We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Victorian Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The value for dollars is very good here hence the 4 stars I give it, really it would be a 3, but in PA choices are limited for quality at a good price. My 2nd floor room was large and clean, king bed was comfortable. Fridge, micro and wifi worked well. The managers were very nice and friendly and as others have said the ride to the ferry in the am is a nice bonus if it's raining, yep it rains here occasionally. I walked back in the pm, 10 minutes, so the location is good if you are heading to Canada, and my car was safely parked in front of the office which I appreciated. It's an older place but a good one to stay at since it's seems to be well managed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Royal Victorian Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 454 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

I read the reviews prior to making the reservations, I was to say not impressed with some of the negative impressions that a few travlers have recounted during their stay. When I made the reservations by phone, I explained that we were going to Victoria on the 0820 ferry, Casey said she would as well drop and pick us up no problems.
We arrived on Saturday at 0045, we had no trouble checking in. The room was clean and very comfortable, the beds were not as good as home, but far better than the ones my back has laid on in other motels. There was a continental breakfast that Casey had put together for the guests, there isn't a seating area if your of the mind set you are at say another "chain" motel. You get your food and return to room you know. She dropped us off at the terminal, and was already at the terminal when we returned on Sunday on the 1620 departure.
Great service and value thats what you'll get here daily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TruckerKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Choose the Royal Victoria based on reviews read here and it's proximity to the ferry terminal. Have just checked in and are already more than pleased. Our reservation was caught up in the inbox and as the computer was down had not been received. Could have been a disaster but the owner made sure we were well taken care of. We met Casey, co-owner and she is a gem. She ensured we were happy, then helped us find our restaurant for dinner. This is a great find in this small town. Kudos to the owners.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RitaCanada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I got up early for the short walk to the ferry terminal and were pleasantly surprised when Casey insisted on driving us there and picking us up in the evening on the return trip. The staff made sure we were properly equipped and were also a wealth of information on things to do and places to eat. They had us feeling like veteran Coho riders. Very hard working and knowledgeable locals. Although the décor is dated, the room was extremely clean and comfortable. The service had us feeling like we really got more than our moneys worth. This is a perfect jumping off point for the peninsula and Vancouver Island.

Room Tip: Room 33 is the top floor in the back corner and we hardly heard any road noise at night. There is no...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We chose this motel based on other's reviews and were not disappointed. The owners made obvious efforts to accommodate and excelled at customer service. This is one of the cleanest motels we've ever... and all at a very affordable price! We wii definitely stay here next time through Port Angeles!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mookiebusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Some of this will be redundant of the recent reviews but this hotel deserves praises.
Next time we come through Port Angeles, we will stay here without question.
1. Owners are not only accommodating and friendly, they are out the way, over the top kind and helpful. We arrived at 3 am due to delayed flights across the country and they accommodated. They invited us for a late cont. Breakfast by knocking on our door. They acted like family. I would take service over anything else and they more than deliver.

2. We booked the family suite which is set up perfectly for our family ... parents with a 15 yo son and 11 yo daughter. Most hotels aren't even smart enough to realize you can't have two beds for a family of 4. The room was excellent. It was warm and cozy and west coast. The bed was one of the best hotel beds I've slept in. It's not 'pretty' like a Hyatt ... it's classy like the Royal ... and it was great.

3. The price was phenomenal. We got far more than we expected for the price.

4. Location is right in town (loads to see) and very close to the Black Ball Ferry.

As you can see, any negative reviews are overshadowed by the positive many tomes over. Anyone that pays what they pay here and complains about wrinkly shower curtains have come to the wrong town and have serious focus problems.

Stay here when in Port Angeles. It's been a top pick of Trip Advisor for a reason, and we discovered why.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank itzmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed 2 nights with my family here in March, 2013. Rooms are simple and clean. Staff is attentive and very polite. Not in a great neighborhood, but there aren't many "great neighborhoods" in PA anyway (sorry, but it's true). This hotel was clearly a cut above most of the other choices in PA. If I were to stay in that town again, I would happily stay at the Royal Victorian.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.4 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#14 of 16 in Port Angeles
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 16 in Port Angeles
257 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victorian Motel

Address: 521 E. First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range: $54 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Victorian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Victorian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victorian Hotel Port Angeles
Royal Victorian Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing