We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here one night in a two bedroom suite on our way to Jackson Hole, Wy. Everyone was so very nice, rooms were very clean and the breakfast was good. It is downtown and a close walk to shops, restaurants and pubs. We were on the second floor and had a balcony we could sit and chat on in the evening as it was much too hot (103) in the daytime.

Room Tip: Choose the second or third floors as there is a park across the street that looked to have a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breebarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    119
    44
    25
    13
See reviews for
106
61
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great 2 night stay with 4 kids! Swimming pool a little cold...and a bit of a walk to Temple Square. However, the facilities and breakfast are outstanding! We will stay here again! It is in the downtown area, across from a park. So there are homeless people in the park and around the side streets. But did not affect us at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamacitadedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Maybe because we did not have great expectations for a one-night stay on our way to Yellowstone, but the hotel has positively surprised us! A clean, big, comfortable room seemed freshly painted, 2 TVs and free wifi. Big parking outside and 5 mins drive from the city centre. There's even a pool for kids - and adults - to chill out.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BoboRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
174 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

‘WEBPAGE NOT AVAILABLE’

The Residence Inn on Broadway (there's also the Residence Inn Cottonwood) has a lot of things going for it: free breakfasts, your choice of three newspapers in the morning, free swimming pool,free tennis court, free fitness center, large, clean rooms, nice selection of cable channels, lots of parking. No connectivity problems at night. We paid $159 for a suite on the weekend; rates went up to $189 on weekdays, after which we moved to the Hilton Garden Inn, same part of town, and nice at $119 for a double.
The Residence Inn has good kitchen facilities in the rooms, including fridge, sink and microwave. The reception sells ready to eat food.
Reception has free maps of downtown and is very well informed about local destinations and how to get to them. They were unfailingly helpful.
No smoking except in a designated gazebo. Hurray for non-smoker’s rights.
Against this must be placed the irregular connectivity – fast when available, frustrating when not. I mentioned this to the reception and was told, “We’ve had issues with the Internet.”

Room Tip: Rooms in the same building with the reception are most convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, NV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were in Salt Lake City for the Glenn Beck Man-in-the-Moon event and stayed at this Residence Inn. Most people think that this Hotel is for long-term stays but we have found it a great place to go if you are going to be in town for a couple of days or longer. The rooms were very clean and quiet and all the hotel staff were very polite and helpful. They serve one of the better breakfasts of any hotels we stay at and on several evenings in the middle of the week Residence Inns have a great light dinner included. We are Marriott silver members so we stay in a lot of hotels during the year.

There are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and we ate a a very nice Italian one just a block and a half east of here. Too bad i can't remember the name but it is on the corner and the north side of the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRducker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

2 Moving The Chi were traveling south from Alpine, WY to Salt Lake City. Our car was in need of service and the dealer was located downtown. After arriving, we started looking around downtown for a place to stay for a couple of nights.

Most of the downtown properties were sold out on Tuesday night due to a convention in town. However, we found a Marriott’s Residence Inn downtown with availability for two nights so we accepted the $179 rate and checked-in.

One of the criterion for checking in was (and always is) a good internet connection. We were told that they did not have any complaints and the clerk (very accommodating and friendly) even picked a room near their main wifi point. It is our experience that many properties tout having “high speed” internet but when it comes down to it, their wifi signal is weak and the bandwidth is low, making for very poor internet experience. This is the case with Marriott’ Residence Inn in downtown Salt Lake City.

Now you would think the Marriott would be a bit more particular about this. We were connected to an internet technical service (several times) only to find that their poor “slow speed” internet service was as good as it gets.

On the positive side, the two room suite was everything you would expect from Marriott’s Residence Inn. Clean, full kitchen, living area, separate bedroom, spacious bath area, comfortable bed, etc. A nice property to use for a downtown visit. However, in our case, we needed “high speed” internet and because it was not “high speed”, we decided to check out a day early.

After a bit of searching, we found a Baymont Inn by the airport that was clean, comfortable, quiet, had a great internet connection, in-room refrigerator and microwave, and a lower rate of $69.

The Residence Inn is very comfortable, good guest service and provides all the comforts of a home away from home. All the comforts that is, except for their wifi internet.

2MovingTheChi have been traveling the U.S. since April and will be traveling internationally, later this year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2MTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Property is adequate in every way. Nothing bad but nothing exceptional. Everything was clean, staff was friendly, location is on the fringe of downtown, and breakfast good. I'd say the hotel is probably ready for a re-fresh in terms of the facility itself. Good not great!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#25 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake Ci...
#32 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Address: 285 W Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1808 (Formerly Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#26 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing