We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully cozy hostel”
Review of ToadLily House

ToadLily House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
ToadLily House
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderfully cozy hostel”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

A tiny little multi-colored house converted to a small town hostel. If you are exploring the Olympic Peninsula and need a nice warm bed and some companionship of other travelers, this hostel serves that purpose perfectly. The manager (owner too?) was extremely nice and set a great tone for the pace of life at the hostel. There is a small common room with couches, a table, board games, a few books, etc which is connected to the kitchen- again, converted from a small house, so everything is about that size. There are two sets of dorms on the first floor and then some odd shaped rooms upstairs. The deck out back is also nice, providing a good location for conversation in the fresh air. The only real itch with the hostel is because it is so small, that whether you are in the common room, kitchen, or deck, you are always near a dorm and if it is quiet hours and people are sleeping, you feel noisy/rude if your voice is raised above a whisper. I guess just an unfortunate consequence of making a hostel in that size house. All in all, though, a great hostel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    1
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hi - Nothing but an excellent experience. The owner, Cody, is a very nice guy. Very accomodating and helpful. No concerns and would stay again. Great location to catching the bus and the ferry as well as a quick walk to Olympic National Park for some spectacular hiking.

Room Tip: Let the owner, Cody, know what you need and he'll help you to have a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

On a visa-run from Victoria we find this warm and welcoming house. Great location for supermarket, and short walk to town. Great value for money with free wi-fi and accommodating staff. Stayed in the Ravens Nest cottage for a delightfully quiet and peaceful nights rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Hostel is in a good location to explore northern coast of WA and North Olympic National Park.
Staff are friendly and accommodating.
An eclectic mix of people staying there.

Place was clean for us (couple from Ireland)
Good location, close to supermarkets and downtown
Easy to get out onto highway
Free Wi fi
Very good value

Don't see how people could have a problem with the laid back nature of the place.
Would recommend the place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAA_obsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed there mid August. The owner manager was very personable but the place is sadly neglected.
This is an old house, more like a 'crash pad' from my college days. There's a couple bunk beds downstairs and small upstairs room in the house (which everybody walks through to get to the kitchen and bathroom so there's no privacy) and a small 'cottage' out back. It's a great idea as a hostel but the whole place smells disgusting, along with dirty sheets and a filthy bathroom.
Gross!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRogers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Angeles hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just left Toadlily today. We had paid for another night but definitely didn't want to spend more time there.

The place is good for hikers or cyclist who want a warm bed for the night, however I wouldn't advise the private rooms. The Ravens Nest smelt like cat piss, was dirty and although it was a private room there were about 10 small windows that had been painted but really gave no privacy. Curtains would have been better. Our sleep was disturbed with the glare from the street lights and even people walking past and looking into the windows.

I've stayed in hostels before, and though basic they were at least clean and safe. I felt neither with Toadlily. When we arrived no one was around to check in, we called Cody (who was very friendly and helpful, though he seemed to have no clue we were staying) who told us to go right in. ALL the doors were unlocked, I wouldn't leave anything of value there.

The place is friendly, it was also nice to be able to use the washer and kitchen, however it was filthy with ants roaming around and dirt in the shower.

Looking back at the reviews most of the seem to be very positive from a year ago, maybe they're going through a faze, it's just a shame it wasn't more inviting this time.

Room Tip: Dorms look much better than the private rooms, cleaner and less smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was my first hostel experience, so bear that in mind while reading, but the ToadLily House was in keeping with my expectations. The manager was very nice and the place had that friendly, shared-house vibe and conversational guests. Our private room (as the 'poor' review states) required walking through someone else's room, but we managed to avoid any awkwardness. Also, there is a door there now but it doesn't close all the way. Ultimately it wasn't a problem for us.

My only real issue was the cleanliness of the bathroom. We were there in the middle of the week and the place wasn't full, but the bathroom was still pretty gross. We arrived late in the evening, and even by the next afternoon it hadn't been touched in any way. There was literally an ant colony living in the bath mat. So, no showers for us here, but we had a comfortable night in our room and enjoyed the convenient location. Plenty of street parking too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcohen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
1,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#6 of 16 in Port Angeles
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Victorian Motel
Royal Victorian Motel
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flagstone Motel
Flagstone Motel
#9 of 16 in Port Angeles
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ToadLily House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ToadLily House

Property: ToadLily House
Address: 105 E 5th St, Port Angeles, WA 98362-3013
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your ToadLily House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing