We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate her birthday. We've both been lucky enough to stay in amazing places in the past and we found this to be one of our all time favorites. As a bonus it's only 2 hours from home. The rooms and grounds are kept up meticulously. The innkeepers thought of everything to make our stay wonderful. Even though part of our stay was rainy, we enjoyed our room so much that it was a treat to turn on the fireplace and soak in the view from our giant picture window. When the sun came out we walked the paths and enjoyed watching all the birds, including a Bald Eagle, who's nest was in plain sight.
We also truly enjoyed meeting the other guests (from all over the country) during the evening Happy Hour and morning breakfast. This place attracts really interesting people! 
Thank you so much to Clif & Dae for hosting us in such style and making us feel so pampered. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with one of their rooms. Each room had a stunning picture window and we'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kzaei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    11
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
258
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent my birthday at Colette’s and it was perfect!

First of all, it’s in an incredible location on a huge private property with unobstructed views of the water. Quiet, private, beautiful, and romantic.

Second, our room was incredible – very clean, beautiful décor, huge bathroom with a giant Jacuzzi tub. The view of the gardens and the Strait of Juan de Fuca from the room are dramatic. Lots of really nice touches like a private patio, huge view windows, and a fireplace.

We stayed in the Iris Suite, which is connected to the main house and loved having direct access to the great room, outdoor fireplace and the coffee bar. Super comfortable bed and pillows – better than any bed I’ve slept in at any hotel or inn, ever. I spent twenty years as a corporate pilot, so I’ve slept in many hotel beds over the years, this was the best!

Third, really friendly innkeepers. They went out of their way to help my girlfriend surprise me with prosecco and cake for my b-day celebration. They create such a warm and inviting atmosphere you never want to leave!

Fourth, decadent breakfast experience! One of the joys of my life is eating out for breakfast and these guys make it an extra special treat. Plus, it’s served in the dining room, which also has a ridiculously amazing view of the water.

I rarely write reviews on anything, but this was such a special experience that I had to do it. I wish I could give Colette’s more than five stars.

Room Tip: The Iris Suite is connected directly to the main house, so if you stay in this room not only do you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Level Contributor
203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have stayed in some very nice hotels and Inns, so when I say Colette's was the best stay of our lives, it is not said lightly. I don't think if I wracked my brain I could come up with a single
observation of Colette's that wouldn't be glowing. The layout and location are magnificent ! How
wonderful that this place is designed with the comfort of the guest foremost in mind. Most bed and
breakfasts to me are like staying in someone's house, and I am never completely comfortable in most B&Bs. Colette's on the other hand gives you your own little cottage set out amongst the award winning gardens which were spectacular even in October with colorful blooms and exotic
vegetation everywhere ! As a guest, you experience a transformation best described as euphoria
as you approach Colette's for the first time and realize you have chosen your lodging wisely. You
are greeted immediately by Dae and Todd, the innkeepers, who made us feel welcomed and valued, taking the time to give us a tour and lots of helpful insights and instructions which made our stay so carefree. They even take you into your suite and show you everything which was very
Thoughtful. We stayed in the Cedar Suite which is fabulous and has one of the best views of the
Straight of Juan de Fuca across the water to Vancouver Island, and of course also views of the
Jaw dropping gardens everywhere. All the suites have floor to ceiling views of the water in the
Living and bath areas. The bathroom is a Garden of Eden, with the most impressive 2 person Jacuzzi set up on a platform so you can literally see everything from the picture window. If you are
older or have mobility issues, it is a bit tough getting in and out of the tub to open and close the blinds on the picture window, but this is not a big deal. The whole bathroom is luxurious with so many thoughtful touches like a whole pump bottle of the famous Purple Haze Lavendar Lotion and
Also the body spritzer which also served as a great room freshener too. There is a hand mirror and
many extra thoughtful items thoughtfully placed throughout both rooms, like binoculars and bird
watching guides thoughtfully placed by the big picture window where you sit on a big leather sofa
before a great fireplace with a big screen TV placed above for total relaxation and fun. There is a
quiet refrigerator with water bottles thoughtfully placed for you. The shower is a bit small, like
showering in a phone booth, but that's because the giant Jacuzzi fills much of the space. This too was not a big problem considering all the perfection around you. We loved the wine and appetizer
party every day from 5-6 PM as it was quite festive with excellent wines and good convivial company. All the guest seemed genuinely interested in one another and anxious to offer helpful
advice regarding sightseeing during the National Park shutdown. Seriously, we weren't even
disappointed that we couldn't see Olympic National Park because we had Colette's to enjoy which
was our heavenly sanctuary and what a vacation should be like. The breakfasts were wonderful,
imaginative and they very thoughtfully accommodated my friend who doesn't like eggs without
causing any hub-bub, which was very kind and professional of them, Thank You Dae and Todd,
for being so accessible and charming and always making everyone feel welcome. They showed us
2 Bald Eagles that live in the tree above our suite and have a big nest. There are so many great books and travel guides in the great room you could really just spend your whole time right there.
The innkeepers interact with the guests in a very friendly and casual way, that put everyone at ease and made us look forward to our times with the other guests. This is a beautiful and happy
place and my only regret is that we only stayed 2 nights. Four would have been perfect. There is
good parking, extra gourmet snacks and 24 hour beverages available and a slew of perks and
pleasantries too numerous to name here. Just go, you will love it, I promise. There is no place even remotely close to the level of relaxation and nature and luxury as Colette's, and the prices are really reasonable for all that you get, in fact the value for the price is crazy good. Thanks again,
Colette's, we miss you !

Room Tip: Cedar Suite, Spruce Suite, any room is Devine !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEAJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

A romantic hideaway on a bluff overlooking Vancouver Island, the straits and the San Juan's wrapped in beautiful gardens is a perfect B and B. The main house and 5 suites are tastefully furnished and immaculately maintained. We loved everything about Colette's.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I enjoyed staying at Collette's for a night recently. This B&B is delightful. The gorgeous garden frames wonderful ocean views of Juan de Fuca Strait. Everything about Collette's made us feel welcome. Cliff and Dar helped us with dinner reservations in Port Angeles and served a delicious breakfast the next day. We stayed in the beautiful Iris room and found the bed very comfortable. I have problems with my back and bring my own pillow when I travel. I didn't use it at Collette's because the combination of mattress and down pillow was just right for me. The mattress had firm support for my back, while having just the right amount of luxurious softness on top. We both had a wonderful night's sleep and a very relaxing stay! All in all, Collette's is a treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vict0riaS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful three night stay at Colette's in September. We stayed in the Iris Room which was beautifully decorated, fabulous views, large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub (great after hiking), a very comfortable bed, and a seating area facing out to the gardens and water (binoculars provided). Clif& Dae were great hosts. The provided us delicious breakfasts, wonderful wine and snacks at happy hour, and great suggestions for dining, hiking etc... While we were there a photographer from Fine Gardening magazine came to photograph the gardens (which are incredible). Colette's was on the cover of the May/June issue 2011. The great room has a big fireplace, library, big comfortable leather chairs, and big windows to enjoy the view with a glass of wine or coffee. Colette's also provides assorted snacks and drinks that are available all day. This is the best place to stay if visiting Olympic National Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Iris room. This was the only room attached to the great room, and the only room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is quite an unusual bed and breakfast setting, with upscale construction and bedrooms with large windows from which to view the wonderful gardens behind the inn—there is an expansive lawn, surrounding trees and flowering beds, ocean surf just beyond the fence, and seats scattered about from which to enjoy the whole. Equally beautiful are the front gardens, beautifully laid out with artistic restraint, yet filled with an amazing variety of flowering plants that appear at every turn. The whole is expertly maintained by the garden’s original designer, who now tends it three days each week.

Breakfasts were prepared by managing innkeepers Clif and Dae, with excellent accommodation of dietary preferences, and generally consisted of juice, a fruit dish, and a hot entrée. Fruit dishes included pears with a white cheese, fresh perfect berries or sweet cherries with sauce, cantaloupe with Thai sauce, peaches wrapped in a crepe, or an apple-date compote with shag bark hickory syrup. Entrées included cheese soufflé with apple-chicken sausage, scones, scalloped potatoes, egg rolls with Hollandaise sauce, omelets with smoked salmon and sweet peppers, cinnamon rolls, poached egg with bacon and toasted nutbread, corn cakes with small new potatoes and a sauce, or a custard-style quiche containing apple-chicken sausage and fennel and topped with thyme.

Snacks were available during the day, and the evening wine and hors d’oeuvres was a nice way to relax before heading out to the evening meal. Several guests enjoyed their wine in the garden, warmed by an outdoor gas fireplace that could be fired up on cool evenings.

The one negative we encountered was that the bed in our room (Iris) was too high, with a mattress that was humped up in the middle and very soft. It was actually difficult to climb onto the bed or move about on it, even for a tall and able-bodied person. Body impressions in the mattress testified to the fact that two sleepers are constrained to two specific places on the mattress. The mattress (or bed) needs to be replaced. The innkeepers are aware of this—before booking Iris, ask about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasonedtraveler067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
6.0 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
7.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lost Mountain Lodge
Lost Mountain Lodge
#1 of 10 in Sequim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.8 mi away
Greenhouse Inn by the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 339 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362-8493
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fodor's - "Top Choice" for the Olympic Peninsula - considered the very best. Frommer's Washington - "Deliciously Romantic...Exceedingly Luxurious". Best Places to Kiss - "Utopian Oceanfront Hideaway". Karen Brown's Guide - "Top Pick" and "Greatest Value Award". Fine Gardeneing Magazine - "Front Cover and Feature Story". Select Registry. AAA Rated - 4 Diamonds. Voted "Top Ten Romantic Inns". Colette's is a breathtaking 10 acre oceanfront estate nestled between the majestic Olympic Range and the picturesque Strait of Juan de Fuca. Each perfect day at Colette's starts with a gourmet multi-course breakfast. A luxurious king suite with magnificent oceanfront views, romantic fireplaces and indulgent Jacuzzi spas for two, rejuvenate guests at the end of the day. The Great Room is highlighted by a 40 foot wall of windows with stunning oceanfront views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca, a handcrafted stone fireplace and exceptional artwork by Pacific Northwest artists. Experience the natural beauty of your surroundings by strolling through our outdoor sanctuary including enchanting gardens, towering cedars and lush evergreen forest. In the evenings, bask in the warmth of our outdoor fireplace as the lights of Victoria, British Columbia shimmer to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colette`s b&b Inn
Colette`s Hotel Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing