We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comiccon weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Temple Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Temple Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 N 300 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84103-1119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    215
    184
    58
    29
See reviews for
130
174
56
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moab Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I like that there is a convenience store in the next block. The trax construction is complete and a great way to get around. In fact the Green Bike SLC bike share is on the north end of the Gateway Mall two blocks away too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitMoabUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The outside could use some updating. That being said, I enjoyed my stay. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower but no tub.The front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. I especially liked the very comfy bed with all the extra pillows. Nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CgrrlIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arimo, Idaho
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were really disappointed with this facility. The entire structure appears to be of last century vintage. Some of the plumbing fixtures were in dis-repair(shower) the beds and rugs were old and ragged. The entire room was small, poorly arranged and dingy. WE were not given any bath towels, when we arrived the first day and had to call for service.The TV set is of the old species but worked okay. The rooms were quite clean . The breakfast meal was the worst that we have ever had.I guess you pay for what you get. The front office access was hard to find and the office and staff seemed polite but disorganized and it looked messsy. The parking lot was a big joke. There were roofing nails on the asphalt where cars parked.In general, we know that we wil never
book a room at this hotel again.We will go with the other cheap hotels( Super 8 etc.).At least they are modern. Richard L Walker 08/25/2013

Room Tip: Do Not book rooms with Howard Johnson in Salt Lake City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salt Lake City hotels

Saint Joseph
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at this location after finding a hotel coupon book in Wyoming. Received $10 off the normal room rate. I actually stayed at this location in 1976 when it was a different hotel chain. Liked it then; liked it this time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
1.1 mi away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#45 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#16 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
2.0 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temple
Ramada Salt Lake City North Temp...
#56 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Temple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Temple Inn

Property: North Temple Inn
Address: 121 N 300 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84103-1119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City)
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Temple Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your North Temple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Salt Lake City
North Temple Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing