We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reviews are Right”
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olympic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Reviews are Right”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We book this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations. They were right. There isn't much in Port Angeles and from what we saw the Olympic Lodge is head and shoulders above anything else there. Be sure to make reservations! We saw peple get turned away on a Friday night because they were full.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB500SEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    607
    122
    19
    18
See reviews for
526
802
41
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, MA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here in early September and were delighted at the spacious, well-furnished room. Nice (but pricey) breakfast as well. Very friendly and helpful desk personnel.
A short drive to the ferry and to the town's better restaurants. Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bshavels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

If there was an Embassy Suites built right next door, we would still choose to stay here again any day, hands down. It was impeccably clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff couldn't possibly have been any friendlier and the breakfast was the best we had our entire 10 day trip. There is no charge for parking or their wi-fi internet and the hotel was small enough that we were never bothered by any noise. Also, I called down to the desk to get a couple extra pillows at night and instead of us having to go down and get the pillows from the front desk, they actually brought them straight to our door with a smile! We absolutely loved our entire vacation to the NW and will certainly be back again next year; and no doubt we will stay here.

Room Tip: The standard King bed room was only one room, not a suite of course but it was very surprisingly spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax,VA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice in the same week, the night that we reserved and then the night we returned from Victoria. The first night that we stayed, we were impressed by how nice this place is, very well run, clean, and beautiful. The front rooms have a view of the harbor and the back rooms have a view of Olympic Mountians. After one wonderful night's stay, we traveled to Victoria, Canada via ferry. The hotel room that we were to stay two night's at in Victoria was terrible, prompting us a call to the Olympic Lodge for when we returned to Seattle. Luckily, they had one room left. By the time we arrived back to the Olympic Lodge, we were bone-weary and coming here was such a welcome sight. We spent another wonderful night at this hotel. We would highly recommend and will visit again on our next visit to Port Angeles and Olympic National Park.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefKFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The Olympic Lodge is probably the best place to stay in Port Angeles. As another reviewer noted, everything else looked mediocre. It's a bit pricey but worth it. The lobby is beautiful, and the fire was always going in the fireplace. Surprisingly they offered a computer with internet connection for guests' use (the only place during our trip that did!). The rooms were large, with refrigerator and comfortable beds and pillows. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful (especially Jeremy, who seemed to always be at the front desk). We were also impressed with the landscaping around the lodge. A convenient location for hiking Hurricane Ridge or Merrymere Falls, or visiting Lake Crescent. Breakfast in the restaurant was better than expected given some of the reviews. My husband's omelette with potatoes was plentiful and tasty, and their homemade granola with fruit and yogurt was also good.

Room Tip: Golf course view rooms even if you don't like golf
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryan_french13, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you so much for posting your review of our hotel! We are proud to be TripAdvisor's #1 rated hotel in Port Angeles, and we are committed to always providing the same great level of service, exceeding our guests' expectations. Thank you so much, and we hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Really enjoyed this hotel but we only checked in about 7.30pm and left early in the morning to get the ferry back to Victoria. The pool and hot tub looked really inviting as was the log fire in the foyer. Wonderful photographs around too. Next time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupinfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryan_french13, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are certainly proud to offer the ambiance of a real wood-burning fireplace in our lobby, making it the perfect place to curl up with a book or a glass of wine. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

From what I observed in the small town of Port Angeles, this property appeared the best in an area filled with what appeared to be mediocre choices. I had read many reviews on the property on this site and knew it overlooked a golf course, and it was in a more urban location than I expected. It sits well off the road and was very quiet, however.

Check in went very smoothly, and the staff provided us with helpful maps and dining recommendations. We were quite happy with the room with its comfortable queen beds, microwave, fridge, and granite countertops in the bathroom. The entire room was clean and fresh. My only minor issue was that the refrigerator froze our food in the midst of our 3 night stay, so that was a bit inconvenient. I didn't see any way to adjust the setting.

The lobby of the hotel was welcoming with its huge stone fireplace, and I found the staff helpful in answering any questions.

We found the WIFI to be a bit sporadic, but workable. There was a computer in the lobby, but it was usually already in use. A second machine would be helpful, as the hotel appears pretty busy. I was also a little surprised to see there was no guest laundry in a hotel of this size and quality. Interestingly, this property had the highest nightly rate of any hotel of our trip; yet it offered no continental breakfast. At one time, I believe this was a Best Western property that did offer breakfast. Now, the breakfast area has been converted to an on-site restaurant. We did not use this and chose to purchase our own supplies for a much cheaper price. I think it would be nice if the property did offer a breakfast rather than a pay as you go restaurant.

The hotel has a free parking lot near the waterfront for those using the ferry to Victoria, which was a nice option. Many of the lots ran in the $10 range to park, so this was a savings.

All in all, we had a very nice stay, and based on the looks of the other hotels in town, I know we chose the best property. The location of the Olympic Lodge is perfect for touring Hurricane Ridge, Victoria, Lake Crescent, and Sol Duc.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slrtravelplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ryan_french13, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of our property. We value guest feedback like this, showing us where to focus to improve every guest's experience. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
1.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,048 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Property: Olympic Lodge
Address: 140 Del Guzzi Dr, Port Angeles, WA 98362-4964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Port Angeles’ Premier Hotel, the Olympic Lodge! Located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, the Olympic Lodge offers the finest accommodations in a location that’s difficult to beat. Backed by the Olympic Mountains with the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the foreground, a variety of adventures are all close at hand. ▪ Choose from our 105 spacious rooms ▪ We have meeting space for any occasion: business meetings, retreats, receptions, family gatherings ▪ Relax by our heated pool and hot tub, open year round ▪ Play golf at the course adjacent to the hotel ▪ Join us for a scrumptious breakfast ▪ Enjoy the personalized service and hospitality offered by our experienced staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Port Angeles
Best Western Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing