We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, knowledgeable, and so patient”

Family History Library
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.00*
and up
Salt Lake City Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Largest collection of genealogical information in the world.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Friendly, knowledgeable, and so patient”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The people working here are wonderful! I was finally able to go back more than three generations to find who came over from Ireland. A must see in Salt Lake.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamAdamsGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    131
    35
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lots to look through even for experienced researcher!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is a great resource from LDS. I have researched my family for a solid 10+ years and still found myself learning things. If you are new to the art of family research sit through the video before you jump into the research. If you are experienced you might want to bypass the initial computer room (ancestry.com access if you don't subscribe). I wanted to find film/documents on my family and so came with a list of films/files they had on their website. It takes about 10 minutes to find, locate, load, and begin your search but it is worth it. All copies are 5 cents but there is no cash, you purchase cards (lowest amount is $2) and then use those to get printouts/ copies of marriage and vital records, etc. There are different floors for each area of research which can be daunting but every single person I came into contact with over 3 days of research was friendly and helpful. You will save yourself time if you know what you want copies of but if you are just starting out it is worth the time and conversations with the library volunteers to get some help! Will be back again next summer!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tcoolhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, UT
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peerless Facility, Easy Access”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

For something that is right downtown in Salt Lake City, the Family History Library is very accessible and has a great ambience. Even better is the constant care taken to assure patrons of the library are able to get the help they need when looking for records on their families. We truly enjoyed our visit and hope to have another soon.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank dixiebrit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favoriate spots”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Very impressive, i have had many visits to this place and have always beem happy with the results. Very helpful folks there also.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank C Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place to do family history research!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is Genealogy Central for the whole world--I found vital records that exist in only two places: a little town in Switzerland and the Salt Lake City FHL. The staff of mostly senior citizens were very helpful, and once you get oriented there is a wealth of information here.

I had already done a lot of family history research, so I came with a specific list of things I was looking for. If you're going to visit the FHL and have your agenda, you can save time by going to FamilySearch.org and searching the FHL library and microfilm catalog online BEFORE getting there. Next time I come, I'll have already identified the books and microfilms they have there, and will be able to start digging up my dead relatives more quickly!

I overheard several people who were just starting their family history research, and they received very good direction from the staff, old and young.

The environment is like most libraries, quiet, with a lot of computers and microfilm readers. I was concerned that the staff would be actively evangelizing visitors about the Mormon faith, but I visited several times and not once did anyone do so.

They have copy cards to purchase so you can make copies of the items you find (birth records, census pages, etc.) but if you bring a flash drive, you can save microfilm images electronically for free. Again, the staff was helpful in learning how to do this.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peterw389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family History Library also viewed

 

Been to Family History Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing