We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost but not quite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We love staying at B&B's for the charm, hospitality and unique surroundings. We found both charm and beautiful scenery surrounding Colette's, but it lacked a bit in hospitality. We found the hosts to be somewhat disappointing. The breakfasts were really great as far as cuisine, but it was hard not to be able to eat at your leisure and to have breakfast take so long (over an hour). In addition, when we go on vacation we like privacy. We were given the option as to whether we would like our room "fluffed" up (clean towels, bed made, etc) and we declined. If you are going to give guests the option of whether or not to enter their room while they are paying to stay at your place, you should respect their wishes. We left for a bit and upon our return found that our room had been entered anyway. No bed made or clean towels, as not to be obvious, but the trash emptied and our already hanging to dry towels folded--which bothered me because that meant someone else touched the towel I'd intended to use again. We found it a bit annoying and invasive. If the room "fluffing" had been mandatory we wouldn't have felt as violated. A comment was made at breakfast by one of the hosts (when a couple of us guests declined room fluffling) about making sure our towels weren't hung on anything wood. If you're worried about guests hanging their towels properly, then make that another rule(there are several rules already listed inside the room), don't invade their privacy and treat them like children.
We would not stay at this B&B again solely for the hosts and not because of location, decor or cuisine.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveGetways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 370 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2009

Anyone who loves the Olympic Peninsula, as I do, needs to try Colette’s Bed and Breakfast, un-believable views of the San Juan Islands and the surrounding waters. All of the rooms are very private, comfortable and have wonderful views. I would recommend spending some time just hang out in the Garden watching the Eagles and looking for Whales.

Our day started with Cindy’s (the Inn Keeper) fabulous breakfast some good stories from Chip (the Inn Keeper’s Husband), and some interesting chit chat with the other travelers. After breakfast (9:30am) we did short trips to the lavender fields in Sequim, Hurricane Ridge, and Lake Crescent, had early dinner to make sure we were back at the B&B (by 4:00pm) with a nice bottle of wine ready to enjoy the beauty of this place. My point is don’t miss breakfast and don’t return to late, this place is very nice you need to enjoy it!

Highly recommended! I will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simi574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

My husband and I wanted to stay somewhere special to celebrate our 20th anniversary. Colette's is on a bluff overlooking the ocean and it has wonderful gardens. There was even an eagle's nest on the property and we so enjoyed watching the parents feed the eaglets. The rooms are well appointed and have great views. The multi-course breakfasts were very creative and delicious. Best of all, the hosts, Cindy and Chip, were so friendly, helpful, and down to earth. They made excellent recommendations regarding restaurants, hikes, and other things to do in the area. It is a truly special place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraTherese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Colette’s was amazing. Peter and Lynda took us in even though they had planned a night out and were not planning to take reservations. When we arrived, Peter greeted us out front. When we walked through the door, we stopped in our tracks. We were in awe from the floor to ceiling windows with views overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca. On top of the views, the décor was elegant, tasteful, and immaculate. We knew immediately we had made the right choice in accommodations. What made it even better is that we had the entire place to ourselves. We were the only guests for the two evenings we were there. That is an advantage of going mid-week during January.

After checking in and getting a few dinner recommendations, we were escorted to the lavender suite. It was equally as impressive as the main house. The room had amazing views along with a fireplace we could observe from both the bathroom and bedroom. We especially enjoyed the sitting area where we could enjoy our morning coffee while soaking in the scenery.

The breakfasts at Colette’s were the best we have EVER had. We told Peter he could give the Inn at Little Washington pointers on breakfast fare. Every single course he served was expertly prepared and full of flavor. The conversation was great too.

Hands down Colette’s is at the top of our best B & B experiences. We hope to visit here many more times in the future. The innkeepers, Peter and Lynda, offer a truly top-notch experience with every detail covered.

Things to do while here:

Peter knows the area well and can give you tons of suggestions. Our favorites were:

Hike Cape Alava, one of Washington’s top 10 hikes. It is gorgeous! If you want to do the whole 9-mile loop, you must plan your visit to coincide with low tide.

After Cape Alava, venture up to the northwestern most tip of the U.S., Neah Bay, and hike the Cape Flattery trail, GORGEOUS!!

Finish the day off with a fantastic dinner at Michael’s. The dress is casual or as fancy as you want to be. Everything we had was excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lfisgd746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

Our first Bed and Breakfast was a wonderful experience with these innkeepers who paid attention to every detail. The rooms were flawless and had every amenity you would want except Internet service or phone service which was almost none but I shouldn't have been working anyway while on vacation.

We loved the area and restaurants in the area recommended by the innkeepers were all fantastic. Truly a wonderful place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2008

My husband and I have stayed in several bed and breakfasts around the country. Collette's was by far the best we have ever stayed in. The Inn keepers were so helpful and the food was amazing. The grounds were extremely well groomed and we could sit in our room and watch the ships go thru the channel.
I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, especially for a romantic getaway.
Loved the 2 person jacuzzi in our room

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mandio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Colette's recently for three nights. Everything was perfect. Large luxurious room with every possible amenity, well appointed bathroom with jazuzzi tub, and unbelievable water views.
Peter and Lynda were the perfect innkeepers, unobtrusive but very warm and friendly, and willing to answer every question we had. They had great recommendations for local restaurants and also were able to provide a number of excellent suggestions for hiking opportunities in the area.
The breakfast was outstanding. It was delicious and filling without being over the top.
The overall feeling was one of privacy and exclusivity. Colette's has definitely raised the bar for B & Bs in our opionion. We can't wait to go back,

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BoulderCO37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
6.0 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,965 reviews
7.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,237 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
0.1 mi away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#3 of 14 in Port Angeles
266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 339 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range: $214 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fodor's - "Top Choice" for the Olympic Peninsula - considered the very best. Frommer's Washington - "Deliciously Romantic...Exceedingly Luxurious". Best Places to Kiss - "Utopian Oceanfront Hideaway". Karen Brown's Guide - "Top Pick" and "Greatest Value Award". Fine Gardeneing Magazine - "Front Cover and Feature Story". Select Registry. AAA Rated - 4 Diamonds. Voted "Top Ten Romantic Inns". Colette's is a breathtaking 10 acre oceanfront estate nestled between the majestic Olympic Range and the picturesque Strait of Juan de Fuca. Each perfect day at Colette's starts with a gourmet multi-course breakfast. A luxurious king suite with magnificent oceanfront views, romantic fireplaces and indulgent Jacuzzi spas for two, rejuvenate guests at the end of the day. The Great Room is highlighted by a 40 foot wall of windows with stunning oceanfront views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca, a handcrafted stone fireplace and exceptional artwork by Pacific Northwest artists. Experience the natural beauty of your surroundings by strolling through our outdoor sanctuary including enchanting gardens, towering cedars and lush evergreen forest. In the evenings, bask in the warmth of our outdoor fireplace as the lights of Victoria, British Columbia shimmer to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colette`s b&b Inn
Colette`s Hotel Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing