We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless you want photos of sun rising over lake”
Review of Great Salt Lake

Great Salt Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Great Salt Lake Sunset Tour
Ranked #19 of 151 things to do in Salt Lake City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 20,000 square mile lake, the second saltiest in the world, is also a wildlife refuge attracting millions of migratory birds every year to the ten islands within it.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Avoid unless you want photos of sun rising over lake”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were taken at 6 AM to the marina by the lake by our tour bus guide. It was not too smelly but there were millions of mosquitoes on the small beach. The rising sun over the water looked beautiful. Otherwise there was nothing to see. There were 4 buses that came by when we were there and all came in just to snap photos.

Avoid it during the daytime

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank greenvillehybrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    188
    135
    53
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“antelope island”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Nice way to see the lake, it's $10 to get onto the island, unfortunately we only saw single buffalo milling about, the scenery was good and my daughter got to swim in the lake, there is a smell when going over the causeway to the island but this disappeared when on the island, the only thing that was not plesant where the flies at the lake edge, there where hundreds of them, once in the water they where not a problem but for those of us waiting at the waters edge it was disgusting. Apart from the flies this was a good trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mutleydoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Not a fan of giving negative reviews, but my visit to the Lake was subpar, at best. Perhaps we should have researched and hit up Antelope Island, but driving around the lake, there wasn't much to see. Where we did get out to explore, I have to echo some of the other reviews here: the smell was horrible. The entire lake area stunk terribly, and additionally, the shoreline was literally covered in piles of tiny dead flies. If you approached, half of the pile would spring to life and take flight in some sort of bizarre black undulating cloud, presumably destined to die in a few days and join the snow-drift piles of their fallen comrades. The highlight of the trip was seeing a mangy fox picking its way along the shoreline. Wouldn't recommend other than to say "been there".

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Day on Antelope Island”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The place to experience the Great Salt Lake is at Antelope Island State Park. We saw magnificent herds of buffalo. We also saw trophy sized deer, elk, and antelope. Our children loved the ranch where they were encouraged to (very gently) handle the artifacts. My parents walk with difficulty, but a kind staff member gave them a ride in a golf cart. We tried swimming in the water late in our day. The lake was calm and one could see a reflection of the mountains on the surface of the water There is a bathhouse with a shower and private changing booths. The water has receded a long way from bath house facility. We had water shoes that helped us traverse the long stretch of sand to the current shore. We saw far fewer flies than other's have reported on this site and no dead sea gulls. The flies are only interested in the beach that is within a foot of the water. they do not bite and clear out quickly as one approaches. The water was warm and we experienced the buoyancy of the brine. We also saw amazingly large flocks of birds. The mud flats near the entrance have an unpleasant odor, but not the entire lake. We met a couple that showed us the photos they had taken while at the summit of the island. The photos were spectacular. On my next visit, I plan to take a good camera and a tripod to the summit to capture my own images of the valley.

We expected to spend a couple of hours, but spent the entire day and loved every minute.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Treeman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good side trip, but don't go out of your way”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Antelope Island is a great place to view the Great Salt Lake. Don't go in June though as the biting flies will send you running for the car. They get in your hair and feel like you are being pinched. The buffalo are pretty neat as they just roam about within view of the roads. There are elk on the island, but I did not see any. It is one of those places that you go visit to say you visited, like a bucket list destination.

Here is a good video showing the island and what you will see there:
http://www.touring.com/video/antelope-island-state-park/66.html

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ca-distant-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Salt Lake also viewed

 
Salt Lake City, UT
 

Been to Great Salt Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing