We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, huge rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Little America Hotel
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Bonita Springs, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, huge rooms”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the salt lake city little america for 4 nights. The room was huge and had a nice big clean bathroom. Robes were included, and there were 2 sinks and a separate area for getting ready while another person can use the shower. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very happy working there. That was a nice surprise! We enjoyed the restaurant and service was fast. The soups were home made as was the daily specials. Conference price was affordable at 129$ a night

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    607
    193
    89
    61
See reviews for
325
535
100
664
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our 6th year that we have been here for a ski trip. Less than an hour away from great skiing. We stay in the tower, King size bed and the rooms are huge. Very nice bathroom, great tub, everything first class. Very reasonably priced for what you receive. Paper in morning, turn down service, chocolate, and robes provided. Underground parking which is nice in the winter. Do not miss their Breakfast Buffet. Great selection, and the best fruit, blueberries, raspberries, strawberries. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. If you are a light sleeper, do not stay next to the elevator in the tower. Couldn't sleep the first night, so much mechanical noise, they changed us the next day, with no problem.

Room Tip: Do not stay next to tower elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We recently stayed at Little America in Salt Lake City. This was the second time we have stayed here for our annual Spring Ski trip to the wonderful resorts outside of Salt Lake City. We find this hotel to be extremely convenient in terms of easy access to, well, everything! I read lots of the reviews of this hotel and I can't say I agree with any of the negative things people mentioned. People complained of the decor and of the Garden Rooms looking out on the street. True, we did stay in a Garden Room and it did look out on the street but. . .there were nicely manicured lawns and wonderful plantings of flowers below. As for the decor, I find it to be very cheery and pleasant. This establishment hits the mark with all of the really important things - it is very CLEAN. Furnishings were in good shape and the property as a whole has been kept up very nicely. The staff is excellent. You never pass one of them in the hallway or lobby without them saying "Hi" or telling you to "have a nice day." This is really great. There is no mumbling or avoidance of eye contact. You feel welcome. And - most impressive - all the staff wear uniforms that are very clean and pressed. It is very professional. A big step up from places where the housekeeping wear whatever they want with a dingy smock thrown over it. The only thing we did agree with was the one review that spoke of the heater not working very well in the room. This was the case with us. We came in at the end of a day skiing all day in the wet snowfall and we just could not get warm. Even when we turned the thermostat up to 80! We are NOT cold blooded - we keep our heat set at 67 at our own home, but the heat barely floated out of the vent in this room. Having the 'fan' setting on High did not seem to make a difference. But. . .it did get warm eventually. We just had to leave it set high the whole time. Since we were skiing all day and then simply showering and collapsing at night, it did not seem to be a huge issue. Had it been Summertime and the room not gotten cool, that may have been a problem. As it were, we were not uncomfortable once it finally got warm. This hotel is a fantastic value in my opinion. Also, we ate breakfast in the coffee shop and the service and food was top rate. Lobby was beautiful with see-thru fire place and a small bar on one side.

Room Tip: We stayed in 8267 and it was quiet and close to the elevator that took us to the covered parking bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a Garden room on the second floor and we were not expecting such a large beautifully decorated room. It was more like a suite with a seperate sitting area. The bathroom was like a spa. The bed was comfortable and the room had a large flat screen television. There are two excellent resaturants on site. The trax station is kitty corner to the northeast (about a blocks walk from the hotel entrance) and you can ride for free to many Salt Lake attractions like Temple Square, City Creek and the Gateway.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are lovely and in a better location than the courtside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the garden rooms for Christmas. We had the whole family with us. The kids loved the all day access to the pool. I loved the break from them! I have to say next time we'll be sure to get one of the minibar suites if we take the kids with us. Having access to a fridge and microwave would have been helpful to keep food costs down. Overall, it was a pleasant mini vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spkleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I wanted a hotel near the centre of Salt Lake City, and I always like a bargain. So when I saw that the Little America was available for just over $100, I took it. Alas, you usually get what you pay for... and sometimes less. Before describing what's wrong with the hotel, let me say what's right - the staff tried very hard to make it all right - they were accommodating, courteous and cheerful; sadly, the problems are age and maintenance.

The hotel is very large, with a number of distinct buildings. The bargain rate was for the 3,000 block - closest to the street, and obviously the oldest. First night - I turned on the heating, and the unit did two really bad things - made an enormous racket, and failed to pump out enough heat to adequately heat the room. The lack of weatherstripping around the door didn't help.

I told the front desk of the problem the next morning, and they switched me to another room, also in the 3000 block. Cheer! The heater was silent, and, eventually, it warmed the room.
(Still worn or missing weather stripping in the doors, so some of the heat went to heating Utah). Unfortunately, the room was so far away from a wireless repeater, that I couldn't use the internet. Actually, I got a better signal from a nearby hotel than from the Little America wireless.

Another complaint to the front desk, and again they graciously changed me to another room, this time in the upgraded 5000 block, The wireless worked perfectly. The doors face into a hallway, not the outside, so no heating leakage this time. Sadly, when I turned up the heat, this heating unit rattled - very loudly. The only good news? It had a nice one-two, one-two rhythm to the rattle.

With the quality of staff I encountered, its clear this hotel can do better. I sure hope so.

Room Tip: Avoid the 3000 block of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJG_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed a week at the Little America while on a ski vacation. First of all the location is excellent, right on the edge of downtown, with easy car access to any part of the city. We had a ground floor garden unit, which we found very convenient with all our ski gear, as we could park right outside. Our room was spacious, attractively decorated, and very comfortable. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated. It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room, but being winter, we used our car as the fridge!.
The lobby in the main building is beautiful, and we enjoyed the excellent fitness and pool facilities. We had cause to contact maintenance for a couple of little issues, and they were attended to promptly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouver reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Property: Little America Hotel
Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2405
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing