We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hesitant, but impressed”

Family History Library
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Largest collection of genealogical information in the world.
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“hesitant, but impressed”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I am concerned about Mormons posthumously baptising people without consent. Obviously they cannot consent, they are dead. However I respect the work and the efforts the church is putting into documenting geneological records.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    122
    35
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ephraim, Utah
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I loved everything about it!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Wonderful missionaries! was always helped when i was trying to figure everything out!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Halie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pocatello
Level Contributor
282 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“wonderful experiences”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

i know this may seem a little unusual to say to visit. but it is wonderful to be able to trace your ancestry and see where one comes from. so i recommend to take a few minutes and visit it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spend some time here!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Spent a few hours here learning about my ancestors. Although I had information already, this place added to the background of my relatives. The people were very friendly and helpful and showed us how to get started in a matter of minutes. They also took a free picture with a nice background.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beatlefan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood Heights
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is an amazing resource for anyone interested in genealogy or exploring their family history. It's a spacious comfortable building, equipped with fast computers with several software programs for finding birth records, death records, marriage info, census records, etc. It's staffed with knowledgable volunteers who will work with visitors on a one-on-one basis. It's all free!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucys_Grandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family History Library also viewed

 

Been to Family History Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing