We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity itself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Serenity itself”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

(note: I rarely give a 5 STAR, so getting 4 STARs is VERY good).

Wife wanted to go out on the Peninsula and check out some dog breeders. Wanted to stay at a B&B. She eventually settled for Sea Cliff Gardens, a place that looked "OK" on the web.

Since we left home very early, and I had a conference call I needed to participate in, we decided to see if we could just get access to a place to sit down for a little while, and a (needed) WiFi connection. To our surprise, we were nicely welcomed and allowed into our room, even though it was not even 11 AM (normal check-in is after 3 PM).

The hosts are wonderful (and have three small, well behaved terriers), have interesting stories, the comfort of this place is great, and the view from our room, as well as the garden bluff out over the Strait is next to perfect.
All the small details are there (comp drinks/coffee, (electric) candles, flash lights, toiletry stuff (in case you forgot something), a large DVD library of QUALITY movies, and maybe most important; you are welcomed as "at home", but w/o having the hosts following your every step. If you want to reach out to them, they are always there. If you want privacy, you have it to 110%.
Breakfast is shared in the nice dining room. Healthier than large, but with great home baked/cooked stuff. No complaints.

We never saw any in "this" yard, but there is plenty of very friendly deers around. No pets allowed (sad) but another couple who visited just left their two dogs in the car over night. No issues (although I might have slept in the car if that were my dogs :-)...

We were lucky and had a weekend with truly amazing weather, but I think this place can be very cool to spend some time in when the storms come rushing into the Strait of Juan de Fuca.

Room Tip: We had the Ludwig room on the upper floor (comfy, great views, fire place, TV/stereo, and a large ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellcraft19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaCliffGardens, Owner at Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! I know you'll fall in love with the border terrier that you've reserved the moment you see your sweet puppy for the first time.

For travelers who have never visited Sea Cliff Gardens, I thought I would pop in and say that our three furry kids are never allowed in the B&B. We are really conscientious about guest pet allergies and fears. Ginger & Sugar (the Spice Girls) would be the official greeters if they had their way, but they live comfortably in our owners' quarters, which adjoin the B&B. However, if you need your doggie-fix while on vacation, we have an area for that. Our third Jack Russell is 17 and probably won't get out of bed long enough to visit with you, but the girls will turbo-wag their little tails and then plop onto their backs for a belly rub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
388
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We at Sea Cliff Gardens B&B this past weekend and it exceeded all expectations re its setting, accommodations, decor and ambiance. Add to this it's truly gracious and welcoming owners and their astounding attention to detail and customer service; frankly, one would be hard pressed to find a more serene and welcoming B&B in Washington or elsewhere. We will most assuredly recommend Sea Cliff to any and who who might ask.

Room Tip: We viewed all of the inn's five guest rooms and were impressed with the size, decor and amenitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We spent one night here during our tour of the Olympic Peninsula, on the last day of Sequim’s Lavender Festival. This property was off the beaten path, located near a bluff overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca. What an amazing find! This was an absolutely beautiful property, both inside and out. We stayed in Ludwig's Chamber and felt like royalty. We actually used the mahogany steps to climb into our giant elevated bed at the end of the day. Check out the well-designed official website for photos of all of the beautiful suites. The gardens were gorgeous, leading to a breathtaking view of the water. Bonnie and Phillip were most gracious hosts from the moment we arrived. Phillip helped us with dinner reservations during a very busy tourist weekend. The next day, Bonnie kindly packed a delicious “breakfast to go” that we enjoyed later that morning while sitting at a picnic table beside Lake Crescent. I highly recommend this beautiful lodging to others. Be sure to allow enough time to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and the hospitality of Bonnie and Phillip. Our visit was much too short!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVtravelbug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I first met Flip (Phil) when they lived in Hawaii - INCREDIBLE host. Every once in a while you have the opportunity to have moments that make memories. Flip and his wife Bonnie will definitely have you walking away with one of those truly life-long memories.

My wife and I have stayed at some of the most romantic and memorable places from coast to coast - from romantic bed and breakfast inns to historic and lodging icons... we would encourage anyone to fly, drive or boat to get this this inn!

A lot of inns are simply nice lodgings - Flip and Bonnie make it more than a great place to stay but a memory that will separate this memory from others! It's a little drive from the SeaTac airport but the drive is beautiful and once you're there.... a-a-a-h-h... so incredibly beautiful. Someone earlier said it was "far and away the best holiday accommodation we have ever had".... I simply can't disagree. Long way from Atlanta, Georgia - but worth the trip. I'm surprised one can ever get a reservation!!!! Nice secret.... for now!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and simply beautiful - unlike some places where it can be a hit or miss or wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaeRays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The moment we pulled up to the beautiful gardens and lovely victorian style home, my girls and I were in awe. Bonnie was working on the grounds and extended an immediate warm greeting as her husband, Phil, showed us in. As we stepped into our room, Napoleon's Retreat, we could hardly believe our eyes. The room was elegant and the view was breathtaking! Appointed with mahogany regal furniture, a beautiful fireplace and large window with an ocean view, we sat back on the couch with our goodies from the guest beverage and snack wardrobe right outside our room.

After we rested in our room, we took a walk on the grounds and admired her gardens in backyard that led to the cliff overlooking the ocean. We sat back on the benches and soaked up the serenity. It was something out of a dream! We then ventured into town, listened to live music at a local coffee house and headed back for a wonderful night's sleep. The bedding was so comfortable that you felt like you were encased in a cloud.

As if this were not enough, Bonnie and Phil served an exquisite breakfast the next morning at the lovely dining table with a perfect view of the gardens and ocean. I could have spent my entire vacation right there at Sea Cliff Gardens without a second thought of going elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingRobin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We absolutley loved this Inn. It was very clean and the views were incredible! Bonnie and her husband were warm and gracious. And Bonnie is an amazing chef. The breakfasts we were served every morning were delicious and plentiful. The bed we slept on (Lugwig's Room) was the most comfortable we've ever slept on. The gardens were also very pretty. But you know what they say, location, location, location....We enjoyed the sunsets on the water, the eagles soaring in the sky and the majic of being so close to the water: the sound, the fog, the mystique. It was abolutety one of the best B & B experiences we've ever had. Thanks so much to Bonnie & Phil for making our 3 night stay so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The husband and I have traveled fairly extensively, and stayed in various very good hotels and B&Bs. Sea Cliff Gardens is far and away the best holiday accommodation we have ever had. Our room, the Marie Antoinette, was impeccably furnished and luxuriously comfortable. It looked out onto Bonnie's immaculately maintained garden (which was still flowering in October) and the blue, blue St Juan Strait. Other reviewers have commented that the hosts have thought of everything, and we second that. Two rocking chairs were placed before our window, along with pair of binoculars, for us to better enjoy the view. There was a side table in the dining room with an array of teas, hot chocolates and coffees for us to help ourselves to at any time of the day or night. There was a microwave with packets of microwave popcorn so that we could make our own popcorn to go along with a movie we might choose from their DVD library. There was a list of restaurants we might wish to dine at along with traveling times and restaurant menus so that we could make an informed choice. There was a laptop along with printer, for our use.There was even a guest cupboard on the landing with a first aid kit, extra towels, torches, and other amenities if we should ever find a need for them.

Above all that, the house and its surroundings were just beautiful. It was so serene and peaceful that we would gladly have stayed there a week just to soak in the atmosphere. This is the dream B&B - if you are planning a trip to the area, you really shouldn't miss out on a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamszee0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
8.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,122 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#3 of 14 in Port Angeles
255 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
355 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lost Mountain Lodge
Lost Mountain Lodge
#1 of 10 in Sequim
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Address: 397 Monterra Dr, Port Angeles, WA 98362-9574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic ocean views, award-winning gardens, fine European antiques, immaculate rooms, and friendly hospitality. Create a memorable getaway on the ruggedly beautiful coast of Washington State. Sea Cliff Gardens is a waterfront country estate located minutes from Olympic National Park, the Sequim Lavender Festival, and ferries to Victoria BC. Perched on a high cliff between Sequim and Port Angeles, the inn is ten minutes from restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sea Cliff Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing