We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Although we had booked only for one night, it is actually a long stay hotel. We got a studio suite with a full kitchen incl. utensils, plates, microwave, sink, fullsize fridge, kitchen towels. The room is a bit square which made it very cosy. The bathroom towels were nice and from heavy quality although some were a bit torn. Large table and comfy chairs. There was one comfy armchair. The bed was very comfy. Free wifi. Free breakfast included but it is a grab&go: packed muffin, cereal bar and juice. The lady at the desk who checked us in was nice although she could have smiled a bit more.

SuperTarget, Barnes&Noble, Sketchers Factory Outlet, Old Navy, Denny's, WorldMarket and quite some other stores and restaurants are at walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review, Shirley, we truly appreciate your feedback. Our location relative to shopping and ski resorts is one of the best features of our hotel. Having cooking facilites in each room also helps to make the hotel feel more like home. Please contact us the next time you travel through Salt Lake City and we would love to help you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (739)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 739 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union is on eof the best hotel I have stayes. Especially, staffs were very kind.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Jaekyung J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our staff appreciated your comments... we posted them in our breakroom for everyone to read. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a great place to stay. We have many family in Salt Lake, but in the future we will use this as our principle place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Vern J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thanks for your input, Vern! We LOVE having return guests, and we look forward to seeing you in SLC again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Hawthorn Suites is a new hotel in Southern Salt Lake City. It is about 20 minutes from the airport and an equal distance from downtown. The location is not the most convenient. Get directions before you go because the street doesn't show up on many GPS yet. My hotel room was a studio with a small kitchen. The A/C unit was REALLY loud so I turned it off at night. The hotel didn't have its free breakfast yet, although that is apparently coming in the future. The remote on my television did not turn on the TV and once I got it on the television channels did not include the national networks (ABC/NBC/CBS/FOX), which was strange. The hotel was reasonably priced and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank DarinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your review! Since we changed brands and management, some navigation systems show our location being slightly off of where we truly are. Please feel free to call our hotel and our amazing staff would be happy to direct you to us. We apologize that the local channles were not working during your stay, this issue has been resolved and all channels are available for viewing. Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I went to Salt Lake for one night to catch a soccer game at Rio Tinto stadium. Since this location was close, I could use surface streets instead of the interstate to avoid most of the traffic! Love the kitchenette, too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Brandelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Being so close to Rio Tinto and being able to catch the RSL games is one of the popular reasons for staying at our hotel. The full kitchenette also helps to enjoy your time in Salt Lake, that way, you can enjoy your favoriate home cooked meal while staying with us. Thanks so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Thought this was going to be a new hotel rather than an older one being renovated..
Was surprised that a king bed was not offered when reserving a room.
A bathroom exhaust fan for the steam would be nice. Bathroom towels were nice.
Some of the walls had been painted and some not.
Ice maker did not work - no ice machine on facility. Kitchen dishes, cookware, cooktop, etc. were new. It was nice that fridge was turned on before our arrival.
TV reception was terrible on most stations - that was very surprising. It was later in the evening when we turned it on so did not report it.
Grab and go breakfast had only muffins at 8:15 - no juice, milk, granola bars,etc.
Only one recliner chair for 2 guests for watching TV, relaxing. Used office style chair but not too comfy.
An additional end table on other side of bed would have been nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank ClintonPatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for the suggestions! Yours is the kind of review that can truly be benefitial to our hotel, and we are discussing the layouts of the rooms to add additional seating for people who would prefer it. We would value any other feedback you have, so feel free to reach out to us at the hotel if you would like to share any other suggestions. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was adequate, it was priced right and the location was important and this was great for location. There was nothing wrong with the accomedations, however it did not leave an impression to the extent that I would necessaily stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank JonathanN951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenWilkes, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for your review. We want every guest who enters our hotel to not only be satisfied with their stay, but to have been given an impression that we truly want them in our property and make them want to come back. We are pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable, but apologize that we didnt create the memorable moment with you. We would love to have you back so we can fix that- please call us the next time you are in SLC and we will make sure that Hawthorn is your hotel of choice. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Lake City
2.5 mi away
The Park Inn by Radisson Salt Lake City – Midvale
13.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Salt ...
#27 of 76 in Salt Lake City
846 reviews
13.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake City Airport
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#33 of 76 in Salt Lake City
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
11.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#22 of 76 in Salt Lake City
277 reviews
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City Airport
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#42 of 76 in Salt Lake City
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union

Address: 6990 South Park Centre Drive, Salt Lake City, UT 84121-6649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#27 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#31 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $83 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites Salt Lake City Fort Union Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free WI-FI. Enjoy the brand new 32" flat screen HD TVs. Work off some stress in our Fitness Center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our complimentary laundry facility. We are also a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The Hawthorn Suites Salt Lake City Fort Union Hotel is centrally located in the Fort Union area bordering Midvale, Murray and Sandy, just off of I-215. We are only 12 miles from Downtown Salt Lake City and 20 minutes from the Salt Lake City International Airport. The Cottonwood Corporate Center and the Union Park Center are just minutes from our hotel. The University of Utah, St. Marks Hospital and IHC are also close by. Within walking distance you will find grocery shopping to stock your kitchen, not to mention several restaurants to choose from. We are the perfect choice whether you are here for business, to ski, or just to relax on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Fort Union Hotel Salt Lake City
Candlewood Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Candlewood Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing