We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The manager could use a little refresher in customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Camden, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The manager could use a little refresher in customer service”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had started my day at 8:30 central time and had made Salt Lake City my destination for that leg of my cross-country trip. I had intended to stay at a Hampton Inn a little further west but changed my mind when I realized how far of I-80 it was. I backtracked from exit 99 to exit 113 in order to stay at the next nearest Hampton Inn. At this point, I was about 13 hours into my day. When I arrived the airport Hampton Inn--exhausted and just wanting to sleep--I was greeted pleasantly but that soon changed. There was some confusion regarding a military discount that had asked for. The front desk clerk and I weren't communicating with the same language--what I call "military discount" she interpreted as "government rate." This miscommunication was further frustrating my already tired self. The front desk clerk then went and got the manager--Sunshine--who handled the rest of my transaction. She was polite, in tone, but not so in her words. I was told that they are there to serve me but not to put up with my attitude and that it wasn't her fault that I had driven for 12 hours that day. This did nothing to improve my mood. I just wanted to get my key and go to sleep. I will admit that I was a difficult customer--who wouldn't be after having to backtrack 26 miles because the other hotels down the road were sold out due to two races going on; and had to do this backtrack after so many hours of driving.
Other issues with this stay: the bathtub squeaked (the drain was not seated properly in the tub), the shower curtain was installed incorrectly (curved bars need to be installed three to four inches further inside the tub), the tile in front of the sink popped (air was obviously trapped in between the tile and the floor), and the front side of the sink counter was coming apart from the frame.
On the plus side: breakfast was excellent and the breakfast room attendant was very polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nichole n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experiences and opinions with us. To improve is always the goal. We have noted the items you listed in your comments that you felt needed attention in the guest room for our chief maintenance to attend to, thank you very much for that. Sunshine is our Front Office Manager and is typically outstanding with every guest literally everytime. I apologize that you did not have that same experience here. Apparently the team was taken back with the foul language and the way you and your traveling companion treated them. We love our military and do many complimentary functions to serve and give back to the troops going out and the amazing reunions when they get to come home. All we ask is to be treated with a mutual respect that isn't dependant on the sleep we or they have had or missed out on. I do hope that we can make ammends and start off on a fresh step. Today is a new day and hope that your future travels are a perfect 10 in everyway. Again we are deeply appreciative for what every member and their families do for us every single day.

Teresa Capener
General Manager
801 519 6500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    205
    66
    38
    19
See reviews for
178
227
56
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pocatello, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here while flying out of SLC. We primarily chose this Hampton because they offer a free shuttle to the airport. Also, they allow you to park your vehicle while your gone. However, upon checking in, we are told that they charge $30 to park there. And, all hotels charge that. This policy is not posted anywhere. Had we known this, we would probably have made other arrangements as the rooms were $179 per night. That is not the normal price, however the prices were inflated due to a major event in the SLC area. We booked months in advance. The rooms were very nice, the bed was nice and the shuttle got us to the airport on time. If your staying here to park, make sure you verify their policy.

Room Tip: Verify parking rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkbrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting the postive and not so much so...we still hear you good and bad alike. We want to be fantastic, super and a #10 all the time. I apologize for the confusion about the parking. We offer a "Stay and Fly" package that is available on our website. It allows you to include the cost of parking up to 7 nights into 1 fee. The fee is great depending on the number of nights you need to leave your car. Give a try the next go around, there are several other special deals that can be found there too. Safe travels and thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I always stay at Hampton when I can and am very sad when they are fully booked. Beds are comfy and the breakfast selection is pretty good. Tea and coffee are always available and cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gregory Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for the positive comments and the time you took to post them. All of the guests that stay here can't help but wanting the Serta Dream Structure beds in their homes too. I think it is one of our big plus', you can truly get a great nights sleep with us. Thank you for choosing us when there are a million other options out there. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked a family room with two queen beds and a double room with a king bed. The rooms were very clean, relaxing, nice decor, location ideal for us passing through, good value for money. The rooms were spacious. Complimentary breakfast was a bonus and was of reasonable standard. I will definitely use Hampton again. The bathroom, tiled walls were spotless. Definitely better than the Manhattan East Hilton and a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rajan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Nice review, thank you very much. We want everyone to come and have the same stay you did. The team and I love our guests and want you to always feel at home. Our guests are very much appreciated and hope that if you are able you will come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Traveled to this hotel after a late night flight from east coast. Tired and hungry, we found to our disappointment that our non smoking room had been used as a giant ashtray.
Melissa at the front desk really helped us out and made us happy with an alternative room and also arranged for a rollaway bed for my 19 year old son.
We found the fitness room to be better than average and the breakfast was great.
I'd stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kielar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Please let me tell you how sorry I am that we started out on a bad foot. The truth is that the room should not have been listed in the available inventory. Sad to say but there are guests that are not respectful of policies in place for the comfort of the majority. It is our job to catch those rooms before they are given to a future guests, I sincerely apologize that we missed the boat. Thank you for your other kind comments and for recognition you gave to Melissa, she is one of our super stars for sure! Safe and happy travels always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed overnight after driving down from Yellowstone to catch a flight out of SLC. The suite was plenty big for 4 adults with an exceptionally large bathroom. The bed was super comfy and immaculate. Best of all, everyone on the staff went out of their way to help us. (Thank you, Sunshine! You are wonderful.) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We live for your comments! I know it must sound crazy but we never forget "YOU" are what keeps us in business. Sunshine and the team are terrific, I promise if you get a chance to visit again the same service awaits you. Glad you found the suite roomy and comfortable for all. We love having you here so keep us marked on your map of favorite places to stop for a rest if travel brings you our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel locate in easy access of I-80 which I liked a lot. It was easy to get into/out of I-80 and it was just right location to us. They had pool for children which was nice warm water and open late which was great too. Customer service was nice, friendly people who made me feel good after long drive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Maya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
So glad you liked our hotel and my wonderful team. They really do feel like you are a guest and act accordingly. Our pool is seasonal due to our white winters but how fun that the family got to enjoy it. Did you notice its in the shape of a heart? Well, thanks for your comments they mean everything to us. May all your travels be safe ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Airport
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Salt ...
#26 of 75 in Salt Lake City
769 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#23 of 75 in Salt Lake City
273 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Airport
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City Airpo...
#18 of 75 in Salt Lake City
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport
Address: 307 N Admiral Byrd Rd, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-3717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#27 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make a smooth landing in Salt Lake City, where you will find rich offerings of history, nature and adventure with a small-town feel. The Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport hotel is located in the Salt Lake City International Center, only five minutes from the Salt Lake City International Airport and with convenient access to major attractions. Take a ride into downtown and immerse yourself in a world of attractions, including the Historic Temple Square, featuring nearly twenty attractions related to Mormon pioneer history and genealogy. See the Salt Lake Temple or get a feel for the natural thrills of the area at one of many ski resorts. Our hotel in Salt Lake City, Utah also puts you within 10 miles of the State Capitol, Great Salt Lake and the City Creek Downtown shopping mall and city walk. Unwind in a spacious guest room and find modern comforts to help you feel at home. Surf the web with free internet access, or simply relax on the clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Upgrade to a suite and enjoy extra space with separate living area. Enjoy great value with amenities like our modern business center and handy convenience store. Stay fit with a workout in the fitness center. Take a refreshing dip in the seasonal outdoor swimming pool or relax in our year-round hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Slc Airport Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn And Suites Slc Airport
Hampton Inn Slc Airport
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing