We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Ranked #8 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
east coast US
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We enjoyed our two night stay at the inn. The hosts were friendly and accommodating. Our room was located on the third floor, had a large bathroom, a comfortable bed and a semi-private deck. Very quiet location five minutes from downtown Port Angeles.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k51773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    18
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
103
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in the largest room, the Roiel, which really amounts to four rooms plus a private deck. Incredibly comfortable and very attractive. The bedroom/sitting room combo includes a king-sized bed, TV, DVD player, iPod dock and player, and WiFi. The bathroom is huge, with double sinks, a makeup table, a shower, and an enormous jetted tub. In addition, there is a large closet/dressing room that includes kitchen facilities. A great place to use as a base to visit Hurricane Ridge, Lake Crescent and other Olympic National Park attractions. Peggy, the hostess, couldn't have been more pleasing and helpful.

The spaciousness and quality of the accommodations were very impressive, especially when compared to the terrible conditions at a 'rustic' (to put it politely) cabin we stayed at later that cost the same as this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I would like to live at the Inn at Rooster Hill. It combines the great parts of staying at a B&B with the attributes of a nice hotel. Meaning it has the hospitality of staying in someone’s home without the feeling of “intruding in someone’s house”. It’s a beautiful place yet Peggy and Layne are always doing something new around here. They treat you like family and are very real and warm. Beautiful furnishings yet you can get your china cup of coffee while in your bathrobe/hiking boots, and no one will look at you askance. Clean as a whistle. I’m a lunatic about clean but I never worry about here. Get one of the Jacuzzi rooms and be glad you did after you hike too much. After so much travel, there are few places I’d rather be than home. However, I would rather go to the Olympic Peninsula than HI. I actually love some of the slower months like Jan. when you have the forest to yourself and certainly spring when the whales are all over - just pull your car over to the side of the road and listen. It never gets what most of us would call cold here. In the summer, it never gets really hot. There is no bad time to visit Mother Nature’s playground. I come back from just a weekend here looking 10 years younger.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveinasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Inn at Rooster Hill is a fabulous B&B for exploring the Olympic Peninsula. The owners are very friendly and inviting. The house is comfortable, breakfast is fabulous. We ate on the back deck and enjoyed the yard and saw deer. You can pick from two breakfast times and the food was fresh and tasty. Just the right portion size. My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Roiel room. Lots of room with a fireplace and sitting area and large, fabulous bath, a refrigerator and coffee maker. We were spoiled. The inn is slightly outside of town but not too far, and easy access to restaurants, stores, Olympic National Park, etc. I was able to jog a couple miles each morning on the roads around the B&B. The front porch is a great spot to relax in the evening with a glass of wine and visit with the other guests. We got great advice on things to do (winery, Hurricane Ridge, Lake Crescent, Squim) and places to eat (Sabai Thai is the best!!). The proximity of all different things to do in the area makes Port Angeles, and the Inn a great stop in the Olympic Peninsula.

Room Tip: Roiel room is on the second floor (need to be able to carry luggage up a flight of stairs), with nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g2girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Hopefully we will yet encounter other B&B experiences as wondeful as this, but for sure we could never expect to have any better experience. The Inn at Rooster Hill is lovely and inviting in an unassuming and understated way; you immediately feel very much "at home', and isn't that the whole idea behind a B&B stay? The hosts - Peggy and Layne - could not be warmer or any more hospitable; after our 4 night stay we felt as though we were saying goodbye to old friends. The Inn is impeccably maintained, clean er than our own home, and tastefully decorated. Peggy's breakfasts were perfect - tasteful, creative, healthy (she maximizes her use of locally grown, organic products), and beautifully presented. Her restaurant recommendations - and rest assured, there are a few fabulous restaurants in Port Angeles - were right on target and sensitive to her grasp of us, our style, and our dietary needs.

In short, we would go back in a heartbeat, and truly hope the opportunity presents itself again. If you are heading to Olympic Park doo not hesitate booking a stay with these lovely people; you'll never find better value for such a perfectly peaceful, warm stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We just loved it here. Peggy and Layne were so friendly and helpful, and welcoming to us and our teenage sons.

Breakfast was EXCELLENT!!!! Something creative and delicious every morning, just the right start to a day of hiking.

Beds were comfy and cozy, just the right end to a day of hiking.

The rooms were clean and inviting -- in fact, the whole house was! We appreciated having a fridge to store sandwich fixings, since we used this as our base for day hikes throughout the area.

Library of books and DVD's was available, but we were generally too tired to take advantage! Glad to have WiFi, so we could check up on weather and trail conditions.

And of course, Coco met us at the door each evening when we returned!

Stay for a few nights if you can, it will give you more time to get to know Peggy, Layne and Coco, plus you will get to sample more of the fantastic breakfast fare.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAA100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I and our four kids, (ages 13 - 20) loved the Inn at Rooster Hill. We felt very welcome and at home. The service Peggy and Layne (and CoCo) provided was outstanding. We had everything we needed at the Inn. Also, they gave us directions to places we were planning to go and even made dinner reservations. The restaurants they recommended were great! The rooms were large but very cozy and comfortable. The dining room and common areas were great to use so we didn't have to be in our rooms the whole time. The breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillrenee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
2.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,614 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,983 reviews
15.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Olympic National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
All View Motel
All View Motel
#7 of 16 in Port Angeles
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,151 reviews
5.7 mi away
A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites

Property: Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Address: 112 Reservoir Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98363-2477 (Formerly Inn at Rooster Hill)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Un Bed and Breakfast. 5 Unique separate suites with private entrances. Small kitchenettes good for prepping breakfast and lunch. In room coffee. Free wireless/safe off street parking. One night stays allowed. Late check-ins and early check outs allow you to come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing