We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Breakfast is lacking”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I would love to give the Hampton Inn a five star review, but the breakfast is consistently pretty awful. My husband and I stay here pretty frequently, as we visit family in the area quite often. The rooms are usually well-kept and the staff is very accommodating and helpful. Once or twice we've had to call the front desk about noise, but they've always taken care of it quite quickly. Having easy access to the interstate is a bonus.
However, the breakfast isn't very good. It's the standard Hampton fare, and since they've updated their menu, the food has improved quite a bit. However, on several occasions, the fruit that was served was rather squishy and smelled like it was beginning to rot. I've also discovered a bit of mold on a bagel at one point. I also love orange juice and usually have it with my breakfast, but not here. The orange juice is just disgusting. It's almost fizzy, like it's gone bad, and it tastes incredibly watered down - it's barely orange juice. The other juices were no better. I have to wonder just how often that machine is cleaned out...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0se_S2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    82
    40
    9
    9
See reviews for
97
70
20
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed 13 nights for business and the staff made me feel like I was actually at home! We use this hotel twice a year for a group of us that have to come in to support the Outdoor Retailers Show. Location is perfect from airport and the Salt Palace. The staff goes out of their way to make sure all of us felt welcomed and completely satisfied with our stay. Wonderful hotel and awesome staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
561 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Close to airport. Staff was friendly and helpful. Accommodated room request for close room to colleague. Clean room. Free popcorn in room for Diamond member which was lunch one day. Enjoyed fresh fruit in lobby. A little noisy at times. Not much around for food but city is close.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sggypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
193 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Service nice, room nice and clean, and the constantly good Hampton Inn breakfast NOT busy which is really unusual for a weekday morning.

But what really caught my attention was the decor of the front area. Every Hampton is nicely decorated and furnished, but this is the nicest so far, in my opinion, and we have stayed at probably close to 70 Hampton Inns over the years. Really pretty.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKJN-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel was a good experience. I like that it was close to the Airport. We did have a little trouble finding the hotel, but once we found it we were so happy. We only had 10 minutes to swim before the pool closed but they gave us extra time since we just got there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The family decided to do two days of Xmas shopping in SLC and we needed a place to stay. After comparing hotels online we decided to go with this Hampton Inn, having stayed with previous Hilton family of hotels we wanted a good place to stay. In a large city, parking is a concern, we travel in a midsize SUV with a roof top cargo box so parking height is challenging at times; this hotel’s parking is outside. The location was within 10 min of downtown area, easy access to the interstate. We enjoyed the overall stay here; the family liked the free popcorn, in-room microwave & coffee, free Wi-Fi, couch & lounge chair, and the large selection of bathroom amenities (more then we have seen thus far), free breakfast buffet selection was great. The only issue was with the pillows, the were not for “belly type” sleepers. There were also other amenities, pools, workout room, business area that we didn’t use. All in all a great place, good central location to SLC’s shopping and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dineh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is a basically nice hotel. The room was comfortable but I did have some issues with the water pressure and the sink's slow draining issue. The staff did their best to accommodate me but they wanted me to change rooms on my last night there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
3.3 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,773 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
901 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/University-Foothill Dr.
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Salt Lake C...
#14 of 75 in Salt Lake City
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central

Property: Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central
Address: 2055 South Redwood Road, Salt Lake City, UT 84104-5114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing