We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous resource”

Family History Library
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Largest collection of genealogical information in the world.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A fabulous resource”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

You don't need to be a committed genealogist to get a lot out of visiting this free facility. Even a general interest visit to research your own family background will most likely offer quick results. Better to do a bit of Google research first, obviously, but the library has huge on-site resources (two floors for British Isles alone) and allows you to search/research through a raft of normally subscription or academic-restricted web sites. Very helpful volunteers (termed 'missionaries', but they won't do the hard sell) will point you in the right direction then leave you to it. Watch out, though - a half day, a whole day, or even several days will quite easily disappear once you get hooked on this!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HKG2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    117
    34
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
340 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Just about perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful facilities, friendly people (I am not Mormon and so far, after 3 days no one has hassled me). Vast info system, clean well maintained restrooms, helpful people everywhere, only one person has been less than friendly (copies from film woman) and you can work there all day. I found it a tad hot, some say cold, so you guess. Clientele is mostly seniors. Break room is all vending and no caffeine. Restroom has couches ante room for a good quiet rest. Closest restaurant is JB's (see review). Note to consumer GET PAGE NUMBERS for microfilm stuff or spend the entire day and vertigo spinning the reels. I am disabled and got around just fine. Open 8-5 on Sat and Monday, closed all day Sunday, 8am-9pm Tu-Fri. BE PREPARED TO BE PANHANDLED outside, we get hit every day. But we also get hit every day several times at our hotel...must be Salt Lake's hidden problem.
Overall A rated.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“always excited to be there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

So many new updates. always thinking of us researchers....thanks. Love the new scan options on the 3rd floor for hard to copy stuff like HUGE maps. More digital records to access at home is fabulous.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank prescottmtngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I never realized how amazing this place is. If you are at all interested in geneology, I would encourage anyone to drop in. I am not Mormon, but they Elders who volunteer could not have been anymore helpful and kind. Thank you!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellsorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The volunteers are very eager to help anyone with their questions. They were willing to spend as much time as I needed with my family search and found information I had never known. The volunteer with me also provided me with a great deal of information on how to proceed at home. They will also take a free photo of visitors in front of "Ellis Island" and send it to your email.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank leisuretraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family History Library also viewed

 

Been to Family History Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing