We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, peaceful compound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 14 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2011

If you are looking for a convenient, yet secluded place from which to explore Victoria and the northern part of the Olympic Peninsula, Hidden Haven is well-worth considering! The charming, practically brand new NW style cabin we stayed in is welcoming and well-furnished. The 'no shoes in house policy' encourages all to keep it as clean and immaculate as when we arrived. Its an ideal place for a couple or a family with children (1BR+ LR sofa bed/1 Bath), yet a not as ideal for 2 adult couples. We opted to cook our own breakfast and enjoy our lovely deck, which is a nice option to have for those that enjoy cooking. Also, having a W/D is a bonus for adventurous hikers and travelers!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
There are newer reviews for A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

We found this place by accident, and are already trying to find the time to go back and spend more time there. Beautiful cabin, friendly staff, easy check in, and the cleanest place I have ever stayed. Very Highly Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiholbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We had a great three day stay at Hidden Haven. Our room was outstanding--nicely decorated, roomy and comfortable. Pretty gardens with an interesting menagerie of animals that can be fed and petted. We visited various spots in Olympic National Park, the north coast of the Olympic Peninsula, Port Angeles and Sequim; all were easily accessible. We'd stay here a second time if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelbreed2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

After a few days in Seattle, we were looking forward to getting away from the city and A Hidden Haven was the perfect fit. Chris was there to warmly greet us and direct us to our cabin- The Whimsical Bear. We were amazed at how well appointed, clean and comfortable it was! We've stayed in a number of vacation rentals and cabin/cottage type places over the years, and not a single one can even come close to this. From the furniture, to the bedding, the the appliances and supplies in the kitchen, to the attached laundry room with full size washer/dryer to the beautiful wooded setting and patio - we could have stayed much longer than our 4 nights there. All of the cabins are slightly different in name and configuration, but based on the other reviews, it sounds like they are all as terrific as Whimsical Bear.

It is located in a great location for all sorts of activities and sites - Hurricane Ridge, Sequim, Sol Duc area hikes, Lake Crescent, etc. One of the highlights for us was the half day sea kayaking trip in Freshwater Bay with Adventures Through Kayaking (right on the highway on the way to Port Angeles from A Hidden Haven). Our guide Peter took us up close and personal to amazing giant sea stars, tiny translucent jellies, stretches of barnacles, sea caves and blue iridescent sea kelp -- Wow! Another tip if you have a few minutes to spare - go to Swains General Mercantile in Port Angeles. It's this great old style mercantile with everything from clothing, hardware, camping gear, shoes - you name it. It's huge and a kick to take a look through.

When you are back at A Hidden Haven, don't forget to feed the friendly reindeer (the largest of which is named Prancer!), see if you can see "Spot" the turtle, and feed the large fish in the pond. I can't say enough about how great this place was- we'll come back in a heartbeat if we are ever back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our 6 night stay in the Woodland cottage was terrific! The cottage is spacious, beautifully appointed, spotless, and very comfortable. The furnishings are lovely. The bed and bedding is first class, the bathroom is roomy, and the kitchen is well-equipped. The table and chairs on the outdoor porch is a great spot for any meal. The wooded surroundings are beautiful and peaceful. Chris and Jody are eager to be helpful and have created a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joywass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I just shared our 5th wedding anniversary in the Forest Romance Cottage at A Hidden Haven, a gorgeous slice of Heaven. Chris is the most captivating and friendly host, the cottage was exquisite, the grounds are gorgeous (I took almost 200 photos!), and the air is filled with all manner of bird songs. The beautiful song of Swainson's thrushes could be heard every morning and evening reverberating throughout the area. Ruby, their friendly English Shepherd playfully herds their Fallow deer, peacock, and Prancer the reindeer. Ruby also herded me along their forested wilderness trail! Both we and the deer thoroughly enjoyed mornings when we hand-fed them vegetables, fruit, and pulp from our juicer. We even saw a bald eagle soaring low throughout the property. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLWestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Last weekend we and our friends stayed in two cottages at Hidden Haven. We’ve had a such a great time! Cottages were clean, fresh, bright, and very well taken care of. Kids had a blast running around the grounds, feeding the animals and fish, exploring the nature. Women totally appreciated the fully equipped kitchens, newer washers and dryers in each cottage, large bathrooms, and comfortable beds. Everything is very well thought through and comfortable for guests. Chris, the owner, was so fun to chat with and gave great tips about the local attractions.
We’ll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_CYXOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Angeles
8.6 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,905 reviews
7.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,192 reviews
14.6 mi away
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
Colette's Bed and Breakfast Inn
#2 of 14 in Port Angeles
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Lake Crescent Lodge
Lake Crescent Lodge
#1 of 15 in Olympic National Park
851 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
Rooster Hill Short Stay Suites
#8 of 14 in Port Angeles
171 reviews
8.7 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1428 Dan Kelly Road, Port Angeles, WA 98363-9687
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range: $420 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Inn with enchanting fully equipped cottages. Adjacent to the Olympic National Park near Port Angeles, Forks and Sequim Washington. Nestled in the lush forest at the foothills of the Olympic Peninsula on 20 secluded acres with waterfalls, ponds, plants and wildlife. Hand feed Prancer our private reindeer, fallow deer, spot the turtle and trout that bubble out of our large pond. Meander on our nature trail to experience the local flora and fauna and 100 year old trees. Only a few minutes to the beaches and tidepooling. Ten minutes to Victoria BC. Ferries. Winter snow skiing and snow shoeing close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing