We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time Well Spent”

Family History Library
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Largest collection of genealogical information in the world.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Time Well Spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you have any interest in your genealogy, and are curious how to get started, or are stuck, avail yourself of this friendly, helpful, ministry of the LDS Church. They do a wonderful job of personalized assistance, and no, you are not expected to be a member of the church. The library gives testimony to the church's value of family history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    117
    34
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Family history Library in Temple Square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very helpful volunteers to assist you in researching your ancesters. My spouse and I each had a seperate volunteer to assist in researching our ancesters. We each came home with useful information that we could not access elsewhere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank paha40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Been trying to come for years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wish I had more time to be there. Enjoyed my self so much. I found family information I have been looking for forever. My husband found his father, grandfather and grandmother. It was very exciting. This is something he has been trying to find for 50 years!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rdwlcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous - wanted more time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful quantity and quality of resources. Staff was extremely available, friendly, and helpful. Open many hours each days, except Sunday. I want to return.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank avignon_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This was a fun place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I went to the family history library right before it closed one weeknight, and even if a few minutes, I learned a ton about my family history. I don't know why Mormoms like to record family histories, but I am glad they do!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family History Library also viewed

 

Been to Family History Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing