We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed.”
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olympic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very good indeed.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

When initially planning my trip to Port Angeles I was a little surprised by the lack of big-name hotels in the area. Infact accommodation in general is thin on the ground here, so I was pleased to stumble across the Olympic Lodge, which was able to offer me a room that would accommodate the family.

We actually had the suite which wasn't that much of a premium over the standard room. We had a sofa bed in the lounge and a king bed in the main bedroom. They also provided extra bedding so we could make room for all three of the kids and despite being a little sceptical at the outset this worked really well.

Staff were friendly and helpful at every interaction and the room was in immaculate condition.

Breakfast is good and although not cheap, I'd say it offered good value when compared to other places we ate at in the area.

The pool was a pleasant temperature, well maintained and had a nice view of the golf course.

The absence of onsite laundry facilities was a bit of a pain, but we were directed to a "wash & fold" place on the other side of town that did laundry for us at just a shade over $1 per lb as I recall. So for $25, the 5 of us got 5 days of laundry sorted.

Another minor issue (from my European perspective anyway) is that you really have to drive everywhere. There was a diner over the road that no one seemed to rate and a KFC a little further away, but the nearest decent restaurants were about 1 mile away.

Finally the hotel has a wonderful lobby with a large stone fireplace. I'm sure this would make an ideal setting for a bar selling local beers & wines, but other than breakfast there's no F&B offering in the property at all.

I would however highly recommend you stay at the Olympic Lodge if you're ever in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel overlook the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swisstony123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! I love feedback that shows what we're doing right, but I'm glad you also showed us a few areas in which we can improve. I'll pass on the request for a guest laundry facility, but as for food & beverage options -- we've tried several evening offerings in the past, but we haven't quite found the right option that makes sense for our guests while still being sustainable from a business standpoint. Again, thank you very much for the feedback and I hope the rest of your vacation was as enjoyable as your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    583
    119
    18
    16
See reviews for
482
772
41
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I was upset that I couldn't book a hotel room at crescent lake lodge, they are all full booked months ago. I checked Olympic lodge and saw big room with two queen bed and also a pool & spa.i am very happy with everything here. It's lobby is huge and cozy, the pool is heated and the spa is perfect from the day trip.

The location has many restaurants and close to visitor center, also close to hurrican ridge drive and crescent lake.

I am glad I made the right choice to stay in Olympic lodge, will certainly come back again next summer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel here on TripAdvisor! Our number one goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and I'm so glad we accomplished that for you! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
412 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a nice stay. We paid full price and checked in plenty early in the evening but still only managed to get a parking lot view. Not sure how to get a mountain view but the room itself was nice. Just came from an expensive downtown Seattle Hotel but definitely had a better night's sleep here at the Olympic Lodge. Prices were a little steep for CLM if you had breakfast there. Breakfast was very good but the breakfast room was sure set up for a breakfast buffet and it would have been a better overall experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your review! We actually sell our mountain view rooms at different rates than the non-view options, so the only way to get the view is to reserve a room that specifies that view--and the best way to do that is always to call our Front Desk directly. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks again for posting here on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our stay was much too brief, but we were impressed with the size of the room; it was exceptionally clean and the bedding was crisp and nice quality. The beds were very comfortable and despite being on the first floor which has a stone surface, our room was very quiet. The breakfast we had in the lodge was terrific. We moved on to Hurricane Ridge and to the coast later that day so this was a perfect waypoint between Seattle and places further west.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Olympic Lodge! I'm so glad you enjoyed your room, as well as our restaurant for breakfast. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good experience when entering the hotel. Mathew, at reception, could not be more welcoming. How such a young man could be so intuitive is a wonder.

Rooms are fine. Ours faced the back towards the golf course.
The bed is comfortable and the room has all the usual amenities.

The hotel lights a wood burning fireplace, in the lobby, with surrounding leather chairs and sofas.

I think they must be the number one in town. On a Wed. night they are full and most of the others have vacancy signs that were quite visible as we returned from dinner

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RoRoHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. Thanks to guests like you, we are indeed the #1 ranked hotel in Port Angeles here on TripAdvisor, and have held that spot for seven consecutive years! Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and I'm so glad that Matthew and the rest of our staff were able to do that. Thank you, and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Such an adorable hotel! It was very clean. Room 237 was a wonderful room with quiet patio and golf course view. Pool was very warm and clean. Staff was helpful.
When you drive into town, it feels like you are right on the main highway, but once in the hotel, you feel far away. Comfortable lobby area. It's not a resort hotel by any means, but they have the makings of a great place to stay! Parking was easy, loading in and out, etc. The Rite Aid next door has EVERYTHING you could need, too.

Room Tip: Room 237, King Suite (only $30 more than an average room). The patio off of the back of the room wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBell206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your five-star review of our property! I love the pictures you shared--we are very proud of the hard work our groundskeeping crew has done this year in showcasing the beautiful landscape of the hotel! We hope you visit again soon, and we'll make sure room 237 is ready for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Co. CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

After spending 4 nights at 2 other hotels with some what descent beds, we were hoping for something better. We arrived in the late afternoon, checked out the town and headed to the hotel, not to impressed with the looks of the out side. Walked in and thought the lobby was very nice, our room was very large and the bed very comfy. Could not be happier with the lodge, our room and large bathroom. The lodge is was close to Hurricane Ridge and the town. If your going to be needing a place for dinner, I would ask one of the girls at the front desk. We picked a place in town, my salad was fine however my husband had a fish combo plate and woke up during the night very sick which lasted about 1 hour. Needless to say, he had some bad fish.

Room Tip: We didn't see other rooms, but the room we had was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liasOrangeCo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review of our hotel! I'm sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant you tried--unfortunately not every restaurant has the high standards of the places our Front Desk agents recommend. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel, and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,981 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 16 in Port Angeles
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,150 reviews
1.9 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Property: Olympic Lodge
Address: 140 Del Guzzi Dr, Port Angeles, WA 98362-4964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Port Angeles’ Premier Hotel, the Olympic Lodge! Located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, the Olympic Lodge offers the finest accommodations in a location that’s difficult to beat. Backed by the Olympic Mountains with the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the foreground, a variety of adventures are all close at hand. ▪ Choose from our 105 spacious rooms ▪ We have meeting space for any occasion: business meetings, retreats, receptions, family gatherings ▪ Relax by our heated pool and hot tub, open year round ▪ Play golf at the course adjacent to the hotel ▪ Join us for a scrumptious breakfast ▪ Enjoy the personalized service and hospitality offered by our experienced staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Port Angeles
Best Western Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing