We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but well appointed.”
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olympic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Crab Fest in Port Angeles. The hotel is a little further from town than expected which wasn't overly convenient as we had walked over from Victoria however the taxi ride is about $6 -$15 depending in the time of day. If you choose to walk its 2 miles and about 35 minutes. Its not a very scenic walk. The hotel has a beautiful lobby and the staff are very gracious and friendly. There is breakfast served but we did not have a chance to try it. A small bar or restaurant onsite would be beneficial as otherwise you need to go back into town as there is really only fast food or a dive of a diner nearby. I would recommend this hotelbl but beprepared to eat/drink offsite.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joker79London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlye F, Front Office Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I’m glad that you were able to be in town during our annual Crab Fest located downtown Port Angeles. It’s always nice to hear that our staff was gracious and friendly towards our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us during your time in town. We hope that the next time you’re in our area that you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

First, if you haven't ever driven out onto the Olympic Peninsula in NW Washington State, do it! - particularly in the early Fall as the leaves are changing and whole drive along the west side of the Puget Sound is bursting with color!
Once you arrive at the Olympic Lodge in Port Angeles (or "PA" as the locals call it), the building somewhat resembles an actual lodge, but mixed with your typical 3-story chain hotel. But, there is nothing typical about this hotel. The front desk staff were welcoming and very helpful! They gave us info about local restaurants (including Gordy's Pizza - that delivers to the hotel!!), and gave us a free pass to park in their Parking Lot at the Black Ball Ferry Terminal while we were in Victoria for the weekend. The King Room was King-sized and amazingly clean and well appointed - including an enormous 36"-40" flat screen TV, Loveseat, Armchair w/ottoman, work desk and a comfy King bed. The bathroom was very clean - looks like it was remodeled no more than a year ago - and stocked with plenty of toiletries and towels.
The 1st floor restaurant serves a great breakfast starting at 6:00am (plenty of time before the 8:20am ferry) and has menu items using fresh ingredients (some organics) and a decent enough variety of menu items to meet most guests' needs. While not complimentary, the food was made to order, good sized portions, helpful, friendly staff and a cozy ambiance that made our $22 bill well worth the price.
Overall, the Olympic Lodge was a terrific find in a fairly out-of-the way location. We hope to return someday to spend more time exploring this scenic part of NW Washington.

Room Tip: The back side rooms face a golf course, and in the Fall or Winter, there would be few golfers making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_McCanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlye F, Front Office Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I’m so glad that you were able to enjoy our local restaurants and complimentary parking for your trip over to Victoria. We are very lucky to be located in such a beautiful part of the country and love when our guests fall in love with our town. Thank you for staying with us and I hope that you’re able to find the time to explore the beautiful Olympic Peninsula again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

the biggest plus for this hotel is the free offer of parking. We stayed here on our way to Victoria BC. The hotel looked great on the webpage but the rooms were only OK-not a very comfortable sleep and flat, ill fitting sheets on the bed just creep me out. The place on the other hand has a lovely lobby, free breakfast (although we didn't partake) and friendly staff.

The single best thing about the hotel (that is a good 2 or 3 miles from the ferry terminal) is that they have a prime parking lot right next to the ferry boarding area. We were given a parking pass, woke up in the morning and drove to Safeway for a Starbucks coffee, down to the parking lot and parked our car. This allowed us to walk on the ferry to Victoria and save the car fees on the ferry, parking fees in Victoria and more importantly swiftly go through customs both to and from canada. I do not think there is anyplace better to stay and the parking more than makes up for any uncomfortable bed/bedding.

Room Tip: get there early-you can get a room away from the stairs/elevator and a decent place to park in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlye F, Front Office Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

I’m glad that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary parking down at the ferry terminal. It’s amenities like our ferry terminal parking lot that make traveling for our guests as carefree as possible. I hope that the next time you’re in Port Angeles you choose to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We only stayed for one night and found this hotel to be one of the best! When we arrived to check in you could smell a fireplace burning and found that it was coming from inside the lobby - what a nice touch! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and our room was immaculate! You can tell they put a lot of time, thought, and money into making this a special place to stay. We would quickly recommend it to others, especially couples!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnes0ta_Rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlye F, Front Office Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed our fireplace during your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you found your room in immaculate shape and that our staff was friendly and helpful for you during your stay with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Olympic Peninsula!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Considering it's like the ONLY good place to stay in Port Angeles it was an okay place to be. Definitely overpriced, lacks hospitality and there was ants multiple places in our room. Also, I don't understand why in a place like port Angeles, you have a pool outside! No one can ever use it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Batesvacation2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlye F, Front Office Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

I’m sorry that our previous conversations didn’t settle the issues that we had during your stay. Ants are not an issue at our hotel. The problem was encountered due to the condition in which you left your room. In fact, we had to place the room out of service to deep clean upon your departure. We are very sorry to hear that you did not appreciate our lovely heated pool and spa enjoyed by our guests year-round. In fact, we are the only heated pool that is open year-round on the Peninsula!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

When we arrived at the Lodge we were chagrined to find out our reservation had not gone through and we ended up for one night at the much pricier and not so good Red Lion down on the waterfront. Happily we ended up at the Lodge the following night and found it a very nice hotel indeed and very affordable. The rooms are comfortable and attractive – what you would expect in a higher priced motel. It has a nice courtyard pool with a hot tub and a large lobby overlooking a pretty golf course. Likewise the fitness center was well equipped for a hotel in this price range. It is obvious the management is hands-on and attentive to customers. The staff was very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlye F, Front Office Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for being so understanding about your reservation mix-up. I’m glad that you found your stay with us to be a pleasant experience! We take a lot of pride in our hotel grounds and are the only hotel in Port Angeles that keeps their outdoor heated pool open year-round. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for staying with us! We hope that the next time you’re in the area that you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

All the pictures and descriptions indicate a lodge at the foot of the mountains so I was disappointed when it emerged that this was really more an upclass motel between other stores, restaurants etc.. just off the 101 just none of the pictures show this - you would need to see a streetview from the 101 to understand. The on-site restaurant was breakfast only so I needed to head back out to find somewhere for dinner.
Inside the lodge itself is nice, staff were friendly and rooms were well maintained and very clean.
My main disappointment was that I had paid an above average price for a 'lodge' experience which I didn't get and felt misled.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlye F, Front Office Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your most recent stay with us. As advertised, we are conveniently located two miles from the heart of downtown Port Angeles. We apologize for any confusion as to the location of our hotel. Most guests take advantage of the convenience of just being a short drive from the downtown area, while still being located just 5 minutes from the national park entrance. At our hotel we strive to transport guests from all over the world to a rustic, elegant lodge experience, with features like our natural wood burning fireplace, and picturesque water features.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,237 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
865 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 16 in Port Angeles
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Address: 140 Del Guzzi Dr, Port Angeles, WA 98362-4964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: $147 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Port Angeles’ Premier Hotel, the Olympic Lodge! Located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, the Olympic Lodge offers the finest accommodations in a location that’s difficult to beat. Backed by the Olympic Mountains with the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the foreground, a variety of adventures are all close at hand. ▪ Choose from our 105 spacious rooms ▪ We have meeting space for any occasion: business meetings, retreats, receptions, family gatherings ▪ Relax by our heated pool and hot tub, open year round ▪ Play golf at the course adjacent to the hotel ▪ Join us for a scrumptious breakfast ▪ Enjoy the personalized service and hospitality offered by our experienced staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Port Angeles
Best Western Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing