We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average motel, exceptional service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Victorian Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Victorian Motel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
NJ
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average motel, exceptional service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is your average motel. Very clean, comfortable new mattresses, basic continental breakfast, and each room has mini fridge and microwave though overall decor is dated. We stayed on 2nd floor, not quite directly above the office. With air/heat on, noise was not an issue. The only other options in town were run-down looking motels, or hotels/ B&Bs that would cost double or triple. Cost was not a factor for me, the service was - which is why we chose to stay 3 nights here while exploring the Olympic Peninsula (based on TripAdvisor reviews).
With that out of the way, let me tell you the service is EXCEPTIONAL! KC, her husband and JJ were very helpful in every way you can think of...from giving extra waters and snacks for your day out and about, to helping with laundry we needed to do in the middle of our 2 week trip! Suggestions for restaurants were given, along with best time of day to go to a particular location (i.e. Hurricane Ridge). We were even invited to a barbecue dinner, which was delicious with good company. I have stayed at very expensive, luxury hotels and have to say the attention to service is the same as those here at the Royal Victorian.
You can 'judge a book by its cover', but 'get into it' and you might be surprised!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooshele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    156
    62
    26
    13
See reviews for
107
188
36
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the room had been mostly updated. Plenty of clean towels in the bathroom. It was quiet, even though it is right on the highway. We called last-minute and came in late, and the desk person was very accommodating. The breakfast was basic but is more than you usually get at this price point. We will stay here again next time we're in Port Angeles.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

This is an average hotel. It is clean and provided what we asked for but our room was run down and in need of a upgrade. I felt the bed was comfortable. For an overnight stop it was a good place to stay. We could hear the guy talking in the next room even with our TV on. The owner was nice. Don't stay there for the breakfast because it is not very good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Okanagandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Royal Victorian is your basic family owned motel with over the top attention to their guests. They immediately made us feel like family and suggested places for sight seeing, where to dine,, etc. The motel suits people who want a quiet, clean place to stay at a reasonable price. We would not stay anywhere else in Port Angeles.

Room Tip: Ask the desk clerk or manager. I would take their advice and am sure that they will show you availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

A typical motel along one of the main streets in Port Angeles. Access is easy and the motel is clearly visible. Port Angeles is a good starting point for trips into the Olympic NP. The staff of the motel is very friendly. Rooms are well equipped and very clean. The staff can supply a lot of information where to go for the Olympic NP, other activities and dining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruud_Vandeursen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
576 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I decided to book a room here as it seemed to have good reviews and was the best price for the area. We stayed one night and took the ferry the next day to Victoria. Our check-in was good and the staff person was friendly and helpful. He was eager to talk about places to visit in Olympic National Park and the area. We were also given bottles of water. A breakfast can be picked up in the morning in the tiny lobby. There was no place to sit and eat though. We decided to have breakfast in town since there were some good places. As to the room itself, it was just average and somewhat dated. The walls needed painting, bedding not new; the bathroom needed refurbishing, especially the tub which was quite stained. For a one night quick stay though, it was okay. Since we were on the ground floor, we could park our car fairly close to our room which was helpful. I thought it was quite nice that when we were in our car to leave the next morning, one of the hotel staff came to our car with two bottles of water for us. A nice touch and something you don't see that often.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSWMom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

While I enjoy a hotel experience as often as I can, Port Angeles screams motel experience to me. This was the third trip over for the Crab Festival, and the first time we had a comfortable bed, room & great management. Dog friendly :)

We used Trip Advisor to make our motel & restaurant choices this time, and will be in the future.

If we stayed more than one night I would probably choose the Red Lion, there is only so much you can do in PA after you've been to the Festival events...so a room with a view would be nice for more than a one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoatingVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.5 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#13 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#2 of 15 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 15 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victorian Motel

Property: Royal Victorian Motel
Address: 521 E. First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Victorian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Victorian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victorian Hotel Port Angeles
Royal Victorian Port Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing