We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged for condition of the room and very rude check-in clerk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Ranked #39 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were initially charged full price for a room with a non-functioning AC unit and an unusable balcony (under repairs). I complained and asked for a rate reduction. When asked for a restaurant recommendation, the clerk rolled her eyes and said "Ewwww, I have no idea" and gave us no assistance. She was an unfriendly brat. We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly and we wanted a two-bedroom suite. Across the street from the hotel are a collection of run-down apartments that look like the slums. I WOULD NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CUParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel has all the typical Residence Inn style amenities - breakfast, manager's special in the afternoons, kitchens in the suites, etc. I definitely prefer this Residence Inn over the one at the airport.

The room was comfortable and spacious, no complaints there. Internet was slow, but that's par for the course.

The breakfast and manager's specials were fantastic! The nice hot breakfast starts at 6am, which is great because I usually need to be on the road by 6:30. (By the way, it's not too inconvenient to get to I-80.) The manager's specials were always very generous. One night they had wine along with cheese and a great spread of other appetizers and desserts. I was very impressed.

The downtown restaurant district is just a few blocks away, and there are tons of dining options within walking distance. There's also plenty of parking at the hotel, and you'll get a hangtag for your car. Parking in downtown SLC is not always abundant, so it's great to be able to park your car at the hotel and walk to dinner.

For $100/night, I think this is a great value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efemmeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed at this Residence Inn with my two kids. It was wonderful and plan on staying here again.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The suite contained a small dining table, full kitchen which included a stove with oven (not just a cook top), full fridge with ice maker, coffee maker, toaster and all utensils. Just off the kitchen was a small closet that housed a stackable washer/dryer (free - NOT coin operated). This is great when you have kids.

The living room had a desk, pull out couch and side chair. My daughter stated that the pull out wasn't terribly comfortable - so she opted to leave in and just slept on the couch. Per her, it was far more comfy than the pull out. There is aTV but no DVD or games attached to it. I used the wireless internet almost constantly and did not encounter any connection issues.

The bedroom had a queen bed. The dresser in the room was at the foot of the bed and things got "squishy" when the drawers were open. There is a small closet in the hallway and we opted to load that up instead of the drawers. The bedroom also contained another closet as well.

Overall, the room was very nice and clean. I also have to say that housekeeping was very nice and did a wonderful job!

The breakfast buffet in the morning was excellent. Make your own waffles as well as french toast, sausage, eggs, oatmeal, muffins, toast, etc. I will say I was very impressed with the staff. None of the buffet items ran low and they cleaned tables the moment people left - so one could find a clean, empty table easily. They were doing an excellent job!

Note that the Residence Inn consists of two main buildings. There is the main building with the reception desk and the "annex". The annex is a separate bulding by the sport court that is not connected to the main building. I was a little concerned about being in the annex with two kids - but no worries. The annex is only accessible with a valid room key and we encountered no issues.

The parking is free but note that an apartment building does share one of the "far" lots so be careful not to park there. They do have a pool and a spa but note that it is outdoor.

You are within safe walking distance to several wonderful restaurants. The general area is very pedestrian friendly and safe. I will say that I spent only the daytime hours walking around with my kids - we didn't venture out much after dark.

I will note that not all the rooms are the same. We had friends that stayed there and they didn't have a full kitchen. I'm assuming this is the studio option. I would recommend calling the hotel directly to ensure that you get the room type you want. The reservations desk is very nice and will go out of their way to assist you.

If you love Italian food, walk down to the corner (S 200 W), cross the street and you'll find Buca di Beppo. Just down from there you'll also find Settebello Pizzeria (has a gelato place as well).

If those don't grab you PF Changs is across the street from those options. There are several dining options in the area. Wander around and enjoy! I will say that there isn't a large grocery store within walking distance of the hotel (like a Safeway, Albertsons). There are smaller markets and bakeries close by - if you need something specific, better bring it with you.

Room Tip: Call and ask for reservations. They were great!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

The room provided was not much bigger than a walk in closet. It did not have a full kitchen as advertised and the kitchen utensils were not in a drawer, they were kept in the bottom of the sink. The sink is another story, it was half the size of a bar sink, a full size plate would not fit in it. When I asked if my room could be changed, they said no, they were nearly fully booked, so, I checked out and moved to another motel. This is how they treat Silver Elite members, just wonder how they treat people who are not repeat customers to the Marriott chain. Although the Residence Inn is supposed to cater to business customers, this room did not have an office chair or desk.

Room Tip: Stay at the airport Radisson.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank molnartc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This hotel is the perfect place to stay in Salt Lake City. It has a great location within walking distance of two breweries, a movie theater, restaurants, Temple square, etc.

We always love staying at Residence Inns because of their great daily breakfast and evening reception 3 nights a week.

The room (a two bedroom suite) was nice and clean. It even came with a washer and dryer setup in the suite!

I cant say enough great things about this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrickmc265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

I just stayed on the 8th of April for 1-night for a quick road trip from Boise. The staff were very nice and very helpful with supplying details of the surrounding area. The location was very convenient. Salt Lake is very easy to get around and this hotel is right in the middle of shopping districts, concert hours and restaurants. The rooms are a little old and the bathroom tub stopped up but the room is kept very clean. When I checked out I was asked how the room was and I told the employee about the tub and she immediately took out a maintenance slip to write down the issue so the next guest didn't have to deal with it. Very professional and prompt. The Continental Breakfast was good. No complaints really. We enjoyed our stay and the location!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoozeQ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

As expected from a Marriott property, this was top notch. Clean rooms, helpful staff. A very nice experience...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johndfffff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#44 of 75 in Salt Lake City
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City - Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#33 of 75 in Salt Lake City
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Salt Lake City/Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtown
Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtow...
#30 of 75 in Salt Lake City
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 285 W Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1808 (Formerly Residence Inn Salt Lake City - City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#26 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $108 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing