 itchy bug bites on my arms, hands and legs following my first night's sleep. Thankfully nothing on my torso, back or face. Got more bug bites after my second night's sleep.
* Upon checkout, I mentioned to the front desk that the room might have an issue. The checkout clerk looked like she did not know how to process this information, so I kindly asked her to inform her manager for the comfort of the next guest. Maybe I should have been more forward, as I didn't see her take any information down or show much interest in my inquiry. I probably should have asked for a manager to make sure that any issue was certainly addressed.
* The hotel is very dated. The room I stayed in reminded me of my grandmother's house.
* Room had a lot of wear and tear. Caps on the bathroom faucets broke off, flush chain inside toilet snapped in half, etc. Just silly small things that add up to make an uneven impression.


Overall, I would not come back if I had the option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbane_Biz_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valued feedback regarding your stay. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know that we make every effort to educate our staff about bed bugs and that we work closely with a company to ensure our rooms are meticulously inspected on a regular basis. We consider the potential for bed bugs to be a very serious issue and make these inspections our top priority. Please know that I have reviewed your comments with my staff as it is important for us to share the feedback we receive with our employees. I welcome you to contact my office or email me directly at your convenience so that we can ensure the room you stayed in was recently inspected and cleaned in addition to making sure the maintenance issues were addressed. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Ed Box
General Manager
Little America Hotel, Salt Lake
edbox@littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I have stayed a couple of times at the Grand America in Salt Lake City. A relative told us they enjoy the Little America even more, so we decided to give it a try for a weekend getaway. I made the reservation before reading the Trip Advisor reviews, and then wondered if I had made a mistake -- but instead, I can't understand why some of the reviews were so negative.

We had a very nice suite in the tower. The room was very large, with a nice view. The furnishings were very nice -- not dated at all, but rather classic. The bed linens were very good quality. Yes, the toilet was a bit low, but I can't imagine why that would spoil anyone's stay. Everything else was superb.

We enjoyed the roof-top swimming pool on the 2nd floor. It wasn't very deep because of it's position on the roof, but otherwise very nice. We also utilized the sauna and the exercise facilities. All were very good. We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, where we have dined many times before. We always find the food and service to be excellent.

When compared with the Grand America, across the street, we found the Little America a bit less elegant, but otherwise very nice, and definitely a better value for the money.

We also took the free light-rail uptown to visit museums and do a bit of shopping.

We would happily return there again for another weekend special.

Room Tip: Our room faced south, which was nice to view the fireworks at the ball field about a mile to the sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinziaOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear CinziaOrchard -

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Little America Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed what sounds like a great getawau in the city. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

-Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing