We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best little getaway ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Washington Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I stayed in the Presidential Sweet. It was truly wonderful. The breakfast was not super but it was still very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseyTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2010

Beautiful Hotel, sitting right on top of a sea cliff with great views and a spacious estate. Nice big, clean rooms with fast, free internet and a BIG flatscreen TV with cable. The owners, Janet and Dan, are very nice pleasant people. I was definitely happy with our stay there.

However, I did find it a bit odd that Janet locks the front door of the inn at 10 pm. For some reason the guests are not allowed to have a key to the front door, so effectively the guests have a 10 pm curfew. Admittedly this was no surprise, as it was explained on the hotel website, but it's a bit odd to have a curfew when one is an adult and paying a lot of money for the privilege of staying there. Hopefully the owners will figure out how to resolve this problem in the future without compromising their security.

My biggest quibble was with the breakfast. The breakfast is served exactly at 8:30 am. Meaning it's cooked and ready to be eaten at 8:30 am. I was five minutes late one day, and my egg dish had obviously been cooked ahead of time and had solidified. There is no menu, no choice of breakfast items, and no buffet items. You eat what you are served, or you can have granola. The food itself is all obviously low quality packaged meats, juice from the carton, whipped cream from a can, etc. I found it disturbing that the owners were clearly trying to cut corners on the breakfast. When guests pay luxury rates, they don't expect this sort of low-quality food. This is not the place to cut corners! Seriously, I could have had the exact same food at a Comfort Inn!

Another cost-cutting measure my wife noticed was that the toiletries in the bathroom were also low quality, cheap stuff. Just out of place at a pricey hotel. My wife travels a lot, so she knows what she's talking about.

I hope Janet and Dan take this review in the spirit of constructive criticism. They are very nice people, and the hotel is really terrific. They just need to figure out what to do about the front door situation, and perhaps they should hire a cook!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jykll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

What a beautiful, peaceful setting for a Bed and Breakfast. Dan and Janet were the perfect innkeepers. The views of the water and the mountains were both serene and calming. We wish we had planned to stay longer. Our room was perfect. The breakfast was worth the stay even if everything else had not been so perfect. It is new and clean, although you feel like you are in an old Colonial Virginia home of George Washington's era. For American history buffs, Dan has the house loaded with books about George Washingtin, both old and new. One of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgwblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had a wonderful time! The food was delicious, the scenery is amazing and the rooms were spacious with attention paid to every detail. We'll visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newcombk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay at the GW Inn. Dan and Janet went out of their way to make us feel at home. They served us with true servant's hearts. The food was exquisite, the facilities superb, the relaxation was peaceful, the grounds were immaculate, and the hospitality delightful.

You will not regret visiting this beautiful B and B. The historical aspects of George Washington's life were an added bonus. We are already looking forward to our next visit. It can't come soon enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garysmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

To see a duplicate of Mount Vernon on the west coast was a surprise. To enter into another century dedicated to the Father of our Country was a treasure to behold. Dan and Janet have created the perfect retreat in Port Angeles, WA. Sitting above the San Juan de Fuca Sound this jewel of a B&B promotes quiet solitude, relaxation, and peace to the spirit. The rooms are elegantly appointed with views either overlooking the gardens or the ocean. Janet's breakfasts are always delicious and recipes happily shared. Before you leave your tour of Washington State, make sure you stop by the George Washington Inn in Port Angeles...a place George and Martha would be proud to call home.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QueenJane7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

My partner and I are seasoned travellers and frequently stay in bed and breakfasts and small inns but only in the 4.5/5 star category. We were not disappointed in the George Washington Inn. Stayed for 2 nights in the first week of July and had an all around terrific experience. Location is easily accessible to everything there is to see in the Port Angeles area and is on the water with incredible views. Property is picture-book gorgeous and the Presidential Suite was perfect. Breakfasts were abundant, tasty and beautifully presented. Really, couldn't have asked for anything more. Would also highly recommend the little Wine Bar on the waterfront in Port Angeles right near the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VancouverCorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
6.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,024 reviews
7.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,279 reviews
6.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Sequim
0.6 mi away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Domaine Madeleine
Domaine Madeleine
#3 of 14 in Port Angeles
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington Inn

Address: 939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362-8499
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range: $195 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic 5-star inn as featured in The Seattle Times and consistently voted as the Best B&B in "Best of the Peninsula" (5 years in a row as of 2017). George Washington Inn was built as a replica of George Washington's mansion on a lavender farm near the Olympic National Park. A luxury oceanfront inn with 5 spacious rooms and stunning mountain views, it overlooks the Strait of Juan de Fuca from a high bluff between Sequim and Port Angeles. Take a short drive or ferry ride from Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria and you can enjoy the finest lodging and find nature at its best. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing