We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, good view.”

Downrigger's Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 119 Restaurants in Port Angeles
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food, good view.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food is overpriced for the quality, but not terrible. There is a very nice waterfront view. Cozy bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brevw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    127
    81
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid even if starving...”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

One would think that a waterfront restaurant on the Strait of Juan de Fuca, and in a town of nearly 30,000--and adjacent to Olympia National Park with it's enormous tourist draw, to boot-- would be a pretty good place to get fresh, well prepared seafood. Unfortunately for my wife and I, these assumptions were far, far from the sad reality.

I can't judge if the fish was fresh, but if it was, the place owes it--and anyone who eats here--an apology. Alas; the only consistent criteria observed here are fried, bad, and--oh yes!--expensive. The salad was obviously prepared much earlier than ordered and was not fresh. In my opinion, the clam chowder was at least 25% flour, and the asparagus--which is prominently featured on the menu--was, well--have you ever heard of "silage"?. I could go on, but you get the idea. Even the menus were oily.

I'm sure that expectation colors experience, but in this instance, I can safely say that the Downrigger prepared one of the worst meals I've ever been expected to eat. My wife's meal on the other hand, was only inedible. The only thing I could recommend would be the views.

Do not patronize unless you love schlock.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nosnob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great chowder”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For a harbor view restaurant, the prices were reasonable. We only had soup and chowder, so I can't comment on the quality of anything else. The desserts looked great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lifeisgood720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A very average little restaurant that is close to the ferry to Victoria Canada. Which is surprising as it has a large number of awards on the walls. The restaurant has ample seating, the service is efficient and friendly and the menu has an ok selection and decent specials. Portions are large and easy to share, definite value for your dollar. The views in the restaurant are nice and you can watch the activity of the ocean while you sit and eat. We ordered salads, fish and sea food. The sea food and fish were unfortunately greasy and overcooked. This I thought was unfortunate as the coast often boasts the best fresh seafood, but this was the stuff I can order at any restaurant inland. Very disappointed. The salads however were crisp lettuce and fresh tomatoes. Dressing tasted delicious. Over all the dining experience was pleasant, and would go back but wouldn't go there for ocean fare - just a salad and drink.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMomYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, WA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Super view, great meal”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Was there on a week night in September and didn't have resverations but got lucky and got a window table...excellent view. The place is on the end of the pier.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank eraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downrigger's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Downrigger's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing