We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in spite of renovation work.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Golden Valley, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in spite of renovation work.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. The renovations didn't really affect us. We had a one bedroom suite, which was nice because my husband likes to get up early and start working on things, and he could go in the other room and close the door. The included breakfasts and bbq dinner on Thursday were very helpful to our food budget! And very nice as well. PF Chang and Macaroni Grill are nearby. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and the internet worked great for us - and included in the rate! We arrived on New Year's Day, so the lobby was still festively decorated, which was fun.

Room Tip: I think I would get a room in the main building, which is what we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Barbara V -

I am thrilled that our hotel met, and hopefully exceeded, your needs. Thank you for sharing. I also enjoy our holiday decor, and miss it when it comes down.

Please some and see us when you're in Salt Lake City again!

All the Best -
Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    124
    46
    30
    13
See reviews for
109
68
21
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had an excellent experience the whole way round! The girl that checked me in was informative, helpful, and friendly :) I've stayed at this hotel over the last 8yrs and again had the chance to again enjoy my room in the second building. Though there are renovations going on, it impacted my stay minimally. I had a remodeled/renovated room so everything was fresh and new. The bed was better than the one at home, the room was quiet, the TVs were large and the desk in my bedroom was put to good use. I had no problems whatsoever. Staff was excellent as per usual. Breakfast delicious and with many choices. I can't wait until all the work has been completed on their hotel! I will come back again and again...as long as they have me ;)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Reasonably good place to stay. The included Breakfast was much better than I expected!! The room was clean - I was traveling with a teenager, so I booked a 2 room suite for $229 and it was well worth it. Nice to have the space. It is about a mile walk to the Temple Square or City Creek Mall which is really nice and worth a visit. Good local restaurants - PF Chang is up the block. Toasters - lunch place - is a couple blocks away. Benihana is a half mile, Blue Iguana (mexican) is a half mile away. We walked everywhere, but you can get a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've been a fan of Residence for a long time. However this stay was a huge disappointment. I arrived sick and exhausted. There was no dish soap. The refrigerator was broken, the safe didn't work, the dishwasher sounded like a jackhammer, and worst of all there was no hot water, so I got to take an ice water shower, which didn't help my illness any. I checked out as soon as possible.

On the positive side, the staff was generally friendly, the hotel offered a discount for my very unpleasant experience, and apparently they are renovating or plan to renovate the hotel soon. However, until renovations are complete, I'd avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HouseCat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn over the Christmas holiday during a trip to Salt Lake City for a skiing trip. We were placed in a room in a secondary building that was being remodeled. There was dust, noise, and weird smells associated with the remodeling project. The first morning we woke up to find that our room had very little hot water, insufficient for even a single short shower. We called the front desk and they sent somebody to the room to investigate. The man checked the water heater and said that it was old and there wasn't anything he could do to fix it without replacing it. They moved us to a second room, which thankfully had hot water. The internet speed was pathetic. I ran an internet speed test several times and the fastest speed encountered was only 270 kbps. The cleanliness of the common areas is very poor not only because of the remodeling but in general. The parking lot was poorly cleared of snow and ice and there was a lot of litter and garbage in the 'courtyard'.

I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Demand a room in the main building, perhaps it would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Good Afternoon Heartmountain -

Thank you for taking time to share your experience and concerns. While we strive to offer the exceptional products and services that you have come to expect at Marriott, we fell short of that goal during your stay. I am sincerely sorry for that.

We constantly monitor water heater performance, and work to stay ahead of them. When a water heater does stop working correctly, we hurry to repair or replace. I recognize the inconvenience that the water heater failure caused you. I also appreciate your feedback regarding cleanliness, and have reviewed your comments in our staff meeting.

We have made great progress on the renovation since December. I would love to welcome you back to the hotel as renovation wraps-up.

Hoping for a second chance.

- Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I will go straight to what went wrong:
1) The building 2 where we slept was in the middle of remodeling and refreshing work with a lot of construction tools everywhere, I had to watch my kids to avoid accident. Plus it was dusty and noisy.
2) The breakfast room is clearly undersized for the crowd of December plus most of the food was not available after 9 oclock or you have to queue 20 minutes to get a waffle...
3) Gym was moved to another room because of the work of remodeling, but no one reconnected the treadmills so it was out of order.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 282arianeh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great location, great staff, in process of being remodeled so be forewarned.. My room in building #2 was just completed and was spotless..Im OCD so when I say it was spotless it was..My only complaint was the management could have done a better job of making sure the construction crews after finishing for the day cleaned up better than they did. The halls and elevators were not cleaned every day, and they should have been.. Mgr there was a huge help in getting me in the perfect room as I was there for an extended period of time. The rooms are very spacious. I have stayed there 3 times total. I would highly recommend..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#43 of 75 in Salt Lake City
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#31 of 75 in Salt Lake City
763 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downt...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtown
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtow...
#29 of 75 in Salt Lake City
115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 285 W Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1808 (Formerly Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#26 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing