We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved This Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olympic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We Loved This Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2008

Wonderful accommodations. Beautiful room and grounds overlooking a golf course with mountain in background. Breakfast was $5.00 but well worth the price. A little pricey for us, but they have discounts on room prices as do most motels. We definitely recommend in all aspects.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — parking lot but not really bad
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaGator086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    531
    105
    16
    15
See reviews for
427
701
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hometown
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2008

Overall, we enjoyed the Olympic Lodge. We would recommend it for families. We wished we had read the reviews here more carefully, though, as a room in the rear of the hotel with the golf course view would have been absolutely lovely. Be sure to request those rooms - you won't regret it! That being said, for the sake of rating, there are a few things I will mention.

Pros:
-Walking into the Olympic Lodge we were immediately impressed with the beauty of the grounds and the spacious, comfortable common areas.

-The rooms were spacious, the bathroom was well designed with a separate vanity area outside the main bath, and the beds were comfortable (except the bedspread as noted below).

Cons:
-We did have to wait 15-20 minutes upon arrival to check in and you could feel the tension and exhaustion of the front desk clerk. The hostess at the buffet was also grumpy. In my opinion, the staff's job is to make your experience comfortable and pleasant. That is hard to accomplish when they convey that kind of negative energy.

-We didn't care for the bedspreads (that shiny, polyester stuff).

-Also, while many might enjoy the breakfast buffet, for $5 each with a large family, it was no great shakes for us. It was an eggs/bacon at Denny's type experience. We prefer more healthy options and some of us ended up eating very little. The fresh fruit was very thin slices of grapefruit, no yogurt, no good tea options, etc. There were the standard make-you-own-waffles, which the kids enjoy; however, this type of breakfast is typically included in the price which reduces the value of the hotel.

Honestly, overall the hotel was a reasonably nice experience for the price and we will most likely return.

  • Liked — View of the golf course hill behind the hotel seen from rear rooms and lobby, spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — Moody staff, breakfast not included in the price (especially since there were few healthy options).
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunLovin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

We stayed here on an overnight from Seattle while exploring the Olympic penisula. The room was very comfortable. Even though they did not have "mountain" view (really golf course view) the room was very quiet even with highway just 100 yards away.
Hot breakfast is a real deal for $5 including fresh made waffles; the breakfast closes a little early (10:00am) for the weekend travelers. When we called hotel directly on short notice they said they were sold out, but we were able to get a room through travelocity.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleTemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

We recently spent two nights in Port Angeles at this Best Western and were very pleased with our experience. All the reviews on TripAdvisor were right on. The hotel is really quiet, clean, and the $5 breakfast buffet was a steal. We requested a room in the back facing the golf course and it was spectacular.

The second morning we decided to get brunch somewhere else and happened upon Blue Moon Cafe and had some seriously scrumptious eggs benedict. Also, Bella Italia served a fabulous dinner with a great wine selection as well.

Port Angeles is a great base for day trips to the Olympic National Park, Neah Bay, Rialto and Ruby Beach, and all the other gorgeous spots around the area. We highly recommend this Best Western to all our friends and will probably be back!

  • Liked — Great value!
  • Disliked — The front desk service was just ok; they didn't even mention that they had a breakfast buffet and we wouldn't have known about it if we hadn't read it on TripAdvisor.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 1st_time_to_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2008

We spent one night here last month and absolutely loved it. Everything is first class from the reception desk to the quality of our room . (The $5.00 breakfast is worth every cent.) When you book be certain to ask for a room overlooking the golf course (as compared to the parking lot!)
We forgot two items of clothing on our first visit and asked for them to be sent to us. This did not happen but when I phoned to make another reservation I asked about the clothing. The front desk phoned me later in the day to say that they had been found and that we could pick them up when we registered. Talk about service!
This is a great hotel.

Eric

  • Liked — Comfort of room
  • Disliked — Nothing..it was perfect
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank detch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

Stayed at the BW Olympic Lodge recently. The Lodge itself was very nice, with a heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi, weight room, an excellent breakfast for only $5/head, and a decent hotel room with a very comfortable bed.

There's not a heckuva lot to do in Port Angeles, and the whole town seems slightly depressed, which made it all the more surprising that this excellent property was located here.

The only (mild) complaints we had was that the breakfast started to wrap up a full half hour before it was supposed to (i.e. buffet selections wouldn't be replenished, as if arriving near the end of breakfast was a kind of punishment) and on our last day housekeeping tried to get into our room at 8 am! We clearly hadn't checked out, so I wasn't really sure what that was about...

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

The Best Western was simply outstanding! It was very clean, quiet, updated. The breakfast buffet was a plus I did not know about when I booked reservations.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mackey719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
1.9 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
18.9 mi away
Lake Crescent Lodge
Lake Crescent Lodge
#1 of 15 in Olympic National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Property: Olympic Lodge
Address: 140 Del Guzzi Dr, Port Angeles, WA 98362-4964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Port Angeles’ Premier Hotel, the Olympic Lodge! Located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, the Olympic Lodge offers the finest accommodations in a location that’s difficult to beat. Backed by the Olympic Mountains with the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the foreground, a variety of adventures are all close at hand. ▪ Choose from our 105 spacious rooms ▪ We have meeting space for any occasion: business meetings, retreats, receptions, family gatherings ▪ Relax by our heated pool and hot tub, open year round ▪ Play golf at the course adjacent to the hotel ▪ Join us for a scrumptious breakfast ▪ Enjoy the personalized service and hospitality offered by our experienced staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Port Angeles
Best Western Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing