We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Red Curry -- ask for it if it's not today's special”
Review of Jasmine Bistro

Jasmine Bistro
Ranked #20 of 117 Restaurants in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Seafood Red Curry -- ask for it if it's not today's special”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located across from the Red Lion Inn, I tried out the Jasmine Bistro tonight. It was a slow night near closing, so I can't really address their promptness on a super busy night, but I was well attended and my food came quickly. The seafood red curry had salmon, clams, mussels, and scallops. I ordered it as a heat level 3 out of 5, but to my palate, it was mild. I could have asked for chili paste to add at the table, but didn't. The server helped me pair a Riesling with it, and he made a great choice. Total bill before tip was a little more than $24.00, which I consider good for a Thai restaurant.

Helpful?
4 Thank ConflictedRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    33
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A very nice Thai restaurant”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The food was very good. We had wantons with crab meat for an appetizer and as an entry I had hot and spice soup with seafood which was excellent and my wife had some rice with pork, vegetables and mushrooms which was vey good. The service was very good and the atmosphere very likable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank europetraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant, service.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

All four patrons savored very nice food preparation and service. We all cleaned our plates - included some salmon dishes plus standard Thai items.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Bc
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply delightful!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The pearl in the oyster! This simply delightful restaurant is located near the ferry dock to Victoria in the roll-up-your-sleeves town of Port Angeles. Exceptional preparation and presentation of Thai classics combined with innovative new options. They are gifted in their use of the abundant fresh seafood taken straight from the Juan de Fuca waters.

Charming servers.

One of the best value for money restaurants tried in recent years.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuddHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You have got to be kidding! $9 for a plate of cucumbers?”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to try Jasmine Bistro while on spending a night in Port Angeles on our way to the coast. What a mistake! The service was incredibly slow and the meals were dismal.
I ordered the cucumber salad which was listed as a delightful "alternative to papaya salad". The plate arrived, 25 minutes after we ordered, filled with thinly sliced cucumbers...and nothing else. No cherry tomatoes (as listed on the menu) no peanuts, no onions or basil or bean sprouts. Just a sad small plate of cucumbers swimming in vinegar!
My companion had green curry rice with tofu. Very little taste and poorly presented. I’ve eaten better tasting library paste!
Perhaps it was an off night for the kitchen. Perhaps half the wait staff called in sick. I won’t make the same mistake of dining at Jasmine Bistro again – and neither should you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyfamilySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jasmine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Jasmine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing