We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last weekend of summer”
Review of North Temple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North Temple Inn
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Last weekend of summer”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We took a couple of our grandkids to Salt Lake City to school clothes shop and have fun.
The room was a typical budget room with the usual amenities. It wasn’t as clean as we would have liked. The maid did not put fresh sheets on every day.
The ice maker was conveniently located and had plenty of ice.
They serve a breakfast including toast, bagels, cereal, juice, milk, coffee drinks, fruit and pastries.
The pool was fantastic. They have a outdoor pool that is very clean,the kids and adults had a blast in it—all day long.
We paid $65/nt. Free parking.
With the trax and the Gateway a block away it’s a nice location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    232
    196
    63
    32
See reviews for
135
188
63
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
188 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Although the place wasn't exactly built yesterday, it still offers decent, large rooms (at least the one we had). It's within walking distance of Temple Square and we paid only $62/night. That's great value in my book. We had a late check-in (around midnight), but everything went perfect. Breakfast was okay. I'd certainly come here again.
On the downside, there are lots of bums walking around in SLC, also on the motel's parking lot, so make sure you lock your car and hide all valuables. I had one begging for money and not easily taking no for an answer. All this in broad daylight.

Room Tip: The rooms adjoining the parking lot seemed run-down, so make sure they put you in one of the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel was fine. it was in a good location in the city. We had a short walk to many restaurants and even a high school football game on Friday night. It was only about 10 minutes to the airport. There was a large tour going to there rooms at the same time as we arrived so we had to walk our things up 3 flights of stairs. we were repacking from 2 weeks of vacation so we had a lot of things to carry, but I think this was just bad timing. We had a room on the top floor near the end of the hall so the outside noise was not too bad. But the air kept coming off and on all night. Poor temperature control and very loud woke me up many times in the night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w8l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The room was very basic, it meet our needs, which were a bed and a shower. The room was a bit cramped, but it served it's purpose. The breakfast was bagel, cereal, coffee, milk and juice. The check in woman was nice and we did not have any issues.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasey2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hotel is disgusting. If you spend a little more you can stay at a nicer hotel. Don't stay here just to save money, its not worth it. You will not enjoy your vacation stay here. I was here a week and hated it, could not get my money back cause I booked thru a third party.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We only stayed here for one night, after 10 hours driving we only needed somewhere basic and clean to spent the night in. HOJO was just that. Nice size room, clean bathroom.
It is also easy to get to from the I-15 if you don't know SLC.
Hotel offers breakfast in the reception area, small place, so a bit crowded.
The staff was very helpful, we asked for directions and the manager came down to show us on the map and make sure we didn't get lost!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madrileña
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

My husband and I were taking a honeymoon road trip from Los Angeles to Yellowstone and had just camped out for 3 nights so staying here at Howard Johnson was exactly what the doctor ordered. Rooms were a big change from a sleeping bag if u know what we mean. The rooms were clean, comfortable and close to the shopping center. Oh yes they also supply a great breakfast. Everyone must walk around especially to the outdoor mall which is connected to an original train station building. The best taco vendor is situation across the street from the mall. Also Howard Johnson is walking distance from a huge Beautiful Temple (even we had to stop and gaze).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloomiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtown
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtow...
#30 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#19 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Salt Lake City Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#33 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Temple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Temple Inn

Property: North Temple Inn
Address: 121 N 300 W, Salt Lake City, UT 84103-1119 (Formerly Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City)
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Temple Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your North Temple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Salt Lake City
North Temple Inn Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing