We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged”
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olympic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Bremerton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overcharged”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was charged $500 for a window screen that was pushed out. I was never notified by management. They said that they didn't have my telephone number. I know they had my address.Terrible communication. I found out 6 weeks after the fact. When I called the hotel to talk with the front desk and was forwarded to the managers voice mail.

Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CWCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Our policy is not to discuss damage charges with guests, as we've never found it to be a profitable discussion for either party. In this situation, let me explain why you were charged: the window frame in one of your rooms had been damaged where the screen framing was kicked out of the safety screws mounting it to the window frame. The screens and their frames in two of the rooms rented to you were destroyed--the damage charge covered their replacement and the repair to the window frame. I apologize for losing your phone number in our new office voicemail system, and I would be willing to share the pictures I took of the damage with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    987
    634
    126
    21
    19
See reviews for
568
841
42
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Told us that breakfast is free upon check-in (under corporate deal) and end up charging it. They were unable to clarify that why the front office attendant told us that its free. No explanation, whatsoever.
Did not change the sheets and pillow covers for 5 days. Worse customer service. We were planning to stay another week in a coming month but not there is no way. They lost our business for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RajeevMonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
I'm very sorry there was evidently a misunderstanding about our restaurant. We have not offered a complimentary breakfast option to any of our guests in several years. Our menu is clearly priced, our servers deliver a check to each table, and all of our staff know that there are no complimentary breakfast deals available. Additionally, our housekeeping staff changes sheets and pillow cases in stayover rooms every 3 days--if they somehow missed your room, I apologize and I wish we had heard about it before you checked out so we could correct that mistake. Being the premier hotel in the peninsula, we strive to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, and I'm very sorry that didn't happen in this case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lihue
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Me and my family flew all the way from Hawaii to Washington state to visit the "Olympic National Park". My experience with Olympic Lodge was wonderful. The front desk was "Emily", she was cute, helpful and friendly. It was a nice experience even though the hurricane ridge was closed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walterpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We love it when our Front Desk Agents do such a good job that their names get mentioned in a review. Thank you again, and I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice clean quiet comfortable hotel. Easily the nicest place to stay in Port Angeles. The lobby is really nice, large fire, comfy leather chairs. My room was big, clean and very quiet. Actually, the place was sold out and it was dead quiet. Think nursing home quiet! My rate was $109, and considering it was in the off season I thought it was a little pricey. The only downsides were the TV was old and outdated and there is no free breakfast! They offer breakfast in the morning but it was really expensive.

Room Tip: I was on the west side away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooblackdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of our hotel! Due to feedback like yours, we are upgrading our televisions starting next month to offer flat screens with HD channels! We are committed to providing world-class lodging on the Olympic Peninsula, and I hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The lodge is right off Rt 101 and close to great local restaurants, as well as the Olympic National Park visitors center. The rooms at the front have a view of the sound, the rooms at the back have a view of Mt Angeles. The rooms are cozy and very clean. The bathrooms are modern and also very clean. The common areas are comfortable and beautifully decorated. An overall great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us--feedback that shows us what we are doing right is always great to hear. Thank you again, and we hope to see you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This is definitely the place to stay considering the other options. They have a nice outdoor pool and spa. Lobby is beautiful. Room was quite comfortable and roomy. Huge King bed, sitting area and big desk. Lots of storage and drawers to spread out. Liked that the power room and bathroom was separate. Aided in getting everyone ready in the morning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mkcheather1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your review of our hotel. We're always looking for feedback that helps us earn that 5 star review, so feel free to contact us and let us know what we could have done to make your stay more perfect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Olympic Lodge is a nice place, a couple miles to the east from the center of the town. The lobby is beautiful, staff is friendly, rooms are large and clean -- overall, great value for the money. It is, quite possibly, indeed the best hotel in Port Angeles as stated by TripAdvisor.

The hotel's restaurant, however, is not. I came down for a breakfast at 7:15am, and my order was promptly taken. At 7:45am the food still wasn't ready (despite the fact that only two other tables were occupied at the time), and it was only a simple omelette. I was getting late for my 8am appointment, so I had to cancel my order, get up and leave hungry and frustrated. Hence, minus one star.

Now, it happened to me a few times before and every single time the waiter would apologize and tell me not to worry about the drink. In this case, however, I was charged for my coffee that took yet another five minutes that I didn't have. Hence, minus the second star.

Bottom line: I recommend the hotel, but seek your meals (quick meals especially) elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here, and I'm sorry that you experienced such bad service in our restaurant. We are committed to excellent customer service, as so many of our other reviews show, but we did not deliver that to you. I'm very sorry, and I hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit Port Angeles so we can correct this mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,122 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
821 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Property: Olympic Lodge
Address: 140 Del Guzzi Dr, Port Angeles, WA 98362-4964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Port Angeles’ Premier Hotel, the Olympic Lodge! Located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, the Olympic Lodge offers the finest accommodations in a location that’s difficult to beat. Backed by the Olympic Mountains with the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the foreground, a variety of adventures are all close at hand. ▪ Choose from our 105 spacious rooms ▪ We have meeting space for any occasion: business meetings, retreats, receptions, family gatherings ▪ Relax by our heated pool and hot tub, open year round ▪ Play golf at the course adjacent to the hotel ▪ Join us for a scrumptious breakfast ▪ Enjoy the personalized service and hospitality offered by our experienced staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Port Angeles
Best Western Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing