We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
BOISE
2 reviews
“ATV Vacation”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place for an extended stay, more than needed for a single night. On our way to Southern Utah to enjoy the scenery and play on their tremendous ATV trail system. Took advantage of a Wyndham promotion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
What a fun reason to travel! I am also very excited to hear that you took advantage of the Wyndham Rewards points promotion, it's a great way to earn additional points while you are on the road. Thank you so much for staying with us, and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    236
    119
    42
    21
See reviews for
203
144
89
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here less than a week ago and have really been wanting to tell people about the desk manager. I am a young woman in my late 20s and was in town visiting friends. We had just gotten done with dinner, so I was made up. The woman who checked me in looked me up and down with judgemental eyes and decided the best place to put me would be in the room literally ACROSS from the office. I honestly began to wonder if she thought I was a hooker! On a Tuesday night in a decent sized hotel, it seemed very odd to put me in that room, unless she was trying to keep an eye on me. As if that were not awkward enough, my girl friend traveling with me went to ask her if the hotel had a vending machine (for sodas/waters) and the lady went on to drill my friend about how there was no vending machine but drinks were available for purchase in the rec room, and they work on the HONOR SYSTEM. She told her twice about the HONOR SYSTEM in one 30 second conversation, which seemed to convey she thought we came to steal from them. Good price and decent rooms (with good pillows, no less), but they may or may not treat you like trash!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are so sorry about your experience you had while stayign with us! Please know that we did not mean to offend... Our market, which includes our laundry, food, and drink facilities, is all on the honor system at this time and we pride ourselves in offering this to our guests. We in no way meant to make you feel uncomfortable, and I sincerely apologize that we came across in that manner. We would love to make this right with you- please feel free to contact me before your next trip to Salt Lake and I would be happy to personally assist you with any needs you may have. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very nice property. Room was new, and I have no idea what the reviewer is talking about when describing a crowded room. We had three rooms, all professionals, and there was far more than enough room. Bathroom was new and clean and truly comfortable. Never found a single flaw. They didn't have a breakfast room downstairs, so they had a fun "grab and go" breakfast at the front desk that worked very well, especially for my picky colleagues. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidPlate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! While we love every person visiting the Salt Lake area, our hotel is a corporate-centric property that is pleased to house business people and leisure travelers alike. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will be renovating at the beginning on 2013 and will feature a full buffet hot breakfast, flast screen TV's, and an updated decor package. Come see us again, we are confident you will have a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERLIN
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was a very nice and clean place to stay. Not far from the interstate,restaurants and stores.
The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank PETRA Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
What a kind review! Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly want every person who stays with us to take advantage of our hospitable staff and excellent location. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOAB
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

this was our second stay here we had some car problems, the staff was very helpful and considerate with all we were dealing with. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank JENNIFERO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you had a great stay and that we were able to help you with your car issue. Please feel free to visit us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WALTON BEACH
Level Contributor
196 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is not a new property, but an acquired one. Nice size room with adjoining full kitchen. Very nice dark wood furniture, comfy bed, great desk and chair, but the layout is a bit crowded due to the recliner. No night stand or reading light on one side of bed and bed too close to wall. Beautiful bedding, but the three pillows were TERRIBLE (one a wadded up ball, one a bunch of lumps, and one had a crackly covering). Bath and closet doors would not stay open without help. All cabinets need updating, but think that is coming. Three story building with elevator. DVD/VCR player and library for same in lobby. Internet worked well. The 'American Continental Breakfast' advertised on the website is actually a 'Grab and Go' deal. You grab a muffin or granola bar and coffee, and go - no seating area until they renovate. Nice quiet area. Property is SE of the airport and is a bit over a 15- minute drive with no traffic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank windgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. While we are pleased to offer a clean, quite experience at our hotel, we are excited about our upcoming renovation and all of the wonderful changes it will entail- cabinets being refaced, a lobby being created, which will allow us to serve our famous Hawthorn hot buffet breakfast. Thank you for your insight into our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA VERKIN
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just FYI, maintenance needs to be done on room 109. Water leaks from the garbage disposal. The fridge is really tilted, like the floor is giving way. The shower faucet was difficult to turn off, loose and drips. More juice available for the breakfast would've been nice. Other than that, it was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank TERESA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for giving us a heads up on the maintenance issues with your room. Our Engineer has been into the room and has fixed every issue you mentioned in your review. We love having guests like you who can help us take better care of our hotel- you are truly our eyes and ears! Thank you so much for your business, and please call us again the next time you are traveling through Salt Lake City. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
9.5 mi away
Little America Hotel
Little America Hotel
#11 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,775 reviews
9.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
906 reviews
10.3 mi away
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
Salt Lake Plaza Hotel
#17 of 75 in Salt Lake City
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
13.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Salt ...
#24 of 75 in Salt Lake City
755 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Address: 6990 South Park Centre Drive, Salt Lake City, UT 84121-6649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#28 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#31 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites Salt Lake City Fort Union Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free WI-FI. Enjoy the brand new 32" flat screen HD TVs. Work off some stress in our Fitness Center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our complimentary laundry facility. We are also a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The Hawthorn Suites Salt Lake City Fort Union Hotel is centrally located in the Fort Union area bordering Midvale, Murray and Sandy, just off of I-215. We are only 12 miles from Downtown Salt Lake City and 20 minutes from the Salt Lake City International Airport. The Cottonwood Corporate Center and the Union Park Center are just minutes from our hotel. The University of Utah, St. Marks Hospital and IHC are also close by. Within walking distance you will find grocery shopping to stock your kitchen, not to mention several restaurants to choose from. We are the perfect choice whether you are here for business, to ski, or just to relax on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Fort Union Hotel Salt Lake City
Candlewood Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Candlewood Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing