We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting lipstick on a pig....the Little America reality check”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Putting lipstick on a pig....the Little America reality check”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

For reasons no one seems to know the hotel has decided to renovate their restaurants and shops but not the aged rooms we are experiencing here. I would venture to say the last update was early '90s. Really frustrating because management has to know and have seen the complaints about the condition of many of these rooms (courtyard-garden rooms in particular. I can't speak for the tower). There's nothing wrong with having different tiers of rooms but when the lower tier is probably the worst product in downtown SLC with a price tag comparable to newer Hiltons and Marriotts - that's a problem, at least for us.

There's absolutely no "value" here; in fact, it's just the opposite. You've been warned.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank doodles4306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are constantly looking for and finding ways to improve our property and our rooms. It is to our regret that you did not contact us during your stay so we could have had the chance to make every attempt and make sure you had a more comfortable stay. If you have any further comments about your stay, you are welcome to email me directly.
Sincerely,

Ed Box
General Manager
Little America Hotel, Salt Lake
edbox@littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    601
    191
    88
    60
See reviews for
318
524
100
657
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here for a business convention. It was great because it has a really fabulous family-style restaurant. That makes things more convenient because you don't have to spend hours of stressful time searching around the city for an affordable casual restaurant.

Room Tip: I think having a room in the tower portion of the hotel might give you a nice view of the surroundin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisacrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for four nights at Little America in October 2012. The rooms are really cute and I would consider this place to be one of the best values in the city. The location is right in the heart of Downtown and is walking distance to City Creek Mall and everything Downtown has to offer. I wish we didn't have to stay on the ground floor unit but we loved the room and the bathroom had really nice vintage finishes. The hotel was really quiet and the only negative experience was that the people above us were smoking pot in their room and the smell came through the vents into our room.

Despite some very minor issues, we really enjoyed our stay and will be staying there again when we return to the area in October 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanieamullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The spacious courtyard style rooms are indeed motel like as stated by another reviewer. Fancy lobby. Nice clean indoor/outdoor pool with towel service. Affordable. Had no self-service laundry which was a problem for a family coming in from camping. Concierge had good supper recommendation - Red Iguana.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCrispOneDollarBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel needs redecorating as well as remodeling. It is mostly pastels with light furniture. Not a rich look at all, very dated. The carpets are looking worn in the halls and in the hall my room was off of, there was a place where the wallpaper was coming loose near the ceiling. There were chips of paint gone near the elevator doors. I was in one of the more expensive tower rooms. It was exceptionally clean. That was very nice. The staff in general is very pleasant and helpful. Dinner is much better across the street at the Grand America. Much better! Breakfast was fine at the hotel. Maneuvering through the drinking laws is still unpleasant in Utah but that isn't the hotel's fault. You can't go have a civilized before dinner drink in the bar without ordering something to eat. A night cap is also not possible without eating again. These things are just what you have to put up with in Utah.

I did encounter three difficulties. I booked for a week of rest and quiet and on the morning of the 5th day, I had hammering and power drilling in the room next to me at about 8 AM. I was on the 8th floor and on the opposit side of the hotel from where the remodeling was going on. I called the desk and was apologized to but the noise kept on until I left the room for the day. The next morning it started all over again but this time at 7:30 and continuted until I went out again. I called the front desk and was given to a manager. He was terse but did agree to comp me 1/2 day for each day. Strange. Why not just one full day? Since I had him on the phone I thought it was only fair to warn him that I had tried to check my email on the hotel WiFi and immediately picked up 5 serious viruses which took some time to get rid of and then more time to restore all the documents and information that I had lost. Luckily I have very good security on my computer or I might not have know about them so quickly. I thought he would want to be warned of that. He immedately got condescending and said it would only happen if I was downloading questionable material. I asked him if my email was questionable material. He said that it could only happen if they had been hacked. I told him that was my point in warning him. I didn't dare use the internet connection again so any work I had to keep up on was out of the question. Finally, they have car loads of fresh flowers and most of them seem to be star lillys. They are beautiful to look at but the stench was overpowering. Their odor is very cloying and heavy. I heard several people mentioning it in the lobby while waiting for my car to be brought up.

The stay would have been much better if not for the unacceptable noise and unacceptable attitude of the manager.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayBeBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is one of those occasions where I wish there was another category above "average" because this hotel was better than average but I'm not sure it was "very good" - more "good"!

We were situated in one of the courtyard style rooms, which to be honest were more motel in style rather than hotel. The rooms were large, clean and modern with all the usual facilities one would expect. Although, I did look rather wistfully at the Grand America Hotel opposite. The main benefit of this type of room of course, is the fact that you can park your car outside which makes the whole luggage thing much easier. The main disadvantage was that it was pouring with rain so we got soaked walking over to the restaurant in the main hotel and it was a fair walk as we were situated about as far away as it was possible to be! Service was mixed because we walked over to the reception to tell them that there was no in-room coffee and they said they would immediately organise some for us. However, after a wait of over an hour, we had to go over to reception again to remind them. They were apologetic and the coffee eventually arrived.

We ate in the main restaurant which we thought was pretty expensive - especially the wine. The food though was excellent, as was the service.

The hotel was situated within easy walking distance of downtown Salt Lake City and the Temple, which were about 20 minutes away.

All in all the hotel was comfortable, not the best I have stayed in and not bad all the same. If we were to visit Salt Lake City again, we would probably stay here due to the ease of finding the place, parking and the proximity to Downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aardie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We returned to Salt Lake this summer and had another enjoyable stay at the Little America. I love the location on the southern fringe of downtown and located right next to a TRAX station which can now take you all the way out to the airport. This is a real "old school" place. It has a quiet elegance. Although the furniture is a bit outdated, the rooms are very clean and are massive. We had a balcony with beautiful views of the mountains although it would have been nice to have a couple chairs and a table out there. Huge indoor/outdoor pool, and free underground parking. I gave it a 4/5 this time only because we paid substantially more for the room than we did 4 years ago. There are several other hotels in downtown that looked quite nice that were much less expensive. I'm not sure if the value was quite there for the price we paid. I would certainly stay here again if I'm able to get a discount off the full rack rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domer90mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing