We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Property Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Updated Property Very Nice”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We were here in July 2013 and thought the hotel really needed updating. That has since happened and they did a great job. The rooms are really nice with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, and lots of outlets for your devices. Public areas are also very well done. Lots of tables for eating breakfast which double as nice work areas with outlets built in. The re-done pool area was really nice and may be one of the nicest outdoor pools in Salt Lake.

Service was a little below expectations...especially the front desk. The morning breakfast was also subpar. Lastly, the area (near Pioneer Park) had an abundance of homeless making evening walks less relaxing.

Overall this is a great property and an excellent value.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your great comments, and feedback.

We have recently gone through a management change and over half of our staff is new. Breakfast has been a major focus area, and we are looking forward to your feedback on our staff service improvements following your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    121
    44
    28
    13
See reviews for
106
65
19
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Level Contributor
752 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn in downtown Salt Lake City, The staff was very friendly and helpful in our request. We loved the location for the restaurants and shopping in downtown. The breakfast was one of the best we have had while on our trip. The price was very competitive for the downtown area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Our team has been very focused on improving the breakfast experience so they were thrilled to hear your feedback! Thank you! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This property is walkable convenient to the sites of downtown Salt Lake City and also close to the Union Pacific Gateway Center for entertainment and shopping.
Walkable are a variety of eateries that Salt Lake City is providing for the coveted urban professionals, boomer couples and those wanting the various different culinary treats of a big city. No finishing up a renovation, the rooms are modern, the free breakfast bountiful and convenient, there is even an outdoor pool that stays sunsplashed outdoors in SLC's mild outdoor clime. Overall a good and enjoyable stay. the surrounding neighborhood has gone through the seedy to respectable transition in a relaxed and open manner.

Overall a find property, convenient and friendly.

Room Tip: It's away from freeways so there is no particular orientation preferred. From geography, the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BZT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are excited about the completion of our beautiful renovation, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I can't believe this is actually a Marriott. At booking, we requested a pet free room. When we checked in and confirmed that our room was a pet free room, the hotel clerk said that she had no way of knowing--they never keep track. She did tell us that the rooms were recently remodeled so we should be okay. The room was nice. However the ceilings must be made of cardboard. We heard the people above us (talking, music, sliding things across the floor) until 4:00 am. We did contact the front desk about 11:30 pm. I am not sure whether or not they attempted to fix the problem but it didn't seem like it. When we went to the free breakfast, it was less than adequate quality. What should have been hot--was cold and if it was supposed to be cold, it was warm. Also, the chairs were so beat up, worn, and paint scaped off--again simply surprising that this would be seen at a Marriott. We ended up leaving and went to the Hilton Garden Inn for breakfast. The Residence Inn was in the middle of a remodel. Perhaps things are better now. A Marriott Courtyard is right across the parking lot. That might be better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. In the last month not only have we made great progress on our extensive renovation, but we have also gone through a management change. I believe during your stay our breakfast was being served and prepared in a temporary location while renovations on our dining area were completed. We are pleased to say that the new dining area is complete and beautiful! We have hired a lot of great new employees that we are working to get trained. I am confident that your next visit to the Residence Inn SLC - City Center will deliver the expectations we both expect from the Marriott brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just did two nite business junkit in what was obviously a recently remodeled 1 bedroom suite, close to 500sf in my estimation. I usually stay way north (Ogden) or south (Sandy) of SLC, but this time wanted to sample the downtown "City Center" especially since I was holed-up in town alone with an extra night.

If you're looking for a romantic boutique experience, or resort-like pampering, there are obviously better options, e.g., Kimpton Monaco. And of course, if you're chasing brand loyalty or points, Hilton, Sheraton, and Best Western all have properties in the immediate vicinity. Otherwise I found my stay better than the modest nightly tarriff, albeit there are a few warts as the hotel is still going through renovations.

The PLUSES: great location, very close to freeway access, and to park your car free and huff about town. Great Steakhouses, Japanese, Italian, Pubs and Comfort Food abound just a few blocks away.....and YES, this IS City Center so expect an occasional panhandler or vagrant to come across your path-- no worse than any major downtown IMHO. Family kitchen accoutrements with full size cook top, dishwasher, and reefer, plus microwave and coffee maker too. Two brand new flatscreens with good reception and channel selection. Excellent bedding, contemporary furniture with chaise and sofa bed in the living area, and ample-sized workstation with plenty outlets everywhere. WiFi was good, albeit a $4.95 daily charge is a bit tacky.

The DEMERITS: room renovations could have made more efficient use of the space-- the shower and toilet are on top of each other despite having ample room to spread them or even install a shower. The single vanity is in the sleeping space, which actually works better for couples, but could have easily been a double with relocating the closet to another corner of the room, which was left stark and without furniture. Same quip about the living area.....huge, stark area could've been better utilized and was left without furniture-- or since this is an extended stay property, an in-room washer/dryer would fit nicely. And yes the HVAC fan coil in the room is very noisey, especially given it is a new piece of equipment. Fortunately temps were moderate enough I did not use it that much. Lastly, free breakfast was unremarkable.....but there is a Denny's around the corner as a better option.

Otherwise the front staff was helpful, albeit quirky at times....and you can find just about anything you need within a short stroll with post office, hair salon, and liquor store very close. I would stay here again for business travel-- it is solid value for its price point.

TIP1: Dinner at VALTER'S OSTERIA just about a block down Broadway is a MUST for foodies.....EXCELLENT service, EXPANSIVE wine list, and DELICIOUS food. MILLE GRAZIE, Valter, for one of the best meals I had since Sicily!

TIP2: EBORN BOOKS on South Main is the a throwback GEM consignment outlet.....has a coffee shop in it too. Absolutely another must for all bibliophiles of any era.

TIP3: RUTH'S CRIS (next to Hilton) has a great bar menu with some real tasty choices....their mixologists are cranking out great libations too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from ongoing construction, especially if you are a late sleeper, or plan to hang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed here for almost 3 months for a project. During the winter time, the snow looks so beautiful. I was able to get a 1 bedroom with a fireplace which came in handy during the winter. The people here are really nice. The tabernacle lights are really spectacular. Breakfast is served in the morning with light snack in the evening during the week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrdabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here in mid-March 2014.

GOOD:
1. Free wifi
2. Great location - close to eateries
3. Free breakfast from 6a in main building
(Make your own waffles, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, potato pancake, eggs, Canadian bacon)
4. Free parking, park in correct space (saves us money)
5. We had a 2bdrm 2 ba place, with a living room w/pull out couch, kitchen and laundry room, it was huge!
6. No bellman. (Saves us money)

NOT SO GOOD:
1. No bellman. (It was freezing. We lugged our suitcases thru the outdoor parking lot. I'd rather shell out $5-10 in this case)
2. Bldg 2 is not connected to main bldg. (we went during March, when it was 10 degrees to get from bldg. 2 to breakfast area)
3. Hot water is picky, if someone flushes during your shower, you'll get burned
4. Housekeeping knocking at 8:15. Put your "do not disturb" sign up
5.PARKING is in the lot or in underground garage under Bldg 1 (which isn't connected to Bldg 2)...DO NOT PARK IN PALADIO APARTMENTS underground lot! Their lot is unmarked and is directly under Bldg 2. They are not friendly and will tow your car.

Room Tip: Do NOT park under the Paladio apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808Momx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#29 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#46 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downt...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#32 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 285 W Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1808 (Formerly Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#26 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing