We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice option though far from downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Murray
Ranked #37 of 77 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you don't want to pay the downtown prices, this is a good option. Clean, good food, and nice rooms, as expected at Hampton Inn. The neighborhood wasn't the fanciest, but it is close to the interstate and easy enough to get to most places from here. The staff was friendly and we were given a large room near the backdoor. Breakfast was as typical here, which is good. I would stay here again if I was in SLC and didn't want to be near downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmm6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 313 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

The staff is wonderful. The hotel has obviously under gone renovation, but I was really disappointed that the room had this old hotel smell. You know the one where legions of cleaning staff has sprayed air freshener to cover up things. It's such a shame because the furnishings had obviously been new. Of course this is the lower end of the Hilton properties so it's not up to par with other properties. Also frustrating that some of the TV channels didn't work. Luckily I was only a one night stay, so it was tolerable. Breakfast is obviously striving to be good. The staff are wonderful which makes up for much! I didn't find the bed and pillows particularly comfortable, but I was tired so I slept well. On the up side, the location is good and surprisingly very quiet. No restaurants terribly close and what is close is chain city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n4matishun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I love this hotel. We have been staying here for 2 years. It is very easy to access right off the freeway. The rooms are nice and the beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfast is delicious. There is usually not too many people at the pool so more times then not we have had it to ourselves.. great room.. great price!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Convenient location to Salt Lake City and surrounding area...easy freeway access. Very clean, staff friendly and accomodated. I have stayed here many time for business and recreation in surrounding mountains. Always been satisfied with accomodations and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were attending the Outdoor Retailer Show and hotels are limited during this event. We decided to rent a car and drive into town. The Hampton was an easy drive to the Salt Palace. The room included a desk and couch so it was easy to work when I got back to the room. The wifi was fast (which is unusual in a hotel). The rooms were clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast was nice and staff kept it clean and stocked with items. All staff was very nice and helpful.

Only complaint was that the air conditioning didn't seem to provide a consistent temperature so I would wake up hot every couple hours.

We had an in-room phone call from someone claiming to be from the office asking us to provide our credit information again because the computers had gone down and lost our info (we did not provide it again). When I mentioned it to the front desk, they turned off our phone so we would not be bothered again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We found this hotel online and choose it because of it's proximity to where we needed to go. We were greatly pleased by the beauty and cleanliness of it's rooms and facilities, as well as, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Also the cost was extremely reasonable, particularly considering what we got. The next time we visit Salt Lake City, we will definitely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The rooms were very clean, guiet, comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a meal in itself. WiFi worked great and pool was wonderful after a full day on the road with great-grandma. Overall, we will definitely stay here again on our monthly trips through Salt Lake.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salt Lake City
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City-Murray, UT
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Central
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City Centr...
#17 of 77 in Salt Lake City
361 reviews
0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake City South
Fairfield Inn & Suites Salt Lake...
#30 of 77 in Salt Lake City
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salt Lake City South-Murray
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#23 of 77 in Salt Lake City
746 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ramada Salt Lake City
Ramada Salt Lake City
#54 of 77 in Salt Lake City
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Murray

Address: 606 W 4500 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84123-2586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#33 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range: $100 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Murray 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the historical and natural adventures of Salt Lake City, but from a haven of small-town serenity in the nearby suburb of Murray. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City/Murray is located just fifteen minutes from the heart of the city in the center of the beautiful Salt Lake Valley.Step outside the hotel and onto a picturesque jogging trail that follows the Jordan River through the valley, only steps from our Salt Lake City hotel. For more intense thrills, take a short drive to a nearby ski resort for world-class skiing and snowboarding on the famous Utah powder snow...Or take a day trip to experience breathtaking scenery at Zion National Park, Capitol Reef National Park or Bryce Canyon National Park. Head into the downtown area to see the Historic Temple Square featuring the Salt Lake Temple, the Salt Lake Tabernacle (home of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir) and Brigham Young Historic Park. Our hotel in Salt Lake City also puts you within reach of the State Capitol, as well as many sites of the 2002 Winter Olympics. Get more tips on all this area has to offer from the team at our hotel in Salt Lake City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Murray Utah
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing